We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Art Deco Walks with Marty and Paula” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Deco Walks

Art Deco Walks
Ranked #2 of 117 Tours in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take the # 1 rated walking tour in South Beach! Marty & Paula are both accredited guides in the Art Deco Historic District & offer a variety of Art Deco walking & bike tours throughout the Miami Beach area. We take you on a journey of discovery as we show you the hidden secrets and gems that our wonderful slice of paradise has to offer. Tours are personalized to give you the ultimate historic, architectural and urban experience -- as well all the back stories from Carl ("Mr. Miami Beach") to Miami Vice and Versace. Marty & Paula are happy to meet you at your South Beach hotel to begin your tour, and will work with any special concerns, such as going to/coming from a cruise ship, so that you can experience first hand what makes Miami Beach the Art Deco capital of the world.
Paris, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Art Deco Walks with Marty and Paula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A great way to round out a week's vacation in South Beach was an art deco walk with Paula. She is a real expert on the architecture and brought the history of the area alive. I enjoyed every moment of the tour, and recommend her highly for a great way to spent some time walking in South Beach. It was fun and informative!

Visited November 2012
Thank Sheree143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Can't miss tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a pleasure! Paula was a great guide - friendly, knowledgeable and articulate. Went with my girlfriend and her mother and we all enjoyed it immensely. Great architecture and fascinating history of the area. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited October 2012
Thank glengarry224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
“Everything you always wanted to know about art deco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

For our recent visit to Miami Beach, we were fortunate to find Art Deco Walks on the internet. Our tour with Paula was very informative. She knew so much about the architecture and also shared many stories of the people who lived in the buildings. We learned so much about art deco and Miami Beach. We highly recommend this tour!

Visited November 2012
Thank jaxjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great review of Art Deco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first trip to Miami Beach, and I wanted to get a feel for the history of the area. Marty was an excellent guide to the buildings and history of South Beach, with an emphasis on the Art Deco style. He took care to point out specific details of what defines art deco, mid-century and Mediterranean revival. He even pointed out areas and restaurants that we could do on our own to flesh out the rest of our South Beach experience, and then sent a follow up email with details we had requested on our tour. Overall, an excellent story teller! I highly recommend making time for a tour with Marty.

Visited September 2012
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very educational!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our first time to visit and we brought our two sons one of which is a 2nd year architect student at the Univ of Texas. Marty really brought the history of the area to life and we really learned a lot about the different types of architecture. My son took a lot of pictures and will have a deeper appreciation of this type of architecture when he studies it at school. Marty tailored the tour to our interests and recommended a wonderful place for lunch and beach time! We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in learning more about the area!

Visited July 2012
1 Thank Schneider_4_034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Owner at Art Deco Walks, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your praise and for the photos you submitted. It was my pleasure to tour your family, but especially your son the architect-to-be, through the wonders of Miami Beach architecture, from art deco, to Mediterranean revival, with a little bit of mid-century architecture (called MiMo here) tossed in to keep our walk interesting. Your son knew that this was an architectural walking tour, but he had to idea that we would begin with a 21st century show-stopper -- the stunning Frank Gehry New World Symphony building (and we even got to go inside briefly) --- and end with the piece de resistance, the Herzog & de Meuron parking 'installation' and to take in the drop-dead gorgeous views of alll of Miami Beach from the top floor. I hope your son will be able to turn this tour into a college paper (or 2!) with ease, and he'll get an A+ for sure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Deco Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing