We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well, it IS the Palms Hotel, after all :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #37 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well, it IS the Palms Hotel, after all :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel was an oasis of luxury after our stay in downtown Miami. Its a small boutique hotel with a resort feel (without being over sized), and has a tranquil poolside lounge area and easy access to the beach and city boardwalk. The beach has plenty of lounge chairs and bar service. The Essensia restaurant was divine - wonderful culinary creations that were healthy and delicious! We were pleasantly surprise. The location is not very close to other South Beach attractions and you have to be prepared to take a cab from the hotel, but the beach front location is well worth it. The rooms have all the up to date amenities, and beach towels are available by the pool. All in all we were very pleased with the truly zen ambiance!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ablablah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    759
    190
    96
    82
See reviews for
597
926
68
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

My husband, daughter and I spent a week here for spring break. We booked the hotel through Expedia. The hotel gave us a hard time about honoring our room request. They initially put us in a room with two doubles in spite of our specific request for a king with pullout sofa. My 6'4" husband does not fit in a double. To add insult to injury, we had a lovely view of the hotel construction workers next door. The constant drilling, banging and beeping of the construction machinery was unbearable. It could be heard on the beach, at the pool and in our room beginning at 8:00 am. I had planned to veg on the beach and read all week. Instead we, found ourselves leaving the hotel everyday to get away from the noise. Room service and hotel food was subpar. This place is over-rated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We enjoyed our week long stay at The Palms in April 2012. The location is perfect - close enough to go to Lincoln Road and Ocean Dr. without being in the middle of the craziness. The rooms are a little on the small side, but they do make the most of the space. We had a corner room on the 10th floor with an incredible view of the Atlantic. We were pleased with the staff, cleanliness and food/beverage options.
We were VERY disappointed in the wireless - it really doesn't work any where in the hotel and especially NOT in the guest rooms or at the pool. Management really needs to address this - it was obvious that the staff was tired of hearing the guests complain about it. If you need to conduct business by internet while at The Palms, make sure you have a smart phone with hot spot capability for a tablet or laptop.
My husband and I had a couples massage in the Aveda spa. I love Aveda - so that was a big plus for me, but the overall spa experience is a little disappointing. The Palms does not have all of the spa amenities I expected (segregated steam room so swimsuits are required, no hot tub, or sauna) so it really isn't what I would consider a destination spa, but very nice for what it is.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are worth the extra $. We were in a 10th floor corner room and it was wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraSmigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Second time visit from the uk after being stuck due to the volcanic ash last time. Still great despite some problems Eith reservation.

Rooms and service are excellent and not deteriorated from 2 years ago that can often happen.

Pool area is great except there is major building work next door which if you like peace and quiet maybe off putting. The hotel never made is aware of this but at the weekend pool is very peaceful, I know as I'm sitting round the pool now writing this review . There is building work is all over SOBE so not restricted to here. You can escape it by going to the excellent beach on your doorstep.

There are weddings and corporate functions but these are kept separate from normal guests and don't interfere with your stay like other hotels I have stayed in Europe. Breakfast is good but expensive if you don't negotiate a deal.
Walk to Lincoln Road and ocean Drive is ok but on the limit of catching a taxi got $8.

Smart and trendy enough for forty something's from England. Biggest asset hotel staff who are very friendly and can't do enough for you. Biggest negatives the building works and the walk to attractions as just too far.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have my weeding dream at the palms.... It was absolutely beautifull. They have the best service ever. We have to give thanks to all the staff, Michelle the catering planner from the hotel make everything simple and easy. Juan Carlos and Paul were all the time making sure that every single detail was on time. It started rainning before the wedding and it stopped right on time to put everything the way we wanted.The food was excellent, the cheff was always making sure that the food was on time. The gazibo amazing!! the cocktail time was delicious, everything was perfect! We are so happy that we choose the Palms for our wedding. The room beautifull view and service. We love it!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renatta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Please don't book this hotel without reading this. Wanting nothing more than a peaceful, quiet getaway, we were lured here by the hotel's website's claims calling itself "serene," "tranquil," and an "oasis," and we got anything but. I had read about the construction on here but did not grasp how totally and completely disruptive it is. We asked about it on checking-in after midnight and actually agreed to pay extra to upgrade to ocean front when the front desk clerk dismissed it. I am attaching a picture from our room to show the "ground zero" looking property that we discovered at daylight when jarred awake by the sounds of jackhammers, loud beeping and other construction noises. This continued ALL DAY from about 7:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m., stopping only from 12:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m. The beautiful pool area was essentially unusable, not only due to the noise, but the thick cloud of diesel fuel that hung in the air. The beach in front of the hotel was not much better. Ironically, we walked down the beach to the supposedly less "serene" "South Beach" hotels that we thought we were avoiding by staying there. We called and complained to the front desk and asked to be moved to another room and they did offer to move us but had nothing that got us farther away, as most of the oceanfront rooms are exposed to the construction. I know it's not their fault, but when you're paying that kind of money, you need to know the truth about what you're getting.

To try to escape the noise, we decided to rent a car and go exploring and rent a room elsewhere (yes, we gladly paid for TWO hotel rooms just to be able to wake up one morning without the noise, since we made the mistake of booking through Expedia and knew we would not get our money back without a fight.) As we were returning to the Palms with the rental vehicle scheduled to arrive 1/2 hour early, I got a frantic call from our office (1500 miles away) saying the Palms concierge (who made arrangements for the vehicle) had called and said we were late returning the car and they wanted it back, as though we had STOLEN the vehicle. When we arrived (15 mins. EARLY) and followed Enterprise's instructions to park the car out front and take the keys to the concierge, my husband was almost accosted by the valets, who rudely insisted that they be allowed to park the car rather than leave it there as Enterprise had instructed the day before when they dropped off the car. We demanded to see the manager of the hotel but were not allowed to do so. The concierge did apologize but blamed Enterprise for the mix-up and never called to let us know that she had straightened it out.

We did love two things about the hotel, although, those, too were marred by the construction. One was the food (delicious and healthily prepared, but extremely expensive, even compared to what we are used to paying in the Caribbean.) There was a beautiful terrace where we enjoyed one dinner but outdoor dining was out of the question for breakfast or lunch due to the construction being in high gear by 8:00 a.m. The second thing I enjoyed was the spa, where I had one of the best massages I've ever had. However, I had to shake my head when they suggested I might want to sit in their relaxing "outside" area, which was just feet away from the jackhammering and had a very tall crane looming overhead that beeped loudly when it moved in ANY direction. (See photos attached.) In fact, the reason I went to the spa was for a brief reprieve from the incessant noise, which was well worth it.

Our last night there is the real reason we'll never return. I understand the hotel hosts weddings, but it does so without regard to the effect on their other guests. The wedding reception held out back on the hotel grounds continued loudly beyond MIDNIGHT. When drunken guests began screeching impromptu Karaoke into the microphone, my husband finally called and inquired as to WHEN it would end, since we had to get up for an early morning flight. They did break it up shortly after that (the bride and groom were long gone) but clearly, they let it go on way too long.

Based on the state of the structure next door, it seems it will be quite some time before the "tranquility" touted by the hotel returns. However, if the hotel does not care more about its paying guests, I don't think the experience will improve. I am not willing to take that chance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lvethebluewaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmsHotelandSpa, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We very much regret to hear that your stay was disrupted by a day of unusually heavy works at the property to our South. Unfortunately, this refurbishment project does generate intermittent disturbances, as noted on our hotel website, but we are highly dedicated to providing our guests with excellent service as shown by our front desk staff offering to move you to another room. Regarding celebrations at the hotels, we do have a “no outdoor music after 11pm” policy which our management works very hard at enforcing. It is unfortunate when isolated guests disrespect hotel policies and inconvenience guests such as you. On the positive note, we are very pleased to hear that you loved our all-natural, farm-to-table gourmet cuisine, and that you had one of the best massages ever at our AVEDA spa! We would like to reassure you that the negative experience that you describe is completely atypical to a standard stay at The Palms, and hope that when your travels bring you back to our city we will have the ability to welcome you again as our valued guests for another quieter stay so that you may experience The Palms in its true light. We look forward to providing you with the high level of service and personal attention that The Palms is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE UNTIL THE HOTEL GUARANTEE THE ALL DAY DRILLING HAS STOPPED. Checked in Tuesday night and were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, rooms a little squished but presented nicely. My parents were staying in a beach front room and when we went over in the morning they told us they had been woken up early by drilling, when we got to the pool the noise was unbearable, moving down to the beach made no impact to the cacophony of sound, amplified by the fact the hotel is directly under the airport flight path.
The pool area, when quiet was nice with plenty of space and attentive services at the pool bar. Food at the pool was great! Lobster blt recommended.

The maid service, whilst good, didn't do our rooms until late in the day and we often found ourselves having to wait to get back in when back from pool/day out.

Due to flight times we didn't need to leave the hotel until later, it would have cost $85 per room to extend check out, frustrating when rooms weren't cleaned until 5pm! I asked if the costs of rooms were being reduced due to the noise but was rudely told that the hotel isnt making the noise so why would they be. Whilst that may be true at no point were any apologies made for the noise which I was put out by given the cost.

If you're going for a party then this hotel is fine if you plan to spend the day in bed. If like us you wanted to relax then it's hardly ideal. Location is slightly out of the main strip but it means the beach is nice and quite. Overrall this is a great hotel but don't bother until you know the hotel next door is open!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#52 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,576 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#35 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Palms Hotel & Spa
Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us welcome you with genuine service and laid-back sophistication at our serene oceanfront resort, set in the heart of Miami Beach. Soul-reviving AVEDA spa experiences, natural gourmet cuisine at Essensia and newly renovated rooms, all inspired by the beautiful nature surrounding our sanctuary. Discover Miami Beach’s award-winning independent beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing