We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and over rated”

The Wolfsonian - Florida International University
Ranked #13 of 118 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum, library, and research center that invites exploration of the persuasive power of art and design.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive and over rated”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My title says it all. This museum is just full of independent pieces pulled from just about anywhere in the world including a Yorkshire dining room side table which just didn't fit in with anything else in the museum. Personally, I don't think it's worth the admission fee and wouldn't bother recommending it at all. The building is very large and from the outside you would think that this is all museum but there are floors which are not part of the museum so it's quite deceiving.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZandHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for writing! We hope you'll come back next time you're in Miami for one of our curator-led tours. It's definitely a collection unlike any other, and the curators shed fascinating cultural- and art-historical light on how it's all been assembled!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    183
    56
    17
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very interesting exhibition”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Not sure what I expected to find here but we found the exhibition on the design and art of interwar Italy immensely interesting, this could be because both my parents were Italian but I think there is much to interest a lot of people - especially if you like Art Deco.

It would be great to have had all the floors full of exhibits, but that would probably be too costly. My husband had been sceptical prior to this visit, but emerged full of praise.

Good job!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ruthiegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks, Ruthie! We are always filling the space with as many exciting new things as possible. There's currently a beautiful new table in the lobby, which won last year's design competition, and is worth a visit in itself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A unique museum that is worth visiting”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The museum focuses on Art Deco design of furniture, appliances and other artifacts of the period. But it also has interesting temporary exhibits, e.g., the current one on the relationship between Italian art/architecture of the 1930s and Mussolini. The museum is definitely worth visiting after you've explored the Art Deco buildings of South Beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank scott46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed "Rebirth of Rome." We have lots of exciting programming coming up in 2014-- looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“offbeat collection”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

we were impressed with the building and the collection. they apparently have tons more that don't see the light of day, but what we saw was interesting and sometimes a little offbeat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stannie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for writing! We're glad you enjoyed our unique collection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting museum”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A true gem- Art work from 1885 to 1945- wonderful pieces- do not pass up this fine and easy to visit museum

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, General Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for writing Denis! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolfsonian - Florida International University also viewed

 

Been to The Wolfsonian - Florida International University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing