We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go and Find Somewhere”
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #77 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Redmond,Wa
1 review
“Go and Find Somewhere”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

1. There is a 16.75$ extra fee. this may come as suprise for many. Management should really change it and add it either to their hotel fee or remove it. this is so stupid in 21st century to have hidden fees.

This is a useless fee since they claim some benefits, which are not used my most people. This is a great negative.

2. The desk staff doesn't know how to explain stuff. There is a 100$ deposit. FOR WHAT?!! yes they keep some chips,choclates and water and wine in your room, if you touch it they charge. a huge price tag for cheap items for eg. bottle of water is 3.50$ vs whole can of 12 litres of water in a safeway is 3.50$

3. They gave us different rooms than they told us.

4. PARKING - is a big pain. they dont have parking. street parking is EXPENSIVE and HARD to FIND

5. Hotwire will book you here, dont fall for cheap price. it is not cheap.

6. Shower not working / broken.

7. Lift is slippery with some things spilled.

8. Cable TV won't work

9. Lobby is loud

Good Things:

Hotel rooms are very very nice! if they remove atleast 2 pains from above 5, i will give them a 4 star.

Hotel has a nice location

Hotel is very spacious and two seperate beds.

Room Tip: Better get somewhere, even for cheaper option. too many headache things to bother with
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramkathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Good Evening ramkathi,

Thank you for the time that you took to provide us with your experience at Chelsea Hotel. We do take every guests feedback very serious, and though it pains us to hear that your experience wasn't positive, we see every opportunity as a chance to learn and grow. Regardless of which website you book through it states that there is a resort fee that the hotel charges. This is for the amenities that we offer (R/T shuttle, cocktail hour from 7-8PM, WiFi). We do indeed take a $100 hold for incidentals. This is just in case that something is damaged in the room. Every hotel has this and at some hotels, the hold they require is more then $100. We do offer a mini bar in each room, for your convenience if you want something to much on late at night or whenever. The prices for the items in our mini bar are very average for South Beach. If you booked through a third party the room type is never guaranteed. We offer valet parking for a fee, but parking has always been a hassle here on South Beach. It is not mandatory to use our valet parking but it is very convenient and is your safest option. If you were able to inform us of the issues that you encountered while in house with us, we would have definitely moved you to another room immediately. The next time you're back in town, I would love the chance to personally make sure your next stay at our hotel is an all- out success.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    377
    206
    95
    134
See reviews for
120
402
99
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

For the second night of our honeymoon, we wanted a quick party night in Miami Beach. We booked through a site that doesn't show you the name of a hotel until it's booked and we got this one. We were happy with it. Parking is a pain and the additional $15 fee (for shuttle service) cannot be waived even if you don't need/want the shuttle. The hotel has a great location, just a few blocks from the water and all the excitement of South Beach. Their patio is nice with available hookahs. They have a complimentary happy hour which is wonderful. As many rum or vodka drinks that you can pound in an hour. Great way to start a likely expensive night out in Miami.The rooms are nice, small and uniquely decorated. We had a rental car and next time I would ditch the rental and use the airport shuttle to not deal with parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Good Afternoon Tommy W,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for the time you took to provide us with yours! Parking in South Beach is typically a hassle no matter which part of the beach you are at. We do offer valet parking at the hotel for $35 per night. The resort fee is not only for the shuttle but for the hour of free drinks from 7-8PM and for the WiFi. We are in a great location, just blocks away from all the action yet a bit further back when you want to escape from it. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Only stayed here one night but we had an absolute blast and probably made our Miami Beach trip the best yet. We had an issue with our booking when we arrived... They gave our room to someone else with a similar name BUT while it took an hour to straighten it out, the bar tender was feeding us drinks the whole time, on the house. She also hooked us up with VIP tickets to LIV which included 2 hours open bar at their sister hotel 1 block away, limo ride to LIV, the promoter got us right in (no waiting in line whatsoever). The hotel also had open bar 7-8. We were are group, 26 - 27 yrs of age. The rooms were clean and modern but small.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burkstravels55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello powerball3000,

There is nothing that we love to see more then a wonderful review with 5 stars!! :) I am extremely glad that you had such a wonderful time while staying with us. I am sorry that we provided your room to another guest. But I am very glad that everything was able to get straightened up! I see that you were treated very well at the bar and given awesome tickets to LIV! :) That club is so nice and it is a must see when visiting Miami! Please come back soon for a longer memorable time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a real nice Art Deco, Great Value, very clean. Only stayed one night...but sure to be back again. Within walking distance to beach, and shops on Lincoln Avenue and Collins. One word again, OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello Peter F,

Thank you for the time you took to provide us with your amazing review! I am extremely glad to read that you had such a wonderful time while staying with us! It seems to me that you were able to enjoy everything that we have to offer, from the location, to our unbeatable price, and the cleanliness. Please come back and stay with us for more then just 1 night, we would love to have you again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is in a very convenient location, but far enough from the strip so it's not too noisy for a good night sleep. Beds are comfortable, and the cleaning crew do their job well. It's a cute/nicely decorated hotel. Concierge training was a mess, though; we had 3 rooms and it took an hour to check us in. Design of the rooms are a little strange; AC vent blew air directly onto one of the double beds so our throats were really dry when we woke up. This might not be a problem if you get their 1 king bed room. The showers are not fully enclosed, so the water splashes out every where after each use. If you want to take the airport shuttle, make sure to reserve it with concierge waaay in advance. We didn't reserve until the night before, and there almost weren't enough space for us on the shuttle.

Room Tip: A room facing away from Washington street will guarantee a quieter room. It seems like the rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuffymonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good Afternoon Stuffymonsta,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us! I am content to read that you were satisfied with the location of our property! We are close enough to the action, yet far enough when you want to quiet down. Our housekeepers are always hard at work to make sure that each and every room is well cleaned and taken care of. We don't have a Concierge here at the hotel. Sometimes the check in process can take longer then usual if we don't have rooms that are clean and ready to go. Some guests like to check out early which slows things down for the rest of us. We try to do the best that we can to make sure that everything is done smooth and efficiently! We do indeed advise our guests that they need to reserve their seats on the shuttle in advance, as it runs on a first come first serve basis.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went to South Beach with 2 friends to celebrate my birthday. Check in was smooth. They do want a $100 deposit/Hold on top of the room charge upon check in so be advised! Rooms are small and kinda dark but really clean and cute. It served its purpose! We were in and out all day and given the PERFECT location a few blocks from the beach, right across the street from some FUN clubs and a GREAT little dine in spot, it was great! HAPPY HOUR! take advantage! we met some great ppl in that hour and ended up kickin' it with them the whole time we were in town. THe bartender was AMAZING! Can't remember his name tho.... That shows u how good he was! he kept the drinks coming! Remember this is SOUTH BEACH! And mid-20's early 30's stay here to enjoy all the riff-raff of the clubs and bars. So dont expect to "sleep" like a rock here. I wouldnt say this is a family spot either. GREAT for couples and friends out to just have a good time!
Overall, I loved my stay. I will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms are small regardless but I would suggest no more then 3 grown ppl to a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicTravelGEEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Good Afternoon ChicTravelGEEK,

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated! Thank you for sharing it with us and all of our future guests! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY to your friend! :) Like the majority of the hotels we do take a hold for $100 for incidentals. We do offer rooms that are smaller then others, just depends on what the guest is looking for. Some guests know that they are only here to sleep therefore want a smaller room. Others want to spend more time in their room and want something a bit more spacious. We are in the heart of South Beach just a few blocks from all the action, but a few blocks away from it as well when you want to escape it. The complimentary cocktail hour definitely brings everyone together. It's the perfect way to start the night off and get to mingle around with your temporary neighbors. We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I am a big review reader so I must admit that past reviews had me nervous about my stay here but all in all it wasnt as bad as some other people make it sound. The room was a decent size. Our room was on the first floor and I didnt hear all the loud music people complain about probably because I was out enjoying Miami!! Who came to sleep? I took advantage of the free happy hour daily and the rum and pineapples never disappointed. The room was cleaned everyday and none of my stuff came up missing. The bed was comfy so no complaints from me, decent price for the location and the location is perfect. Right in the middle of the action but two blocks back from the noise. See you next year Chelsea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAmerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hello there MsAmerika,

We love it when our guests post their positive reviews! Thank you so much for taking your time to provide us with yours! I am extremely glad to read that you had a nice time while staying with us and was content with the size of the room that you were given. I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary cocktail hour! It's a perfect time to mingle around and get to know your temporary neighbors. The location of our property can't be beat. We are in the middle of all the action, yet a few blocks away from the noise. We hope that you make us your South Beach hotel, when coming to Miami! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#83 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#69 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#60 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,081 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Paseo Hotel
El Paseo Hotel
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#91 of 208 in Miami Beach
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Property: Hotel Chelsea
Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5016
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea in Miami Beach is a 1936 luxury Art Deco gem that sits in the center of it all on Washington Avenue. Enjoy the South Beach Miami scenery from our patio while you have drinks from the bar, or a bite to eat from our restaurant. If you want to bathe in the Miami sun, we are just 2 blocks from Ocean Drive and the sands of the beach. For all your nightlife needs, the Chelsea is a short walk up or down the street from most South Beach nightclubs. This South Beach boutique hotel has been updated with Feng Shui accents for your comfort and pleasure. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami
Chelsea Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing