We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting collections” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wolfsonian - Florida International University

The Wolfsonian - Florida International University
Ranked #13 of 116 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum, library, and research center that invites exploration of the persuasive power of art and design.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting collections”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Wolfsonian was a pleasant surprise. Prior to going there, I'd read their website and was a bit puzzled by why it sounded a bit vague re: what the museum offers. I learned that the collection changes every few months and the collections are a very interesting mix of media and themes. The exhibits we saw were both eclectic and thought provoking, while being visually appealing. The Museum is just the right size - we spent 2 hours there - could have taken longer to have read all the informational cards and examined everything carefully, but we just focused on the things that interested us the most. I look forward to going to the Wolfsonian again when I am in Miami next, as the collection will have changed by then. If you enjoy museums, I highly recommend this one.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiwibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting! We strive to be "eclectic and thought-provoking," so we're very happy you enjoyed the collection! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    180
    53
    17
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Stylish and interesting collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Wolfsonian's collection of culturally significant objects is super-stylish, engaging and well-presented and a great way to take in some culture just a couple of blocks from South Beach.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RdeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We're so happy you found our collection stylish and unique! Our curators work very hard to present our vast and varied range of objects in engaging, exciting ways- sounds like their mission was accomplished! Please stop by to see what they're up to next whenever you are in Miami!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Art from a particular era.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

There were some stunning pieces of art, furniture and sculptures. Posters from various countries promoting their passage at the Worlds Fair, an interesting small museum to visit and a change from shops or pool.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ceejayrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our collection. The World's Fair items are some of our most popular pieces, since they provide a window into such a fascinating series of events in complex historical context.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoffatBchQld
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lovely museum, loads to read and view. Very quiet the day we visited. Just wished there was more to view. Fabulous building.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeniseMoffatBchQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for writing Denise. We're so happy you enjoyed the building and the collection. There is always more to see, so come back whenever you're in Miami and check out our exciting new exhibitions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lots of decorative arts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

5 floors of art and decorative arts on the day we visited. Wish we had more time. Well documented exhibits which change periodically. Cafe is closed until further notice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit! Our Dynamo Cafe will be reopening in December, so we hope you'll be back to enjoy some delicious coffee or snacks and check out museum shop and bookstore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolfsonian - Florida International University also viewed

 

Been to The Wolfsonian - Florida International University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing