We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, good location”

Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 1,107 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Welcome to Havana 1957, real and authentic Cuban flavors located at one of the most popular corners in South Beach; Espanola Way.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Cozy spot in Espanola Way. Great food and service. Plantain chips were served on the house. We tried the sangria and it was refreshing and had a good taste. I ordered shrimo scampi, rice and sweet plantains; it tasted delicious. I would visit them again if ever in sobe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank olas_y_arena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea P, Public Relations Manager at Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello Olas: Thank you so much for your opinion. We are very happy to hear you gave us a chance and glad you enjoyed our cuisine.We look forward to have you again whenever you return to South beach.

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,227 - 2,231 of 3,438 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

A group of us were in South Beach for 2 nights, and wanted to have an authentic Cuban sandwith, so we tried Havana 1957. When we arrived, they had a chalkboard sign, showing mojitos were $6.95. When we placed our order, my husband asked the waitress if they were still on special, and she said, "yes". In the beginning, the waitress was very nice, and explained some of the meals on the menu, but when we all ordered a Cuban sandwich, she said "you can get them anywhere", and wanted us to order a more expensive meal. After we placed the order, she was extremely rude, the entire time we were seated. When we received our bill, we were charged $9.95 for the mojito, so we questioned the waitress. She asked the manager, and told us that the special was only good Monday - Friday. We were there on a Sunday, the the sign was on the sidewalk when we arrived, with no timeframe on it. They would not change the price. One of the people dining with us said he noticed them removing the sign, after we ordered. Between the eight of us, we figured, we spent over two hundred dollars for sandwiches, which only come with potato sticks out of a can, not french fries, and drinks. I would not recommend this place to anyone. They're rude and lie about their prices. You can certainly get Cuban food in other areas of Miami, and I'm sure you'll be treated better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caribbeantraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea P, Public Relations Manager at Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello caribbeantraveler91: Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're sorry to hear your experience did not live up to your and your expectations. Please Contact us at customers@havana1957.com and we'll make sure to look into this and hopefully somehow compensate you .Your feedback helps us learn to detect where we should improve in order to provide a better service .

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a late lunch here. Sangrai was excellent - Cubano sandwich was so so. Fried plantains and banana chips were excellent appetizers. Overall a very good location on Washington to people watch while you have lunch

Thank HemantD308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea P, Public Relations Manager at Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello HemantD308: Thanks for reviewing us. Your opinion is very important to us, that's why your remarks will be taken into consideration. We hope to have you back with us again very soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tucked between Collins and Washington street (2 blocks from beach on 14th street), is a gem of a Cuban restaurant.

My wife and I got some Cuban beers, some crispy fried Sweet potatoes (that melt in your mouth!) and some Cubano pork sandwiches on excellent fresh bread.

Prices were reasonable and the food was delicious. We would certainly go back!

Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea P, Public Relations Manager at Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello Frank G: Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really hope to enjoy your visit once again very soon, so you'll be able to try our many other delicious choices.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for something authentic and charming and Havana 1957 fit the bill on both fronts. The location on Esmeralda Way is romantic and close to everything, the decor gives you a feel of old Havana, and the food was delicious. Our waiter was super and gave us recommendations for our tastes that were spot-on. I had the special chicken and rice and my husband had a shrimp dish. Both were good and reasonably priced. As a side note, we noticed that all the South Beach restaurants are including the tip now. We tipped extra for our great service. It is surprising to have the tip included even for 2 people, but we saw it everywhere this trip. Interesting...

Thank Jakrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea P, Public Relations Manager at Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello Jakrusty: Thanks for reviewing us. Its very uplifting to read about your wonderful experience and to know you really enjoyed our food and vintage decor so much. We look forward to have you back again very soon when you come back to Espanola Way.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Havana 1957 Cuban Cuisine Espanola Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing