We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend for an affordable place in MIA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red South Beach Hotel
Ranked #90 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Recommend for an affordable place in MIA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a great stay at Red. It exceeded our expectations for what we paid ($249./night) during one of Miami’s busiest weeks due to the Ultra Music Festival and the Winter Music Conference. As you can see from traveler photos, the Red lobby has some character, albeit a quirky design element and the rooms are basic and small. However, many hotels in Miami have some type of quirky design element or tribute to Art Deco and are not nearly as put together as Red. In fact, many Miami hotels in this price range are huge disappointments and not what they seem; dirty, tacky or run down i.e. broken bath tiles etc. Red is well kept compared to many other small boutique hotels in this price range.

The staff was great. Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. They made us feel like any request was ‘no problem.’ The pool area and bar is lovely. The beach across the street, one block away was large and Red provides decent beach towels. They say they have 'beach chairs' but they are the fold out upright camping/sports event types, nothing comfortable for beach reclining. There are umbrellas and loungers to rent for $13. and & 11. per person respectively ($ its Miami!)

There are a few restaurants nearby, nothing too exciting, but there is a small supermarket which has ample basics, a Wallgreens on 23rd and a liquor store within one block. If you don’t mind walking to the South Beach Ocean Drive area for added entertainment, Miami has the best boardwalk and it takes 15-20 min to walk to the busier part of town. We really enjoyed staying away from the busy area for a more relaxed vibe. We've had a few bad experiences staying in Miami with music blaring from hotels or and shoddy accommodations. The Red tries hard to be a chic hotel. The rooms are decent (again for price and for Miami standards). You'll pay the same or $100. more per night downtown for something not nearly as well kept or doesn’t have a nice pool. We stayed at the Claridge on 35th St. a few years ago which was another decent inexpensive hotel but liked the vibe better at Red. Red has a nice pool, and being five blocks closer to the downtown area makes a difference when walking.

PROS & CONS: We were very fortunate to be placed in a two room suite, #501 despite our reserv. for a petite queen. Suites have a kitchen area and give you a feeling of space. I recommend for the extra money if you are concerned about the small size of the bedrooms. Basically, we got lucky with the room size. Most regular rooms are quite small as you can see in the photos.

The red carpet in the living room was stained, the furniture is scuffed here and there and the baths are small but nice; recently renovated and modern. The bed was very comfortable the pillows full but some were lumpy. The towels were clean and new. There was a lot of sunlight coming in because the windows are large. They have the thick block-out plastic curtains behind the sheer panels so you won’t be awoken by the sun. Our room seemed to be noise proof. We could not hear our neighbors which is a benefit of being in an older renovated concrete building.
There was plenty of room in the closets. We had a coffee maker, good regular sized blow dryer, good size mini-fridge, and stove top with a set of dishes. There were two TV’s, one in the bedroom and one in the living area. The living area had a modern sofa that flattened into a twin bed. The air cond. worked great. The fitness center is just a regular hotel room with three old machines, not adequate for the fitness-minded.

As other reviews mentioned, there is major construction going on daily except Sat.- Sun. due to a huge condo complex going up across the street. The noise is very very loud, jackhammers and all and you really can’t sit by the pool and tune it out with headphones. We went to the beach instead. The rooms around the pool on the first floor have to deal with this so I wouldn’t recommend a pool view which faces front. The construction will probably will be going on for another 6 mo. - year (my review date is 3/25/13). Our room #501 was facing the back so we couldn’t hear it though.

Overall the photos are accurate as are most of the reviews for the Red. The restaurant and bar in the hotel are nice but a bit pricey for breakfast or lunch if you are concerned with cost. They offered us a happy hour drink for free and have ice water with oranges at the front desk which was nice after sitting on the beach.

If you are familiar with what you get in Miami, if you don’t mind a hotel right on the beach or on Ocean Drive, if you can handle minor imperfections (scuffs in furniture, dirty carpet, older elevators), Red can be quite a good deal and a pleasant stay.
If you are looking for an upscale or chain hotel experience and want that feeling of everything “just right”, looks and works perfectly i.e. The W Hotel, Wyndham…Red might not be for you.

Good boutique hotel where what you see is what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Housetafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    670
    322
    115
    98
See reviews for
311
707
73
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

i'm from SC , and this was my first time visiting Miami..I really enjoyed my stay and also the front desk help Blair was amazing. Such a great help and very friendly!! i recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to miami beach!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, not bad a location about 20min walk to the main area of South Beach. Rooms are very small however the photos on the hotel website do reflect this. Decor very funky and modern I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cashola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hi,

My wife and I were in miami for a friends wedding. We booked our trip last minute so there weren't that many hotels to choose from. We came along this hotel. Let me start by saying we are in our early thirties and been to South Beach a few times and stayed at the Palms and W hotel the last two time (Both hotels were sold out for our trip.) When we checked in there was no bellman to take our luggage in, which was ok i just brought it up the stairs myself. The lobby was ok it was modern but you can tell it was very cheap decorations, they were trying to hard. Charlie at the front desk was very nice and helpful. We got into our room right away which was right across from a hotel that was remodeling so we switched to a quieter room. The rooms were ok with very small TV's and the beds were comfortable, bathrooms very small you can only fit one person in at a time. The shades in the room for the windows looked like they went through a lawnmower they were so ripped up. The elevators in the hotel were so old they sounded like they were going to come crashing down. And every time I needed a taxi cab to go somewhere there was no one to be found, we had to walk across the street to the palms so they could get us one. And when they were there they were usually on there phone texting someone and when i said excuse me they would put it in there pocket. And I highly recommend new shirts for the employees all the logos on the back were fading looked very cheap. And the smell in the hallways was very musty and made it hard to breathe. When we were checking out the employee who brought out our luggage gave us our bags plus someone else's. I had to remind him twice that it wasn't ours because he was walking away from us in the main lobby. I don't care how cheap the room rate is to me its worth staying at a hotel thats nicer and has a staff thats more helpful for there guests.

Thanks David

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

it is a great place if you are on a budget. the front desk receptionist was nice she helped us hail a cab and get a reservation at gotham steak house. she was very insightful on what places to visit in terms of nightlight. the room was adequate we had a 2 double bed pool view room. we were 5 women and the room suited us fine. we had a decent walk in closet, fridge, safe and restroom with a line in the shower which was great for drying things privately. the room was clean and we did not have any issues while staying here except for with the elevators but that is hardly an issue. they take FOREVER to come up when you hail them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s1ipperyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in late January 2013 before a cruise. The location was good for us, as we are not nightlife folks, and we enjoy more walking on the beach/boardwalk than shopping/clubbing at the busier south beach area.
The poor rating is because of the strong cigarette smell in our room (ash trays on night stands although everywhere there are signs "no smoking"), noise from the neighbouring rooms (ended up sleeping with ear plugs on) and the thick, dirty wall-to-wall carpet we had in our room. It could look great (gorgeous red colour!), but let's face it, wall-to-wall carpets do not suit for hotel rooms. They are so hard to keep clean. We didn't want to walk on bare feet in our room.
So if you have dust allergies, asthma or just get annoyed by smell of cigarettes, choose another place.
As this was not the first experience in Miami area hotels with smelly rooms and poor sound proofing, we did not even bother to complain about the carpet.
The staff was professional and very helpful, no complaints there.
The continental breakfast that was included in our reservation was a nice starter for the morning. I would go for proper breakfast/brunch somewhere else, though.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back yard are quieter. Rooms facing the pool also face the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHotel, Front Office Manager at Red South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanking for sharing your experience with us. We have recently made the hotel a non smoking property. We apologize if you did not receive an odor free room. Our dedicated team is here to resolve these hiccups and make your stay memorable. We will look into what we can do to rectify the noise the adjoining rooms. Thank you for recognizing our team members for their professional and warm service. Our continental breakfast also has the option of 50 % off the la carte menu. We hope to see you back soon at Red South Beach. If you need any assistance with your future reservation do not hesitate to contact me: Miriam@redsouthbeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at Red for 4 nights in mid February 2013. Our stay was pretty much what you would expect for the price we paid. It is your average 3 star hotel, comfortable, but not extravagant. The pool was very nice, lobby and restaurant were very nice. Guests get a free continental or a discounted breakfast from the restaurant menu(nice touch).
The staff was somewhat indifferent ( Charlie was very nice, and helpful )
Overall the hotel was clean and well maintained, we did have trouble with our air conditioning though, we were moved into another room after 2 nights. Not a bad place for the nightly rate we paid

Room Tip: I would stay away from their petite queen room, its tiny, but reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daddenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Circa 39 Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#86 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,956 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#102 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
L Hotel Miami Beach
#109 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,701 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#35 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red South Beach Hotel

Property: Red South Beach Hotel
Address: 3010 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red South Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only half a block from the white sands and clear blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean, the chic Red South Beach Hotel offers guests the perfect setting to escape, entertain and rejuvenate while discovering Miami, Florida. Conveniently situated at the gateway to South Beach, the newly renovated boutique hotel artfully blends baroque elements with contemporary finishes to evoke a sense of stylish beauty and sophistication. Guests can spend the day basking in the warm Miami Beach weather at the outdoor swimming pool while enjoying delicious food and beverages from Barok, the on-site bar and restaurant. Guests can also take advantage of the hotel's beach chairs and towels, daily happy hour, high speed Wi-Fi, loanable laptops, fitness room and concierge services. Offering three room types to suit traveler needs, the Red South Beach Hotel features welcoming personal service, a contemporary ambiance, brand-new furniture, comfortable pillow-top mattresses and eco-friendly toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Red South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habana Libre Beach Hotel
Habana Libre Beach Miami
Habana Libre Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing