We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential not fulfilled” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chelsea to your Saves list
Hotel Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
South Daytona, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Potential not fulfilled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is in a good location although parking is a couple of blocks away. Large room and bathroom with a good sized bed.
The bar is expensive and hotel is noisy and frequented by hookers. Staff on desk weren't interested in listening to our complaints and I have subsequently had an additional charge despite not using anything from room mini bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsf60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Good Day Mrsf60,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your honest feedback! Hotel Chelsea is located in an excellent location, just blocks from everything you will want to be apart of! Our staff is always assisting guests in making sure their time with us, is nothing but satisfying! It's unfortunate to read that is not what you experienced. You can contact me directly in regards to the charge on your card. I will make sure to take care of it!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    313
    159
    85
    119
See reviews for
95
317
76
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed after asking for our money back at "Century Hotel" Great staff.. We told them put situation and that we had checked out the pervious hotel because of horrible bugs and dirtiness and they immediately when someone checkout had a room available for us. Very appreciated by the staff and I will be coming back

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danygurl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Good Evening danygurl07,

There is nothing that we love to read more then lovely 5 star feedback! We are terribly sorry that you had such a negative experience in your previous hotel! I am very glad that we were able to provide you with the opposite! We would definitely love to have you stay with us again when visiting South Beach!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

It is a good hotel, clean and spacious rooms, everyday fresh towels. Very nice staff, we arrived early to the hotel and they allowed us to leave our luggage so we could begin enjoying our vacation in SB. This hotel is close to the beach , restaurants and stores. I can recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Hello there EvaBoh,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback, regarding your recent stay! We are content to know that you had such a great time here! We allow all guests to drop their luggage off, so they can start to enjoy their vacation! We are located in the heart of South Beach, around all the action. Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Conveniently located hotel, only 2 blocks away from the beach. The gift shops are right across the street and there are plenty of affordable restaurants as well as a convenience store in the vicinity. The room was spacious and had a cute charm to it, although it was a little dim for my taste. Amenities included complimentary beach towels, free wi-fi, and a happy hour (1 hr of free cocktails w/ vodka, gin or rum) - BIG PLUS!!! We stayed at the patio during happy hour which was quite delightful and relaxing. Valet parking was $32, a bit pricey but that was expected. Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I would definitely recommend it and would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello there Kristel R,

Thank you for the time you took to provide us with your feedback! We are just blocks away from all the hottest bars, restaurants, clubs, beach, etc. We offer great money saving amenities when you choose to stay with us! We hope that you would come back to stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent hotel, very affordable. Valet was a little pricey but it's South beach so expected to pay a lot for parking. Cozy feel to it that made it more welcoming. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice patio, great for socializing with other guests and the staff helped and encouraged interaction which was great. Very close to beach, and most clubs/hangouts. Excellent place for us since we were all guys in mid 20's. Didn't have a pool, but luckily very close to beach and the weather was excellent.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms did not have any type of view. We had a tree in front of our window and even if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good Evening Oscar C,

We value all of our guests feedback, and would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We offer unbeatable prices, in a prime location, with great money saving amenities that are included. We offer valet parking here for a cost. It's very convenient and safe. Our staff are all hard at work to make sure that everyone is having a splendid time! The beach is just blocks away along with other great attractions. Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location. Rooms were small but didn't stay in room much. Nightclub right across street. Many eating places nearby. 2 blocks from beach. Daily free happy hour was great. I return back to hotel because of great location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good Day Shanda S,

Thank you for the time you took to share your honest feedback with us! We are definitely located in a prime spot on South Beach. Everything that you will want to experience is right around the corner from us! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller, then your average hotel room. We offer a complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM for all of our guests. Please come back again soon! We would love to have you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is in a good location -- about two big blocks from the beach and about 7 blocks from Lincoln Road. The room was very contemporary. It had a European feel to it, with a low bed and a modern décor. The highlight for us was the humungous bathtub for two. Some negatives: parking is astronomical; and I can see how it could be a disappointing visit with the wrong room or a noisy crowd.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank greglewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good Afternoon greglewen,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and all of our future guests! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks from all the action! Parking has always been an issue here in South Beach. We offer convenient valet parking for a fee. We hope that you would stay with us again in the future, when coming to Miami!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#79 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#113 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#70 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#88 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,938 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#92 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Property: Hotel Chelsea
Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea in Miami Beach is a 1936 luxury Art Deco gem that sits in the center of it all on Washington Avenue. Enjoy the South Beach Miami scenery from our patio while you have drinks from the bar, or a bite to eat from our restaurant. If you want to bathe in the Miami sun, we are just 2 blocks from Ocean Drive and the sands of the beach. For all your nightlife needs, the Chelsea is a short walk up or down the street from most South Beach nightclubs. This South Beach boutique hotel has been updated with Feng Shui accents for your comfort and pleasure. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami
Chelsea Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing