We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from the convention hotel with one big negative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #35 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
seattle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Escape from the convention hotel with one big negative”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I am at a convention but chose to stay in a smaller hotel. I liked the old world charm of The Palms in the lobby with the modern decor of the rooms. The bathrooms are nice, except the grout in the shower kept coming off in pieces.

Here is the problem. I came back to my room around 1:45 to get some down time, answer emails and do a little bit of work with my feet up. However, I was greeted with what sounded like a jackhammer coming from next door that virtually shook my room. On further reflection I decided it was hammer and drills and other some such. I called up downstairs to ask how long it was going on. They told me it would go until 4 as they were replacing windows.

A first rate hotel would have done one of two things: 1) not booked anyone adjacent to a room under construction; 2) advised me in advance so I could plan my day around it and be gone.

Up to this point, I would have given the hotel a much higher review. I believe a hotel should prevent a serene get away. At over $300 a day, that doesn't seem like too much to ask.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. First and foremost, I regret that your stay was not exactly as you had anticipated. Please be assured that what you may have experienced was atypical and Guest satisfaction is always paramount at The Palms. When your travels bring you back to our city, we would be very pleased to have you as our guest again so that you may experience The Palms in its true light.
With warm regards,
Alma Cue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    814
    213
    102
    85
See reviews for
651
1,004
72
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The noise from the building under construction next door south is indeed unacceptable. From 8 to 5 we couldn't stay at verandas, cafes, pool area etc. Fortunately they gave us a room with city view on the other side of the building - dark, facing another window front - but at least silent. Reduction or compensation? "Sorry, unfortunately we dont do that" was the friendly reply.

However, the staff is friendly indeed. The rooms are nice re furniture, function and all is well cared.

Nice hotel under unbearable circumstances. Never no more as long the construction area is next door....

Room Tip: If you dont mind the noise outside ask - in advance by phone first and foremost - if they can give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your positive comments about our friendly staff, well cared for rooms and nice hotel. We are looking forward to the enhancement to the surrounding areas this new property will bring, however, I regret that during your stay intermittent noise disturbances were heard outside of our property. Our tropical settings and luxurious amenities within the hotel continue to be of great charm and enjoyment to all of our current guests. Our staff is truly dedicated to ensuring that each guest has a unique experience and receives the very best in our genuine hospitality and care, along with an amazing serene experience in our tropical settings. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to our city.
With warm regards,
The Palms Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a business stay there. Nice location, very friendly service, beautiful terrace, garden (big palms and bamboo, lawn, designed carribean style), pool and bar - did a walk along the boardwalk and found only one more hotel with a comparable flair and beauty! Beach directly cross the pedestrian Boardwalk (1 minute) with all service from hotel if requested. Kitchen is excellent, even Bio (!), wonderful breakfast with individually cooked eggs, waffles, etc. on terrace. Rooms modern and big, bathroom and toilet separate, beds exceptially comfortable. Unfortunately no window to be opened, no fresh air (upgrade to balcony suite $600 per night!), AC worked fine, ceiling fan additional. Seminar rooms in the basement well equipped, fine service, AC too cold and draughty, no fresh air possible. Luxury Spa and gym in the basement with direct access to pool and garden. Nice restaurant, but expensive.

Walk down to South Beach and Ocean Drive (center of nightlife) ca. 2 miles via Boardwalk along the beach or via Collin Ave (business, stores, hotels, etc.). Taxi ca. $9-10 alternatively. 30 minutes per taxi to the airport.

Summary: To be recommended for superior accomodation, family or business, 4 stars out of 5 !

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Basco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

the hotel itself is lovely. the decor, rooms, beds and linens, lounge, veranda seating, beach, pool, etc. were all upscale and had a real eco kind of feel. however, i paid $2.70 for a lukewarm cup of decaf, and the room was unbearably noisy. there was a bang when the a/c kicked off and a loud drilling/ humming sound that was probably the elevator. when i made the reservation, i asked for a quiet room since my fiance has sensitive ears and reiterated te request when we arrived at the front desk. the construction next door -ahighrise going up - stopped for the day at 8:00 pm. we did eat at a cuban hole in the wall about two blocks away on collins which was fantastic! i would not stay here again.

Room Tip: did not use spa or $31.00 per person breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaterinaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

There were 39 of us for a company outing / meeting and we loved The Palms.

Service was fantastic from check in to the events team. They had total flexibility of where and when we did things and meals. During our stay we had everything we needed and felt as if we were the only ones at the resort.

The hotel itself has not lost the feel of a Floridian resort but has been completely upgraded. We loved the very tropical and intimate feel of the pool area and tiki bar. You are right on the beach and they have a hut out there as well. Running down the boardwalk was awesome.

Rooms were small side but neat and modern. The one issue and this is with most South Beach older hotels is there are no balconies, except on top floor.

Also the porches surrounding the back are so relaxing and great place for coffee or drink.

If you are hosting an event and want a low key, reasonable price resort, keep this place on your list.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tackitikihut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel and private beach were nice - good decor, turn down service, etc. Most staff were very attentive. Location was close enough to South Beach, but far enough away to avoid overly young and rowdy crowds. Maid service could be a little inconsistent, though. Spa service was good, not great.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank HappySoloTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel service was excellent from housekeeping to the bar and everything in between, and frankly this is rare in Miami from my week here. The rooms are clean and they have an amazing 'eco' loo that I have never seen anywhere before. Only downside is that next door is currently a building site that means a quiet day by the pool or an outside lunch is out of the question Mon-Fri at least.

Room Tip: Beach facing is obv a plus but if you are on the very top floors the city view is also interesting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PracticallyPerfect74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#57 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Palms Hotel & Spa
Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront sanctuary in the heart of Miami Beach, just minutes from the South Beach entertainment district, The Palms Hotel & Spa combines refined service, laid-back sophistication and beachside serenity into a destination where wellness and environmental awareness are at the center of each guest experience. Enjoy freshly renovated lobby areas with an elegant colonial flair, a lush tropical garden oasis with secluded relaxation areas, a large swimming pool and comfortable lounges, cabanas and umbrellas at the pool and beach. Rooms offer either views of the ocean, tropical gardens or the cityscape, and feature flat-screen TVs, AVEDA toiletries, coffee makers, iPod docks and luxurious bedding. The hotel’s signature restaurant, ESSENSIA, offers local farm-to-table cuisine with unique Miami flavors on breezy covered terraces. The Lounge specializes on craft cocktails while the TIKI BAR offers casual fare and classic pool cocktails. The Palms AVEDA Spa offers a full-service salon, retail area and holistic spa treatments, delivering a highly personalized experience with rituals to awaken the senses. Inspired by the pristine environment surrounding the resort, tropical nature inspires all facets of the hotel, from the decor, to the products & services offered and its commitment to green practices. It is an independently owned and operated AAA 4-diamond rated hotel, a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection and Florida Green Lodging certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing