We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A museum that makes you think”

The Wolfsonian - Florida International University
Ranked #12 of 119 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum, library, and research center that invites exploration of the persuasive power of art and design.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Look, we are museum hounds...and this was a free for all eye opener. Dedicated to labor and what man makes, it is a decorative arts museum with a twist. Interesting objects, juxtaposed in interesting ways, and never boring. This time we as special exhibits on wiener werkstatte postcards, fabulous, and the other on expositions on labor...hard to describe but interesting. Go...it is a real change from art deco architecture and $25 drinks.

Thank Ana-Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum - especially our special exhibitions. So happy to hear how much you enjoyed the change of pace... Come see us again when you are in the area!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 352 of 545 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

we went to visit this museum based on the review... well... I visited the place in less than 10 min and left running outside! It is contemporary, nothing special except if you want to see Leicester sign, a 1950 table chair... It looked like a collection from someone who loves the early century (20th) items.. but coming from Europe, I'm not getting excited by something that is less than 100 years old!! nothing special unless you are one of those people who loves early century collections :o)
Personally, it wasn't my thing.

Thank Pascal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you so much for writing a review and for visiting the museum. Indeed it is a unique collection -- and with a focus on the time period of 1885-1945, we most certainly love early 20th century objects! Changing exhibitions let us explore new ideas our collection can be interpreted and presented, but we're sorry you didn't enjoy your visit.

Thanks again for visiting,
-The Wolfsonian-FIU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After you've soaked up some sun, check this place out for some unexpected artifacts. The museum contains everything from Nazi propaganda posters to "state of the art" appliances from the 1900s - 1950s. Guided tours are given for free each Friday evening. We arrived after a quick shower and change from the beach and were greeted with a happy hour until the tour began. Was a nice change of pace from the Miami Beach cliche. The building's content and history are worth an hour of your time, if not more.

Thank hundredmpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum, and were able to take advantage of free tour and admission on Friday night. So happy to hear how much you enjoyed the change of pace... Come see us again when you are in the area!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

You don't necessarily go to Miami to visit museums, but I enjoyed the Wolfsonian. They have three floors open and you can do the museum in 90 minutes. I really liked the post card exhibit and the permanent collection. There are also free concerts in the lobby fairly often, so call ahead and maybe plan your visit around that. We saw a pianist and violinist who played Debussy and Beethoven and it was a lovely experience.

Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum, especially the Wiener Werkstatte poscards and our permanent collection. And a free concert to top it off - we're glad you had a great time. Come see us again!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I love furnishings of 20's and 30s. This museum gave another perspective on the Art Deco movement. It is the perfect size exhibit for a quiet couple of hours during a busy vacation. Charming shop and cafe. Saw the Weiner Werkstatte post card exhibit. Too bad more reproductions were not available in the gift shop. There were some charming designs.

Thank TwoBlackCatsInMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum, especially the furniture collection and Wiener Werkstatte postcards. Thanks for also mentioning how charming you thought the shop and Pan Pan Café are. Happy to hear it was a great experience for you.

Thanks again!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolfsonian - Florida International University also viewed

 

Been to The Wolfsonian - Florida International University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing