We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever! please read this before booking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #28 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 20, 2013

In all my years of traveling and staying in hotels that ranged from one star to five stars, this hotel has truly been the worst place I have ever stayed. Me and my wife came here as part of our honeymoon to relax and enjoy a weekend in Miami. We stayed on the top floor of the hotel. In short, here is what went wrong:

- TV in the room did not work and never got fixed after many requests to the management office. Instead, in the span of four hours, we were interrupted by maintanace as many as 5 times trying to solve the tv problem. On one occassion, the maintanace guy just walked in without even nocking. We finally gave up on the TV situation and asked management to please tell the guy to stop coming to the room because we wanted to rest. The manager said he would tell the guy to immediately leave us alone, and five minutes later the maintanace guy came back. Management did offer to give us a new room, instead gave us a 50 dollar credit. Really? This was our honeymoon and we paid nearly 400 dollars for this place.

- Noise in the hallway outside the room was horrible. At about 11 pm a huge crowd of drunk frat boys assemblemed in the hall and started to curse, yell, and bang on the doors. We called security and they never came to check on them. The guys finally left after 10 minutes, but they came back around 3 am. I had to get out of the room half asleep and naked to tell them that people were sleeping and to shut up. I did not sleep well that night.

- The pool was disgusting. Nothing like the pictures. It seemed like one of those pools you see in very cheap motels.

- One of the guys at the check in/out desks was so rude. I forgot his name, but he had Nicaragua under his name. Asked him about checking out a little later because our flight had been delayed. He was so rude about it. He told us if we wanted to check out later we needed to pay 300 dollars. He treated us like second class citizens. The guy from Ecuador was so much nicer. He told us we can leave our bags with the bell man and we can use the facilities in the mean time until we had to go to the airport. He was of rude at all and gave us the service we deserved.

For the price you will pay to stay in this place it is not worth it. This place does not seem to get the basics right.

If you want a hotel that is quiet and ALL the staff is friendly, than this is not the place to waste your money. There is so many other quality hotels in south beach. Please look at your options and spend your hard earned money somewhere else.

So much more that I can say, but I won't. The good thing about this place was the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a tv that works and please get the name of the rude Nicaragua guy at the che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mconstante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

I regret to hear about the inconvenience you and your wife have experienced while staying with us and understand your concerns. Please know that your satisfaction is priority at The Palms, kindly email me at alma@thepalmshotel.com to discuss this matter further. I look forward to your email.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 2,641 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Positives
•Good location near the centre of South Beach but without the night time noise which is pefect for a family stay
•Superbly appointed family adjoining rooms – definitely done up since we were last here 7 years ago
•Fantastic healthy menu – again a new chef
•Great grounds
•Fantastic beach facilities

Slight Negatives
•We were warned about the building noises and it was horrendous if you stayed in the hotel grounds – it was better if you went to the Palms beach area where it became white noise
-They told us it had already been 2 years of building and expected another year - although once they start on the interior of the new Marriot Hotel it should be quieter

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and the service was amazing! People are so nice and welcoming. Special thanks to the overnight valet guy (morning of 4/13) who assisted us with information on a tour we were going to be taking and to the overnight front desk agent.(morning of 04/13) (sorry i forgot their names). On the other hand i was kind of disappointed with Housekeeping. The first day we were there we left the room at 8 am and came back at 7 pm and no one had been in to clean the room. I had to wait in the lobby until they finished cleaning it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francischagoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The location is wonderful, right on the beach. You get a lounge chair on the beach if you request it. The walls are really thin. The drinks are expensive, but that is because you are on the beach.

Lots of weddings so there are lots of people there to party.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The only reason i gave this hotel 4 stars is beacuse of the room size, the rooms were on the small side. Otherwise it would have been perfect. The service is great and rooms and very clean and nice decorated. Breakfast buffet in the morning is great, The pool is open 24hrs. Right on the beach! Pretty much perfect!

Room Tip: all rooms are nice but just a little small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DustyG992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Geneva, Switzerland
7245
Reviewed April 10, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for a business. It was older, but nicely kept with lush garden. The staff was mostly friendly. The rooms are decent sized and clean. The walls and doors are thin and you can hear every sound in the hall or next rooms. I am sure it wouldn't pose a big problem, but I was awaken one night due to elevator alarm going off & other nights due to loud spring-breakers but that isn't really hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Recess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,232 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,309 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,427 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,481 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $217 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront sanctuary in the heart of Miami Beach, just minutes from the South Beach entertainment district, The Palms Hotel & Spa combines refined service, laid-back sophistication and beachside serenity into a destination where wellness and environmental awareness are at the center of each guest experience. Enjoy freshly renovated lobby areas with an elegant colonial flair, a lush tropical garden oasis with secluded relaxation areas, a large swimming pool and comfortable lounges, cabanas and umbrellas at the pool and beach. Rooms offer either views of the ocean, tropical gardens or the cityscape, and feature flat-screen TVs, AVEDA toiletries, coffee makers, iPod docks and luxurious bedding. The hotel’s signature restaurant, ESSENSIA, offers local farm-to-table cuisine with unique Miami flavors on breezy covered terraces. The Lounge specializes on craft cocktails while the TIKI BAR offers casual fare and classic pool cocktails. The Palms AVEDA Spa offers a full-service salon, retail area and holistic spa treatments, delivering a highly personalized experience with rituals to awaken the senses. Inspired by the pristine environment surrounding the resort, tropical nature inspires all facets of the hotel, from the decor, to the products & services offered and its commitment to green practices. It is an independently owned and operated AAA 4-diamond rated hotel, a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection and Florida Green Lodging certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing