We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stay at the Palms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #37 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ST Paul, MN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Palms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Palms and had a great experience. To comment on previous reviews; yes there is construction going on but in Miami Beach it is hard not to find construction near a hotel. Fortunately for that area there is a lot of renovation work and new buildings. So any hotel you book keep it in mind if that is an issue. Yes you hear the noise in the pool area. You do not hear it on the beach. Get a room on the north end of the building we did not hear the noise in our room.

Service here was always professional. From your first greeting arriving at the hotel to housekeeping everyone was helpful, and professional. I stay at Ritzs a lot and I almost liked the staff here better it was more genuine, not rehearsed with coin phrases like many chain hotels.

This is a smaller hotel than chain hotels which gave it more charm I felt. The lounge area was very comfortable, bar area comfortable and not loud like many places in Miami Beach. That being said if you are looking for night life this is not the hotel for you. However a $5 taxi ride gets you to the night clubs and the hotel always had taxis waiting for their clientel.

Many people don't talk about the restaurant on site Essence. It was fantastic. We had good brunches (not fantastic but above grade), lunches are better and dinners were fantastic. Smaller menu utilizing local produce including their own garden. On Wednesday nights at 5 PM meet at the garden for a 30 minute toor and talk about what they grow and how they use it in their reciepes. We happened to also get a glass of Prosecco, great cheeses and crackers offered to us as well. The head Cheif gives you the tour and was very gracious with questions people had.

In short I would return to this hotel, it is just north of South Beach and walking distance to many very good restaurants using the board walk. Beach large and beaurtiful too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquavitgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    759
    190
    96
    82
See reviews for
597
926
68
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandvika, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed there as a family, and had a great stay!
Rooms: clean, luxuryus,
Service: as you expext in a hotel of this standard
Breakfast: wow, fantastic food and atmosphere
Spa: great service
The pool area was fantastic with sandy beach by the pool, and a nice pool bar.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swissgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our rooms, service, food, spa, and pool. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Boston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are small and the lack any kind of balcony which gives a sense of space. I really like the bathroom arrangement: one with toilet and sink and one with sink and shower. My husband and I had our teenage daughter with us and the extra privacy was nice. The was a big noise issue also. A hotel next door is under construction and this hotel is replacing windows. I spoke to the manager who promptly refunded our upgrade fee for an ocean facing room. Overall a nice place but negotiate the rate until all the construction ends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momof4kidsNearBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small. Very over priced would not recommend pool area is old. Daily valet fee of Twenty nine dollars Is rediculous. Booked 2 nights. Only stayed one. Could not leave soon enough go some where else.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davide444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and choosing to stay with us. I am disappointed that your stay was not what you had expected. Our valet fee of $29 is in line with other local Miami Beach and South Beach properties. As a matter of fact our fee is less than most hotels in our competitive set. I wish parking was more plentiful in this area but as you can imagine this will never be the case. Guest feedback is very important to us as it helps us to evaluate service and standards for our guests and ensure a pleasant stay. Should you have a moment please email me alma@thepalmshotel.com for further details on your stay. When your travels bring you back to our city, we would be very pleased to have you as our guest again so that you may experience the high level of service and personal attention that The Palms is known for.
With warm regards,
The Palms Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We looked at lots of hotels on the Beach and chose The Palms at the recommendation of a friend. Luckily for us she warned us about the construction so we asked for a room in the Tower far from the maddening noise. We spent our time on the Beach where we heard little. Actually it seems that every third building on the beach is under serious construction so ASK whereever you book.
Now for the rave review. We would absolutely return and send others. We loved the old world but very up-to-date ambiance: sort of East INdian English with palms and fans and french doors.
We saw two bedrooms both stunning in beautiful soft blue colors.

But the memorable part of the hotel is the staff: every single one. If I were running a company I would try to steal the personnel director as he/she has a intuition for people for sure. Clearly they are all trained well but they were as natural, warm and fun as any group I have every met.
I cant say enough about them The food is also excellent and beautifully served.
A fine stay all around.

Room Tip: right now ask for the towers away from construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kleinperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I am at a convention but chose to stay in a smaller hotel. I liked the old world charm of The Palms in the lobby with the modern decor of the rooms. The bathrooms are nice, except the grout in the shower kept coming off in pieces.

Here is the problem. I came back to my room around 1:45 to get some down time, answer emails and do a little bit of work with my feet up. However, I was greeted with what sounded like a jackhammer coming from next door that virtually shook my room. On further reflection I decided it was hammer and drills and other some such. I called up downstairs to ask how long it was going on. They told me it would go until 4 as they were replacing windows.

A first rate hotel would have done one of two things: 1) not booked anyone adjacent to a room under construction; 2) advised me in advance so I could plan my day around it and be gone.

Up to this point, I would have given the hotel a much higher review. I believe a hotel should prevent a serene get away. At over $300 a day, that doesn't seem like too much to ask.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. First and foremost, I regret that your stay was not exactly as you had anticipated. Please be assured that what you may have experienced was atypical and Guest satisfaction is always paramount at The Palms. When your travels bring you back to our city, we would be very pleased to have you as our guest again so that you may experience The Palms in its true light.
With warm regards,
Alma Cue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The noise from the building under construction next door south is indeed unacceptable. From 8 to 5 we couldn't stay at verandas, cafes, pool area etc. Fortunately they gave us a room with city view on the other side of the building - dark, facing another window front - but at least silent. Reduction or compensation? "Sorry, unfortunately we dont do that" was the friendly reply.

However, the staff is friendly indeed. The rooms are nice re furniture, function and all is well cared.

Nice hotel under unbearable circumstances. Never no more as long the construction area is next door....

Room Tip: If you dont mind the noise outside ask - in advance by phone first and foremost - if they can give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your positive comments about our friendly staff, well cared for rooms and nice hotel. We are looking forward to the enhancement to the surrounding areas this new property will bring, however, I regret that during your stay intermittent noise disturbances were heard outside of our property. Our tropical settings and luxurious amenities within the hotel continue to be of great charm and enjoyment to all of our current guests. Our staff is truly dedicated to ensuring that each guest has a unique experience and receives the very best in our genuine hospitality and care, along with an amazing serene experience in our tropical settings. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to our city.
With warm regards,
The Palms Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#52 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,576 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Palms Hotel & Spa
Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing