We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was good but poor service spoiled everything.”

Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 1,087 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Havana 1957, real and authentic Cuban flavors located at one of the most popular corners in South Beach; Espanola Way.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“The food was good but poor service spoiled everything.”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were staying nearby and had decided ahead of time we wanted Cuban food. We hadn’t made a reservation but were seated outside pretty quickly, when it looked like it would rain again, we asked about being moved inside before we were served and they said it was full. So we sat outside in the rain, not so bad since it didn’t start until we were almost done. The watermelon mojito was horrible but the combo appetizers were good but they just dumped the food on the table and took off like a bolt, so we didn’t know what we were eating. The main course of Pork was very good and the Cuban sandwiches were tasty and huge. The value for the money was good but the servers were surly and never stuck around, you had to go out of your way to flag one down which was annoying and put a dark cloud over the meal….no pun intended. When it started to pour, the umbrellas seemed like they would blow over on top of us, we had to stand there and hold them up while the servers just watched us from the door, no help, no reassurance they wouldn’t blow over, nothing. I have to say, I’m sure there are plenty of great Cuban restaurants around, no need to visit this one that acts like they are doing YOU a favor. Good food but No thanks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boo2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliesteban M, General Manager at Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello:

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're sorry to hear about your experience at our location. As for the service inconvenience we apologize and promise to look closely into it. Please, we would like to contact you and try to make it up to you somehow .Your opinion is very important to us and it helps us improve our service. Please contact us at social@havana1957.com and we'll get back to you ASAP.

Thanks


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,438
    1,144
    407
    117
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broad Brook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real Cuban Cuisine”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

As we stayed overnight in Miami before leaving the next day on a cruise, my fiancee and I along with friends decided to try this place out. My fiancee and I have had Cuban food before, but this place was amazing! I highly recommend trying anything, but the pork is where it's at. The restaurant is located on the corner of the beginning of Espanola Way, and we had a great table outside. The appetizers were great too. Try the sample app and you'll get a little bit of everything! But be sure to make reservations, there were eight of us and I'm glad we did. We will definitely be going back when we visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alichatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliesteban M, General Manager at Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello:

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to hear you and your friends loved our food and ambiance. We look forward to have you back again with us whenever you return to South Beach.

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Little Havana”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

First of all, the hostess was pleasant and greeted us with a smile. There was a 30 minute wait but when I mentioned we ate breakfast here and were also coming for dinner , she said to take a little walk and come see her in 10-15 minutes. When we returned she remembered my name(Kevin sounds so exotic with a Cuban accent) and sat us immediately. Our waiter, Romel, (The desert fox) was engaging and very knowledgeable about the food and drink. We basically let him chose our apps., main course, and of course, the rum. I started with an 8 year old rum and finished with a 12 year old rum.. The food was incredible. We had the slow roasted chicken and the slow roasted pork. Also, The combo app. was a little taste of everything. We thoroughly enjoyed every second of dinner. Get a table under the stars and ask for Romel and it will be a dining experience you will never forget. P.S. Breakfast ,also, was very, very good

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevcampo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliesteban M, General Manager at Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello:

Thank you. It’s great to hear from costumers like you, and get such great comments. We hope you choose us again and to have you back very soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Cuban food!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We loved our dinner here. First off, if you're going on a weekend night, make reservations! We did, and we still had to wait, as it's a smallish place with most of the seating outside.

Our waiter said they have the best mojitos in Miami, and we agree...my pineapple mojito was delicious. Appetizers were great, my picadillo was heavenly, teen daughter's ropa vieja was "awesome," and husbands Cuban sandwich was "amazing." We were so full, we had no room for dessert.

Loved the festive atmosphere, enhanced by Latin music. We will certainly return to Havana 1957 when we are back in Miami Beach.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phyllis1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliesteban M, General Manager at Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello:

We are very happy to hear from you and glad you gave us a try. We hope you choose us again when you come to South Beach.

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cuban cuisine”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a great Saturday night here and enjoyed some house specialties on both the food and drink front. We took a table outside and the place was buzzing. The starter sample plate gave us a good intro to Cuban food and they have 120 rums on the menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliesteban M, General Manager at Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello:

Thanks for reviewing us. We're glad to hear you had such great time and enjoyed our food and service. We hope to have you back with us again very soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way also viewed

 

Been to Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing