We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So interesting!”

The Wolfsonian - Florida International University
Ranked #12 of 127 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum, library, and research center that invites exploration of the persuasive power of art and design.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was so nice and refreshing to get away from the South Beach chaos. More than anything, it was extremely interesting. The building is fun to tour regardless of the exhibits. I recommend you stop by on your visit to South Beach.

Thank Laura U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for visiting and taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you found your museum experience to be a nice, refreshing break from busy South Beach. The building is certainly a gem, isn't it? We really appreciate your comments and letting us know about your experience. Thanks for recommending us!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"permanent collection"
in 32 reviews
"on display"
in 28 reviews
"gift shop"
in 33 reviews
"decorative arts"
in 15 reviews
"great museum"
in 13 reviews
"industrial design"
in 12 reviews
"small museum"
in 18 reviews
"current exhibit"
in 8 reviews
"wolfsonian museum"
in 11 reviews
"storage building"
in 5 reviews
"interesting objects"
in 5 reviews
"visited this museum"
in 5 reviews
"free admission"
in 10 reviews
"stained glass"
in 6 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 23 reviews
"rainy day"
in 11 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 5 reviews
Filter

353 - 357 of 582 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was excited to see the inside of this museum as I understood they had a beautiful collection sadly most of the collection in storage. We went on Friday at 6pm when museum is free. I know we were being cheap. Best thing was we took the free tour offered at 6pm. Curator informative and kind.

1  Thank Arlington30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for visiting and taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you were able to take advantage of free admission on Friday, and enjoyed your curator-led tour. We're sorry you were disappointed with the amount on display; typically museums only have room to display 10% of their collections at a time. That's why we work hard to continually change out objects so there is always something new to see. We hope you'll come back next time you are in the area. Again, we really appreciate your comments and letting us know about your experience.

-The Wolfsonian-FIU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had a very nice experience at this museum. A beautiful building. Intriguing exhibits of art and design from the late 1800s to the mid 1900s. A wonderful space.

Not a very big museum, probably needing between 1-2 hrs.

Great gift shop with a small cafe.

I think that this museum is a worthwhile stop in Miami Beach. Very interesting and enjoyable.

Thank TravelDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for visiting and taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and found the exhibits to be intriguing. And the building is certainly unique, isn't it? Glad you loved visiting our shop and café as well. We hope you'll come back next time you're in the area, as we mount temporary exhibitions, the next of which will kick off this fall. We really appreciate your comments and letting us know about your experience.

-The Wolfsonian-FIU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Wolfsonian seemed to be built around a theory of thinkism, which, after reading the informative brochure, pretty much states that everything is. That's it. Everything is. Somehow that single concept was the basis for an entire museum. The permanent collection was eclectic but interesting, and the changing exhibits did offer an intriguing perspective on how food production changed during WWII and how the role of women in athletics evolved over the years. The FDR/New Deal room is small and dull, but provides a nice view of the rare books library, which, even though you cannot go inside, is still neat to look at.

2  Thank The_Adamses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for visiting and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you found the permanent collection interesting and were able to see two of our temporary exhibitions, Modern Meals and Women in Motion. Glad that you enjoyed a small peek into our rare books library; it's truly a gem in Miami. We really appreciate your comments and letting us know about your experience.

-The Wolfsonian-FIU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It came with great reviews, but I found the collection underwhelming. There were some obvious stand out pieces and I thought the themes expressed were really interesting but overall there needed to be more content. Reasonable value for your dollar, especially if you need to escape a Miami storm front for an hour.

Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for visiting and taking the time to write a review. We're sorry you were underwhelmed, but glad that you did find some things of interest. You'll be happy to know that we are working over the next couple of years to reinstall our permanent collection so that we can put more content on display. There will be plenty to look at! We also host temporary exhibitions, throughout the year (summer tends to be a time when we change them out) and this fall we will open three new exhibitions featuring Italian design. We really appreciate your comments and letting us know about your experience.

-The Wolfsonian-FIU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolfsonian - Florida International University also viewed

 

Been to The Wolfsonian - Florida International University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing