We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very educational!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Deco Walks

Art Deco Walks
Ranked #2 of 122 Tours in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take the # 1 rated walking tour in South Beach! Marty & Paula are both accredited guides in the Art Deco Historic District & offer a variety of Art Deco walking & bike tours throughout the Miami Beach area. We take you on a journey of discovery as we show you the hidden secrets and gems that our wonderful slice of paradise has to offer. Tours are personalized to give you the ultimate historic, architectural and urban experience -- as well all the back stories from Carl ("Mr. Miami Beach") to Miami Vice and Versace. Marty & Paula are happy to meet you at your South Beach hotel to begin your tour, and will work with any special concerns, such as going to/coming from a cruise ship, so that you can experience first hand what makes Miami Beach the Art Deco capital of the world.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very educational!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our first time to visit and we brought our two sons one of which is a 2nd year architect student at the Univ of Texas. Marty really brought the history of the area to life and we really learned a lot about the different types of architecture. My son took a lot of pictures and will have a deeper appreciation of this type of architecture when he studies it at school. Marty tailored the tour to our interests and recommended a wonderful place for lunch and beach time! We would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in learning more about the area!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Schneider_4_034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Owner at Art Deco Walks, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your praise and for the photos you submitted. It was my pleasure to tour your family, but especially your son the architect-to-be, through the wonders of Miami Beach architecture, from art deco, to Mediterranean revival, with a little bit of mid-century architecture (called MiMo here) tossed in to keep our walk interesting. Your son knew that this was an architectural walking tour, but he had to idea that we would begin with a 21st century show-stopper -- the stunning Frank Gehry New World Symphony building (and we even got to go inside briefly) --- and end with the piece de resistance, the Herzog & de Meuron parking 'installation' and to take in the drop-dead gorgeous views of alll of Miami Beach from the top floor. I hope your son will be able to turn this tour into a college paper (or 2!) with ease, and he'll get an A+ for sure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    10
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Marty was a great expert and a joy to listen to during our walk of Ocean Dr. My wife and I are both designers and appreciate beautiful architecture. When we visit places we do not really like playing the "toursit" but this was a great experience. We loved seeing the art deco buildings but wanted to learn more about the back story of the various structures. Marty was an excellent guide and I would suggest anyone that is visiting South Beach to book one of his tours.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rensnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyandPaula, Owner at Art Deco Walks, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
It's always an honor to receive high praise from our clients, and a special honor when those folks are professional designers, such as yourselves, or architects, architectural students & others knowledgeable about 20th century design. Paula and I believe passionately in the very special story to be told here in South Beach, and we love to tell it to all our visitors - local, national & international. Moreover, this couple was on their honeymoon and chose Art Deco Walks - truly a double compliment to be part of that special time in their lives. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attentive and Caring Tour Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed Marty and his tour. We have taken walking tours in other cities but this was one of our best. We loved the fact that he emailed us the highlights of the tour afterwards! We will be sure to take more of his tours next time we are in South Beach!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnitandet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyandPaula, Owner at Art Deco Walks, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I'm so glad when "locals" learn what they may not have previously known from one of our tours -and even happier when they want to come back for another tour! And since there's a good bit of information shared during our tours, we always follow up with e-mailed 'highlights' to help jog memories AFTER the tour. BEFORE the tour, we are also happy to provide restaurant recommendations, steer clients towards the right hotel (and meet you there for your tour), and even recommend a book or two to read up on before arriving in South Beach. DURING the tour, we'll help you create as many Kodak moments as you like! All of these client touches are designed to make your visit to the Art Deco capitol of the world as enjoyable and as rich an experience as possible, and illustrate why Art Deco Walks with Marty and Paula was awarded Trip Advisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Awesome" is the only word needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was my husbands and my first visit to South Beach. I found Marty's tour based on trip advisor's recommendations. What a great experience we both had. You can visit South Beach and enjoy the beach, shopping, and night life but you are missing a huge portion of the history of this great city if you don't take this tour (he even meets you at your hotel). We took the Collins Avenue Hotel tour. Marty has a way of creating a great fun atmosphere while gaining some VERY interesting information. From celebrity gossip to learning about the architecture this is a must see!! Marty even does some photos of you at spots I didn't even know were there and definitely enhanced the photo memories. Another BIG plus is Marty will give you suggestions on where to eat - TAKE his advice -His picks are the best - ours not so much! A big Thank you to Marty and when we return to SoBe we will definitely look him up to take one of his alternate tours!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BucketList1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent tour guide. Fascinating Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

A year and a half ago, we took the Miami Design Preservation League’s art deco walking tour and went home with a true interest in all things art deco. On that tour, Marty was our guide, so I was excited to see that he offered his own Art Deco tours of Miami Beach. You would be hard-pressed to find a more fascinating, passionate, and polite tour guide than Marty. After finding Marty and Pauline’s website on the internet, I contacted them with the dates that we would be visiting. Both Pauline and Marty replied to our inquiry that evening, and Marty agreed to be our guide for a tour of Lincoln Road. Via email several days before the tour, Marty set up our meeting place and time. Like a true pro Marty was there early for our tour. A day earlier, my fiancée and I had a difficult day in Miami Beach that included a rough stay at a hotel, a deflated bike tire, strong thunder storms, and a museum closing on us early. When we met Marty for our tour, we were down on our vacation luck. Fortunately, we couldn’t have picked a better tour to end our vacation woes. Marty’s knowledge of Miami Beach’s unique architecture is clearly vast, but his true talent as a guide is his ability to gear the tour towards his audience. On our first tour through the MDPL, Marty gave us an intro to art deco for the layman. This time around—after asking us what we remembered from our previous tour—Marty was able to adjust our tour to fit our baseline knowledge of art deco. By doing this, Marty was able to give us more information and cover more ground this time around. During the tour, Marty pointed out and explained features of art deco buildings, Mimo buildings, and Mediterranean revivals. By looking at hotels, businesses, and office buildings from the outside and inside, Marty was able to paint a really fascinating and fun picture of Miami Beach. During the tour, Marty not only pointed out the architecture, he pointed out birds, trees, and historical plaques that make Miami Beach unique. This guy is great. He really loves his job, and it is evident when you are on the tour. My fiancée and I got a kick out of Marty’s ability to get us into office lobbies and hotel lounges after hours simply by “taking a peek” and pointing to his tour guide badge. Marty goes above and beyond to make sure your tour and stay in Miami beach is memorable. Before the tour, I asked Marty for restaurant suggestions, and he happily pointed us towards some great local places. Likewise, after the tour, Marty sent us a follow up email with information we covered on the tour and even youtube links to videos that had to do with what we saw. From start to finish, Marty was excellent. I couldn’t suggest a better tour value in the Miami area. 5 stars.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank stanzeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Deco Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing