We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,174)
Filter reviews
3,174 results
Traveler rating
1,742
949
263
116
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,742
949
263
116
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaveda productssouth beachpool areaocean viewchairs and umbrellasbeautiful hotelcab rideoceanfront roomhotel restaurantprivate beachdirect access to the beachbeach servicevalet parkinglincoln roadbeach towelsweddingarmand
Filter
Updating list...
1,716 - 1,721 of 3,174 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were in this hotel for 6 nights and we were quiet disappointed. The rooms are nice but a little bit small. The pool is smaller than it appears on the photos. the staff at the beach and de bellboy and the valet parking staff was really friendly but the receptionist are quiet arrogant. But ther is one BIG BIG BIG disatvantage and we are fairly angry at the moment. You have no possibility to shower after you chekced out. So our flight was leaving fairly late in the evening an we would have stayed in the hotel for some hours. But if you keep your room you have to pay 50 $ for each hour and you could shower in the spa for 20$ per person but this is much tooo expensiv just for some water in the shower. We are really not used to such an bad service in a 4 star hotel. Disappointing!!!!!! Further everything at the minibar, poolbar and so on is also far to expensiv. The spa treatment i had was great thanks to Maria A. Rodriguez.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Severine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Severine, I regret to hear that you left feeling disappointed about our after departure guest options. We truly value our guests and all of their experiences, from arrival thru departure, and apologize if we failed to communicate the value of our Aveda Spa access option to you. When available, our Front Desk is also able to offer our departing guests an extended late checkout (past our 11am c/o time), 12noon complimentary or later for an additional charge. This is common among our fellow Miami hotels and competitive set. However, as an alternative we do also offer our Aveda Spa as an option for guests, which would include access to our exclusive Spa facility and tranquil settings; showers, locker / changing areas, steam room and indoor / outdoor relaxation area for $20 per guest. Our hope is to provide all guests with an exceptional spa experience, just as you commented on your amazing spa treatment experienced with Maria. I am delighted to hear of her fantastic services and care and have personally shared your comments with her directly. Thank you for your unique perspective and allowing us to address your concerns. Sincerely Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I am a wedding photographer in Austin, Texas. When our daughter said she wanted to get married at The Palms Hotel & Spa in Miami, I knew they would have a lot to live up to. I can tell you that Monica and staff were amazing in every detail. Nothing was over looked and we felt very welcome. Every thing with the wedding was on time and perfect. The following reception was perfect. Food, staff, bartender and management were all there. A very big thank you from someone who has been to 225 weddings in the last three years and know when things are well run and when they are not..If you have any doubts about The Palm, forget about it. They are THE BEST!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkpeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Austin, TX: We are truly honored to have had the opportunity to host your daughter’s wedding, here at the Palms. We realize there are many hotels and wedding venues to choose from in the area and it was our absolute pleasure in making the event and entire planning experience a magical and unforgettable one that will last a lifetime. Our Catering and Banquet teams (along with all of our hotel staff) exude passion, dedication and professionalism in turning a wedding event into a truly spectacular and unforgettable experience. We all appreciate your sincerity and comments and hope you will keep in touch with us on how the newlyweds are doing. Hopefully, we can celebrate an anniversary together in the near future. Sincerely, Elena & our lovely ladies in Catering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The first impression when I walked into this hotel was WOW! I loved the originality of the hotel and how even though it looked in tip top shape it still had an antique feel to it.

But, I do have to say that the best part of this hotel was the staff (specially the bellmen) they were always so helpful and never lost that smile on there face. Our room was ready earlier than we expected so that was a great bonus considering that the weather thanks to Issac was bad, so we really didn't want to go outside.

The rooms were very clean and seemed as if they were recently renovated. The only thing I do have to mention is the bathroom layout which wasn't a problem at all to us, but might be an issue to others. The. Athroom is not your regular shower, toilet and sink all in one room. These rooms have two separate rooms, one has a sink and the shower and the other has a sink and a toilet. Both rooms are in really nice and recently renovated, so it really isn't an issue at all, just a different layout which we actually enjoyed.

Due to Issac we didn't use the pool area, so all I can say is it looked really e from our room window. We did use the hotel restaurant "Escencia" for breakfast. It was pricey but good. They have a breakfast buffet and an omelet station.

I do have to say that location isn't the best because it is about 15 streets from Ocean Drive and there aren't really any restaurants or stores around the hotel. There is a small store about a block from the hotel, but it is very small so you won't find a lot there, just the basic snacks, drinks, alcohol and stuff like that. There is also a Subway about a block from the hotel and that is about it. I heard that you can also find restaurants and stores on 41st street but it is still a little far from the hotel. I would say this is the only bad thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NayaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Santa Fe, I love that we were able to ‘WOW’ you with our first impression and that the welcoming smiles of our bellman made your stay truly memorable. Our Bell team, along with the rest of the Palms staff, is dedicated to ensuring that each and every one of our guests receive the very best in genuine service and hospitality, especially during one of Florida’s Tropical Storms, as you experienced during Isaac with us. Hopefully, we can welcome you back again soon and allow you to experience our outdoor tropical sanctuary and stunning South Florida beaches as well. Please contact me the next time your travels bring you back to beautiful Miami Beach, as we will be waiting to welcome you with a smile. Sincerely, Elena :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I decided to escape August in San Francisco for some sun and sand in Miami Beach. We chose the Palms because it was a bit outside the main action in South Beach, right on the water and looked like a good option between the larger properties such as the Fontainbleau and the small deco hotels of South Beach. The staff were all very friendly, the common areas immaculate and attractive and the room well appointed, if a bit on the small side. The bath was a bit odd in that the commode was separate from the main bath, but it was fine. The pool is lovely and there is direct access to the beach and boardwalk. Our stay was during Isaac and the night that the major part of the storm came through the hotel managed to put together a nicely done buffet dinner. We had a car while there, and the valets were prompt and very courteous. The fitness center is on the limited side, but fine for us and the spa very attractive although we didn't use it. The only glitch was a couple of days when our room was made up very late in the day. I would highly recommend The Palms for anyone wanting a true hotel experience but not wanting the glitz and prices of a property like the Fontainbleau.

Room Tip: There is major construction that is likely to continue for some time on the south side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had an awesome 80 minute massage, mani and pedi. Visited the spa with a group of five girlfriends. We had an awesome time. I love Aveda products. The only do downside was the size of the locker and reflection rooms, to say it was tight would be an understatement. Lol. The spa was very clean and the staff was attentive and courteous. I would go back.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank CDub1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews