We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wolfsonian - Florida International University
Ranked #12 of 119 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum, library, and research center that invites exploration of the persuasive power of art and design.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just a couple blocks from the beach is this great little museum with a fascinating exhibit on the history of design.

Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We are mounting two new exhibitions in the fall and we'd love to have you come back. You can keep up with all that's going on by visiting us on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest at /wolfsonian. Thanks again for your support and hope to see you very soon!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 381 of 545 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

The museum had a lot of really beautiful Art Nouveau and Art Deco pieces. I was, however, dismayed that of the 7 floors, only 4 were open for exhibit.

Thank rleonard74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, especially the Art Nouveau and Art Deco materials. We know what you mean about wanting to have 7 floors of exhibits (we do, too!). We have on-site collections storage which takes up a considerable amount of space as well as offices for the Wolf staff. This is what allows us to have such great exhibits, so we hope you understand. :)

We are mounting two new exhibitions in the fall and we'd love to have you come back. You can keep up with all that's going on by visiting us on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest at /wolfsonian.

Thanks again for your support and hope to see you very soon!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I love museums and have been to some of the best in the world. This one was rally hyped up in the guide book and being very eccentric and interesting. I found it not to be so. The limited exhibition of AIDS posters was interesting. But overall, I don't think this museum is worth the stop. We did not eat at the cafe so I cannot vouch for there.

Thank designjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed the exhibition of AIDS awareness posters. We received a donation of 3,600 AIDS awareness posters and wish we could exhibit them all! We are mounting two new exhibitions in the fall and we'd love to have you come back. You can keep up with all that's going on by visiting us on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest at /wolfsonian. Thanks again and we hope you will re-visit us!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

A great little collection of beautifull and well presented objects. The museum is a cool, calm and stylish building, a welcome break from the maelstrom of tackiness that is South Beach.

Thank nick-sheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and our exhibitions. Thanks for mentioning our building - we like it, too!

We are mounting two new exhibitions in the fall and we'd love to have you come back. If you'd like, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest at /wolfsonian. We have many exciting things coming up!!

Thanks again for your support and hope to see you very soon!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Collins Avenue in South Beach is a cacophony of t-shirt shops, gazillion tourists, segways, honking cars, little free parking, Yikes. Yet, in the midst of this is The Wolfsonian–Florida International University a museum, library, and research center . According to its Web site the museum "uses objects to illustrate the persuasive power of art and design, to explore what it means to be modern, and to tell the story of social, historical, and technological changes that have transformed our world. The collections comprise approximately 120,000 objects from the period of 1885 to 1945—the height of the Industrial Revolution to the end of the Second World War—in a variety of media including furniture; industrial-design objects; works in glass, ceramics, and metal; rare books; periodicals; ephemera; works on paper; paintings; textiles; and medals." The exhibits are well-curated although the vast number of items in the collection are not on display unfortunately. The gift show is glitzy and moderne and expensive. Entry tickets are reasonable. The building has been lovingly restored and sits right in the middle of Miami's Deco District. Well worth a visit.

Thank cjaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and our exhibitions and that it was a relaxing and enlightening break from the somtimes hectic environment we are surrounded by (but love). Thanks for mentioning our building. We're glad you like it - we do, too!

We are mounting two new exhibitions in the fall and we'd love to have you come back. If you'd like, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest at /wolfsonian. We have many exciting things coming up!!

Thanks again for your support and hope to see you very soon!

-The Wolfsonian-FIU staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wolfsonian - Florida International University also viewed

 

Been to The Wolfsonian - Florida International University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing