We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel with great private cabana dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #28 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed in December 2012 for a week. The hotel is away from the hotel busy section of Miami Breach and South Beach with I liked. I enjoyed the quite. The hotel is on the beach boardwalk and you can get to many places by walking or taking a taxi. I was able to walk from the Palms to Canyon Ranch Hotel and the Fountain Blue Hotel for lunch.
The rooms are beautiful with a tropical design and functional with deck, good lighting, and sufficient electrical outlets to pull in phone and computer chargers. The hotel pool is open 24 hours which is nice if you want to spend the day seeing the town. You can still you the pool at night. The hotel is on the beach and the hotel has lounge chairs on the beach reserved for hotel guest. There is a beach towel exchange program so that you can turn in your towel cards each day for fresh, clean beach towels. You can rent a Tiki Cabana for the day.
I especially like the veranda bar and restaurant areas. The hotel offers private cabana dinners. (I have included a picture of the cabana.) Kristina, the concierge, did a great job of making arrangements for the poolside cabana and the cabana dinner. I would stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quite hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveltheGlobe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 2,695 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

I ordered breakfast two times. The first time the staff lost the order and we had to reorder in the morning. Then when it arrived it was missing the fruit ordered. The second day I ordered the night before by phone so the order wouldn't get lost. They had the wrong deliver time on the order and we almost missed our transport. Again, they lost the fruit.

We also ordered 5 drinks by the pool. Total tab was $75. Wow! Though this is a nice facility, they really have problems with service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I regret that you experienced this type of service delay and lack of communication from our team. I assure you this is not our normal service and clearly we had a breakdown with our standards. Thank you again for providing this feedback, it allows us to evaluate service and standards for our guests and ensure a pleasant stay.
I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Palms Hotel & Spa whenever your travels bring you back to Miami Beach.
With warm regards,
The Palms Hotel & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Saying here for 5 days for a business meting was great. Nice rooms, frindly staff ond the most wonderful sorroundings. Meeting rooms was also very good. The lunch menu at the restaurant could have been improved, but the lobster blt was truly a hit! Hope to come back here some time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eseter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our property and friendly staff. Guest feedback is very important to us so we appreciate your comments regarding our restaurant. I am pleased that the lobster blt was a true hit! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back when your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've been coming to Miami quite a few times (3 times the last year) and I've stayed at hotels on washington, Collins and Oceandrive more or less everytime. This time I wanted to try something different and so the Palms seemed like a good options since it's north of South beach but still not to far from Lincoln road and 7-10th st action. Also, a plus in my opinion is that it's not HUGE. There are a lot of high rises on North beach and also Sunny Isles.. But this hotel is neither small/boutique nor a gigantic tower. So, it's got character and you won't get lost. :)

The rooms were very nice. Ok sizewise and with the best beds I've ever slept in actually! We had a separate toilet and shower. Not sure all rooms come like that. The ocean/pool view is nice, but unfortunately it's also including the construction next to the hotel. Not so nice.. But, there is a lot of construction going on in that area, so there are a lot of hotels that are affected of the same thing. Don't think it is so bad you should go elsewhere. Although I did think they could have cleaned the area just below our windows. There was a bit of fixing going on at the Palms too and obviously no one wanted to keep the place tidy.

Breakfastbuffet is fantastic! Make sure to include it in your booking! Fruitsalad, salmon, waffles, omelet-station... Etc etc. Best I've had in the USA except for in Vegas.

The pool area is very clean and also worth the stay. Some sand and loungers and also Tiki-huts for rent. The boardwalk is just out the gate by the pool.

All in all a nice experience. A bit pricey.. But so are most of the hotels in Miami.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Per N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for not only choosing to stay with us but for taking the time to provide us with your most recent Palms experience! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our property, rooms, pool, but especially our fantastic breakfast buffet! We are looking forward to the enhancement to the surrounding areas this new property will bring, however, at this time we do have intermittent noise disturbances heard outside of our property. Our tropical settings and luxurious amenities within the hotel continue to be of great charm and enjoyment to all of our guests. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back as our loyal and repeat Palms guest!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Palms and had a great experience. To comment on previous reviews; yes there is construction going on but in Miami Beach it is hard not to find construction near a hotel. Fortunately for that area there is a lot of renovation work and new buildings. So any hotel you book keep it in mind if that is an issue. Yes you hear the noise in the pool area. You do not hear it on the beach. Get a room on the north end of the building we did not hear the noise in our room.

Service here was always professional. From your first greeting arriving at the hotel to housekeeping everyone was helpful, and professional. I stay at Ritzs a lot and I almost liked the staff here better it was more genuine, not rehearsed with coin phrases like many chain hotels.

This is a smaller hotel than chain hotels which gave it more charm I felt. The lounge area was very comfortable, bar area comfortable and not loud like many places in Miami Beach. That being said if you are looking for night life this is not the hotel for you. However a $5 taxi ride gets you to the night clubs and the hotel always had taxis waiting for their clientel.

Many people don't talk about the restaurant on site Essence. It was fantastic. We had good brunches (not fantastic but above grade), lunches are better and dinners were fantastic. Smaller menu utilizing local produce including their own garden. On Wednesday nights at 5 PM meet at the garden for a 30 minute toor and talk about what they grow and how they use it in their reciepes. We happened to also get a glass of Prosecco, great cheeses and crackers offered to us as well. The head Cheif gives you the tour and was very gracious with questions people had.

In short I would return to this hotel, it is just north of South Beach and walking distance to many very good restaurants using the board walk. Beach large and beaurtiful too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquavitgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed there as a family, and had a great stay!
Rooms: clean, luxuryus,
Service: as you expext in a hotel of this standard
Breakfast: wow, fantastic food and atmosphere
Spa: great service
The pool area was fantastic with sandy beach by the pool, and a nice pool bar.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our rooms, service, food, spa, and pool. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are small and the lack any kind of balcony which gives a sense of space. I really like the bathroom arrangement: one with toilet and sink and one with sink and shower. My husband and I had our teenage daughter with us and the extra privacy was nice. The was a big noise issue also. A hotel next door is under construction and this hotel is replacing windows. I spoke to the manager who promptly refunded our upgrade fee for an ocean facing room. Overall a nice place but negotiate the rate until all the construction ends.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momof4kidsNearBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Grand Beach Hotel
#65 of 212 in Miami Beach
5,468 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,399 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante Miami Beach
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,376 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,468 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $220 - $715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront sanctuary in the heart of Miami Beach, just minutes from the South Beach entertainment district, The Palms Hotel & Spa combines refined service, laid-back sophistication and beachside serenity into a destination where wellness and environmental awareness are at the center of each guest experience. Enjoy freshly renovated lobby areas with an elegant colonial flair, a lush tropical garden oasis with secluded relaxation areas, a large swimming pool and comfortable lounges, cabanas and umbrellas at the pool and beach. Rooms offer either views of the ocean, tropical gardens or the cityscape, and feature flat-screen TVs, AVEDA toiletries, coffee makers, iPod docks and luxurious bedding. The hotel’s signature restaurant, ESSENSIA, offers local farm-to-table cuisine with unique Miami flavors on breezy covered terraces. The Lounge specializes on craft cocktails while the TIKI BAR offers casual fare and classic pool cocktails. The Palms AVEDA Spa offers a full-service salon, retail area and holistic spa treatments, delivering a highly personalized experience with rituals to awaken the senses. Inspired by the pristine environment surrounding the resort, tropical nature inspires all facets of the hotel, from the decor, to the products & services offered and its commitment to green practices. It is an independently owned and operated AAA 4-diamond rated hotel, a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection and Florida Green Lodging certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing