We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #37 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Territet, Vaud, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Miami Beach”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very Good place and service, the rooms kind of small. The restaurant too expensive also the beach service anyways the sea view and the proximity to the beach is very good and makes easear to reach it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    829
    218
    102
    89
See reviews for
666
1,026
76
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Palms for four nights on a Bachelorette party with 3 friends. My ocean view room was large and comfortable however my friends had a much better view from their room that was a few floors higher. By looking at the rooms you could think you are in a business hotel but by walking around in the lush garden you're definitely in a resort. I'm not sure if the business looking bedrooms are a plus for leisure travelers.
The food at the restaurant was good as well as service but it was overall over-priced.

The best thing about this hotel is the colonial/tropical feeling in the public areas and garden as well as the front desk staff. Stefano was able to communicate in every possible language and gave us the best restaurant and club recommendations in the city. He made this bachelorette party actually look like one thanks to its dedication and professionalism from check in to check out. Moise was also very knowledgeable about the city and its fun happening. Thumbs up for these two gentlemen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_LA602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Debbie, I appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay experiences with us and I am even more delighted to hear that both Stefano and Moises at the Front Desk were able to make your stay truly memorable and everlasting. Our colleagues are our greatest asset and both of these gentleman are perfect examples of our teams dedication and commitment to excellence. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you! Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Palms Hotel August 24-26 for a family event. Check in was fine, but from the moment we entered our room on the 10th floor we knew we were in trouble. Starting with the bathroom (see photo). No human being could possibly be comfortable using the toilet. Not only in our room, but some other family rooms as well. One family member even said her toilet was built under the sink and whenever she flushed the faucets in the sink came on. My wife actually slid off the toilet since the seat was not even on tight. Even after we asked the hotel to fix it, they didn't. Next we went to Essencia for a late breakfast. Very expensive and the toast presented to my wife was stale and had to be sent back. Nights were impossible. There is absolutely no sound proofing that room of ours. All night long people were heard yelling up and down the halls. We called the front desk and spoke to Carlos several times throughout the night. He assured us security would take care of the noise. We did hear security come up once and ask them to keep it down. This lasted for about 10 minutes. We called again and asked if security could stay up there for a while. Carlos informed us that they only had 1 security guard for the entire hotel. Trust me they need many more than that. I don't think my wife and I slept more than an hour our entire stay! Same with many of our family on other floors as well. I was so tired that night, I felt I could use a massage by the pool the next day. Oh but wait! The weather forced the spa to cancel all the special rate massages outside and would not honor them inside. I sat by the pool anyway. It was cloudy but not raining. Finally when it was time to leave I asked the bellman if I could borrow a luggage cart. NO was the only answer I received. If you enjoy hotels where the standard room is smaller than a standard cruise line cabin, and the bathrooms even more compact, and the price of the room more than double what you would pay for an outside cabin on a luxury liner; a hotel where you can hear a pin drop outside your door, and you pay $29 per night to park your car, then this is the hotel for you! When I asked the rest of our family how their stay was the only answer I received was EXPENSIVE! and that was with our family event rate! Never again!

Room Tip: pick another hotel! A cell at the city jail would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drofbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Ormond Beach, We were absolutely honored to host your family event here at the Palms and I regret that your memories of the event were not of joyous times together in a beautiful setting, but rather of unfortunate noisy outside occurrences. I am truly disappointed to hear about your sleepless nights as our guest and I would love the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your past stay and experiences. Please contact me directly at ebarkey@thepalmshotel.com. Sincerely Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Palms for three nights and had interconnecting oceanview rooms - well worth the extra. Overall it is a good hotel, with high quality food and friendly and helpful staff. Our only niggle was that the rooms we eon the small side and were not very soundproof.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelphilosopher_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly especially at the tour desk. She organised tickets for us to the Miami Heat game at the last minute and provided us with great directions on how to get buses there. The rooms were very nice. Wish it was warmer as we would have been able to enjoy the pool. Great location on the beach and a bit of a walk to the shops but at least its a scenic walk along the boardwalk.
The breakie was great too with plenty of options.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at the Palms Hotel & Spa from August 24-26. This was my first stay at the hotel and after my experience I would not consider any other hotel in the Miami area. The night manager David Ortigosa is a wonderful asset to the hotel. From the moment I checked in until the minute I left he was accomodating, wonderfully helpful and genuinely sincere. He accomodated my request to change my room upon my check in at 3 AM which was on the 4th floor (unlucky number in Asian culture) immediately. Unfortunately my trip was shortened due to Hurricane Issac, and Mr. Ortigosa coud not have been more accomodating.
Beautiful grounds, immaculately clean, terrific location and wonderful service. I highly recommend the hotel. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy20454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Daisy NY, I am thrilled to hear about your experiences with our Overnight Manager Carlos Ortigosa, as he is truly a wonderful asset to our team and we love knowing that he is here to assist our guests with a memorable experience, while everyone else is sound asleep. I have shared your comments at our monthly staff luncheon, as it is testament to the genuine hospitality which we strive to provide each and every day. Thank you for the recommendations and we all look forward to your return. Please contact me the next time your travels bring you back to Miami Beach. Sincerely, Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was very upset with the additional daily charge tacked on to our bill at checkout. We were told it was for the pool/ beach/ towels...etc. However, during my stay I did not use either of these facilities and when I mentioned this I was told it's a mandatory fee. If that's the case this should have been added to the nightly room charge and then I could've made a proper decision if I want to spend that total price per night or not. The way it is done at the Palms is very underhand and should not be legal. I value honesty and this underhand way of earning money just makes me lose all respect for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,992 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,411 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,352 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Palms Hotel & Spa
Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront sanctuary in the heart of Miami Beach, just minutes from the South Beach entertainment district, The Palms Hotel & Spa combines refined service, laid-back sophistication and beachside serenity into a destination where wellness and environmental awareness are at the center of each guest experience. Enjoy freshly renovated lobby areas with an elegant colonial flair, a lush tropical garden oasis with secluded relaxation areas, a large swimming pool and comfortable lounges, cabanas and umbrellas at the pool and beach. Rooms offer either views of the ocean, tropical gardens or the cityscape, and feature flat-screen TVs, AVEDA toiletries, coffee makers, iPod docks and luxurious bedding. The hotel’s signature restaurant, ESSENSIA, offers local farm-to-table cuisine with unique Miami flavors on breezy covered terraces. The Lounge specializes on craft cocktails while the TIKI BAR offers casual fare and classic pool cocktails. The Palms AVEDA Spa offers a full-service salon, retail area and holistic spa treatments, delivering a highly personalized experience with rituals to awaken the senses. Inspired by the pristine environment surrounding the resort, tropical nature inspires all facets of the hotel, from the decor, to the products & services offered and its commitment to green practices. It is an independently owned and operated AAA 4-diamond rated hotel, a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection and Florida Green Lodging certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing