We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Good Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red South Beach Hotel
Ranked #65 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has no valet parking! Be prepared to drop your car at the 17th street parking garage and take a $10 taxi ride back to the hotel. Staff are congenial but not overly friendly except for the 'Welcome Team'. We stayed on the 7th floor and the drone of the air conditioning was akin to traveling on a cruise ship. The hallway decor was similar to an old brothel but the room was clean and bright. Good for a short stay but the lack of parking a big negative. Only one ice machine in the lobby and additional fees for pool towels and the like was disappointing. Would I stay again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fudge237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
There are newer reviews for Red South Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Red South Beach Hotel from 31st May - 7th June 2013. On arrival we were assisted with our cases by the doorman. Booking in was very quick and efficiently carried out by Charlie who along with all the other reception, restaurant, bar, cleaning and maintenance staff were all extremely friendly, enthusiastic and helpful throughout our stay. The manager was also regularly out and about speaking to guests. I could list a number of members of staff but that would be a little unfair on others whose names we didn't note.
Our room (318) was more than adequate in size with a huge bed. The colours within the hotel are predominantly red and white but neither are overbearing and yes this hotel is a little different from the norm but that is what makes it unique in a positive way.
The food within the restaurant was excellent.
As previous subscribers have written the hotel is at the quieter end of South Beach but still very much within easy walking distance. It is also only two minutes across the road from the beach.
We were more than satisfied with our stay and we had no cause for complaint or concern.
If we were going back to Miami, we would definitely go back and we would also recommend to friends.
If there was to be a down point it is the on going building work in the vicinity of the hotel and that is not the fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: As mentioned we were allocated room 318 and we were more than happy with that. It has a super king s...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piper17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days on the way home after a business trip in Orlando. Certainly has its own interesting style which hits you as you walk in! Always cold water available in reception and free towels with the room towel card.

Room was spacious and clean, funny little kitchenette with microwave in ours if you fancy eating in (we didn't!). Great little bar with a complimentary different red coloured cocktail every evening. Great bar food, definitely recommend the Club Sandwich! Pool is fine although right on the road opposite the a building site of a new hotel so very noisy! We preferred the 2min walk across the road to the beach.

Quieter area of South Beach so avoided being pestered by sun lounger and parasail people. About 20min walk down the boardwalk to Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 314ChrisB314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Although small, its a good choice when staying in South Beach mostly because everything is in walking distance. The hotel is not luxurious. It's simple. The decor is really something - everything is bright red, specially the rooms. The rooms were small but very clean.

The service is average. Checking in takes time. Checking out takes even longer. The hotel has a LOT of people and few people to attend. The staff is nice and friendly - just overworked. Ordering from the hotel restaurant is somewhat of an ordeal.

I would still go again though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller10000000781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Red South Beach Hotel is at a secret corner near the heart of the city. We are a boutique hotel with friendly, upbeat, service. Our accommodations are pristine with vibrant touches. We will communicate with our restaurant manager your concerns about ordering. We thank you for recognizing our team members. We will address your concern about having enough personnel during peak time. We hope to welcome you back to Red South Beach soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned from Red South beach.
-really liked the look of the hotel.
-Great staff, helpful and polite.
-Clean hotel, public areas, pool and rooms. Yes, most of the furniture is refurbished as mentioned in other reviews, but all in quite good upkeep, and done creatively.
-nice pool area, small but nice.
-we had a standard king room, not a large room but definitely had adequate space... Bathroom was tight for space, just shower, no bath..
-bring earplugs for sleeping, it is a noisy hotel (not from craziness, but just from road traffic and no sound proofing.)
-air conditioning.. Can't adjust temp lower.. lowest is 72... Would have liked to put it down a little at night.. But it wasn't too bad (though, we didn't have afternoon sun on our windows, might have been hot if we did?)
-it is a about a $6-7 cab ride to get to the heart of south beach, it's walkable, with good shoes (and safe.)
-not many street restaurants directly around.. But the riu across the street has a great breakfast buffet for $14.
-it's close to a great , quiet stretch of beach...
-really liked this hotel and would recommend it, especially if you want to be in south beach but not directly in the central area (which can be slightly crazy.)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmtree73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to provide us your review. We are glad that you had a great time at Red. We have a great team that really enjoys what they do. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel amenities. We offer relaxing and welcoming accommodations for our guest to escape. We do our best to minimize the outside noise, although hard in such a bustling city. We hope to welcome you back to the Magic City soon. If I may be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me: Miriam@redsouthbeach.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice when staying in South Beach. Everything is in walking distance. I love the decor with my favorite color RED! The staff is very friendly and accommodating. A great way to save a little when in South Beach is to walk to a grocery store or the like for some basics (water, snacks, liquor, etc). I would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I just recently went on vacation with my girlfriend and stayed at the Red South Beach Hotel. Overall, we had a good time. This is the best and most accurate description of how our vacation went:

Before our travel, we called the hotel and talked with Charlie. She was great and answered all of our questions. (i.e.- How much would it be to take a taxi from MIA to the hotel? and What kind of transportation is there in the area if he don't rent a car?) We took a taxi from MIA to the hotel ($33 including toll).

We arrived at the hotel at 1pm and were greeted by a very friendly staff. We were early for check in (3pm) so they allowed us to check our luggage, get changed, and go enjoy the beach while we waited for our room to be ready. The beach was a block away and there was A LOT of construction going on outside at surrounding buildings. At 2:30pm I got a call from the hotel saying our room was ready early. Our room was clean and thank god we were located in the back of the hotel so we couldn't hear much of the construction going on. The walls were a bit thin and not a lot of lighting in the bathroom. In addition, there was no fan in the bathroom so If you take a hot shower your room might get a little humid. The air blowing in the room was comfortable but would not go below 71-72 degrees. Both of us slept just fine each night and felt clean and comfortable. There was a safe and a mini fridge in our room which was convenient.

The pool, bar and restaurant was great. I highly recommend eating at the restaurant, the food was a bit pricey but totally worth it. We both ordered burgers (one of the best burgers I've ever had) and got mozz sticks and a few drinks. The evening bartender "Johnny" was awesome and friendly. He even took my girlfriend's advice about a drink mix and made it the "Cocktail Special of the Day" the next day. Each day from 5pm-7pm they offer a free drink to the people staying at the hotel, which was great and something we took full advantage of.

Come departure day we checked out at noon, but they again allowed us to keep our bags at the hotel while we roam around downtown until 3pm without paying extra (Thank you guys so much!). When it was time to go, they called a taxi for us and said goodbye with a handshake and a "have a safe flight".

Except for the weather not being the best and all the construction going on, this place was great. The staff (especially Nury) definitely made sure you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again guys!

~ "Tough Mudder Guy"

Room Tip: The rooms in the back on the hotel are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Circa 39 Hotel
#34 of 210 in Miami Beach
942 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#70 of 210 in Miami Beach
810 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chesterfield Hotel
#77 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,278 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 210 in Miami Beach
4,684 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red South Beach Hotel

Address: 3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $102 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only half a block from the white sands and clear blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean, the chic Red South Beach Hotel offers guests the perfect setting to escape, entertain and rejuvenate while discovering Miami, Florida. Conveniently situated at the gateway to South Beach, the newly renovated boutique hotel artfully blends baroque elements with contemporary finishes to evoke a sense of stylish beauty and sophistication. Guests can spend the day basking in the warm Miami Beach weather at the outdoor swimming pool while enjoying delicious food and beverages from Barok, the on-site bar and restaurant. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's beach chairs and towels, daily happy hour, high speed Wi-Fi, loanable laptops, fitness room and concierge services. Offering three room types to suit traveler needs, the Red South Beach Hotel features welcoming personal service, a contemporary ambiance, brand-new furniture, comfortable pillow-top mattresses and eco-friendly toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habana Libre Beach Hotel
Habana Libre Beach Miami
Habana Libre Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing