We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Decent hotel - no pool or beach access. so why bother in Sobe?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #75 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Manhattan, NY
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent hotel - no pool or beach access. so why bother in Sobe?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nice lounge area when you walk in. The rooms are small and the decor is very dark. Overall, not a bad hotel. They have happy hour every day so the 1st floor is packed with people every day.
Washington Avenue is away from the beach so you have to walk at least 2 blocks to the beach. there is no pool at the hotel either. But there's a 7-11 and other stores around the area. A TON of restaurants in the area so it's easily walk-able.
No shuttle service from the airport as mentioned. The front desk wasn't too helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nki65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello Nki65,

Your feedback is appreciated by us and our future guests! We are glad that you chose to share it! We are glad that you liked our bar/ lounge area. We are a boutique hotel which explains why are rooms are small. Boutique hotels tend to be smaller then your average hotel. We are glad that you were able to get to enjoy our complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8pm. It's a great time to get to know your temporary neighbors. Our location is great. We are in the heart of South Beach, within walking distance to all of the action!! :) We apologize that you were not given excellent service by our front desk staff. I will definitely have a talk with them.

We would hope to host your next visit to South Beach!!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    344
    186
    90
    125
See reviews for
108
360
91
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had read some very mixed reviews about this hotel, but it offered a good rate (by South Beach standards at least), it's in a decent location (2 blocks from the beach) and we were only staying for 3 nights anyway.

On check-in, the receptionist offered to upgrade our standard room (one king-size) bed on the ground floor, to a room with 2 queen beds on the third (top) floor without additional charge. Given the comments of other reviewers about the late-night noise from the lobby bar we accepted the offer; if there was partying in the bar, we certainly didn't hear it. The room itself was small, and the dark colors (dark wood floor, brown walls, dark wooden furniture and brown curtains) made it seem even smaller. One expects funky decor in South Beach, but this was more Austin Powers than art deco. No drawers for clothing - just some open shelves in a small closet that wasn't sufficient for two people. Also no desk. However, there was a large flat screen TV, the bed linens were good quality and the bed itself was very comfortable. The bathroom was also small, but clean and generally functional, though the water pressure in the shower was weak and it was difficult to find and maintain a comfortable water temperature. The description on hotels.com promised free wireless internet in every room, but on enquiring we were told it was only available in the bar area.

There is a very pleasant outdoor bar/patio in front of the hotel and the staff were helpful, efficient and friendly. If you plan on taking the free airport shuttle from MIA, bear in mind it serves several hotels and is "first come first served". The shuttle we took had room for only 12 people, and there were probably 3 times that number fighting to get on. They also have larger vehicles.

All in all, if you just want a decent and inexpensive place to sleep, don't need any extra amenities (spa, health club, business centre, room service, etc.), and don't intend to spend a lot of time in the hotel, I think you could do a lot worse. We would certainly consider a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor if you are concerned about the noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Good Evening Awsnj,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are glad that you chose to share it with us! We are glad to read that you were accommodated to a complimentary upgrade! We are a boutique hotel, which means that are rooms are a little bit smaller then your average hotel room. The personality of our hotel is dark yet sophisticated! I am glad that you found your room to be clean! I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our amenities! We would definitely hope that you would come back, and give us a second visit!!

We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is like an Hostel, adopting 5* price!
The rooms are very small, and not soundproof.
A lot of noise , from the other rooms, from the hallway (peaple talking and laughing at every hour).
And a lot of rumor from the reception, where loud music is keeped all nigth long.
So no way to sleep.
Prices are very high, and I expected to find a real hotel, and not an Hostel!
Furthermore, they use to keep some money from your credit card, and at the checkout, part of this money is not refund! They are not serious!
Stay away from this hotel. Do not be fascinated from the photo you can see. They are only appearence.
Hope to help someone to avoid to be fraud.
Just one positive comment: good position, just in the center of miami beach. But the area is full of real hotel...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spidertop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello Spidertop,

Thank you for your honest feedback! I apologize that you found our property to be a hostel. We are a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel room. We are currently working on finding a resolution for the noise. We definitely don't keep any of your money from your credit card. The $100 hold for incidentals is released immediately when you check out. Depending on your financial provider, it can take anywhere from 7-10 business days to release the funds back onto your card. Please check with your financial provider if the funds have not been released back onto your card after 10 business days.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

While the location was good. We had bed bugs. And the service was awful. We made arrangements the day before we left to take the provided shuttle to the airport for 7 am (talked with front desk around 9am). Only to receive a phone call at 12:40 am the day we were leaving to tell us the shuttle was no longer available. After an earful from me they did make other arrangements and shuttle was there at 7. But I was so frustrated I didn't get back to sleep after the 12:40 call.
When checking in they charged an additional $15/day "resort fee" when I asked what amenities this covers in their "resort" the lady at the front desk said she didn't know... Maybe for the pools at the other hotels. So I then stated, "so we are able to access those amenities with the other hotels." Again her reply was, "I don't really know."
I heard the other hotels in this group were a lot better, but I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiGalyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello JodiGaylen,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very glad that you chose to share it with us! We are very glad to read that you were content with the location of our property! I apologize about the lack of communication that our staff had with you in regards to the shuttle. Our front desk agents are provided with all of the information of the hotel. The $15 resort fee is for your amenties that include the R/T shuttle, complimentary cocktail hour. WiFi, etc. Do you remember the name of the agent that was assisting you at the front desk?
We would hope to give our group another chance!

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 days after our cruise to Caribbean. Checked in, asked front desk bout places to eat....barely understood English. Asked about visiting other "Southbeach Group" hotels, didn't know. Asked if they had ESPN(to watch Orange&Fiesta Bowl games), looked around the front desk for paperwork, wasn't sure! Went to "free cocktail hour", only thing free are the well drinks. Booked airport shuttle a day in advance(like you're required) for 7am. Received a call from the front desk at 12:45 am, in the middle of the night, to say there is no shuttle service!!! Then at 5:45 am received a second call to disregard the previous call and that there will be a shuttle at the hotel at 7:00 am to pick us up. Guess you can kiss a good nights rest goodbye. Besides the beds are worn out and my wife is covered in bites

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanoriafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Good Afternoon Sanoriafarmet,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely glad that you chose to stay with us after your cruise!! I apologize that the communication between our staff and you wasn't great. Unfortunately, we had an engine issue with the shuttle and we needed to inform all of our guests way ahead of time, therefore they can make the necessary changes that needed to be made. When we found out again that the shuttle was good to go, we informed everyone of that as well. I apologize that you got a call at such times. We are not sure what time people are needing to be the airport to catch their flights. We try to communicate with our guests at all times, so they are aware of everything. In regards to the bites on your wife- our mattresses do not host bed bugs. Bed bug bites also don't show on your skin until about 14 days after you were bitten. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

There was a $16 per night fee for the hotel wasn't told upfront on their sale channels, such as hotwire.
They charged my credit card extra after I left the hotel.
The room was dark and the wooden beds were a little bit worn out. On night I almost fall down when I tried standing up beside the bed because the slippery floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationProject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Good Afternoon VacationProjext,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated!! I apologize that you were not informed about the resort fee from Hotwire. They are well informed with all of our information. I am going to make sure that they are aware of this incident. Did you speak with the hotel about the charge that was done on your card after the time of check out? If so what did they say? I am going to let our housekeeping room know about the darkness of the room. Were you able to ask for an extra lamp from the front desk or the operator? We provide lamps for those who need a bit for illummination. In regards to the floor being slippery, unless the floor has just been mopped it should not be slippery. Did you spill something at night, maybe that you didn't see at the moment?
We would hope that you would give us another chance! Please let me know if you will be in South Beach again, I would love to handle your reservation.

Have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERRITT ISLAND
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice and the front desk ladies were friendly and helpful. BUT.. they play loud and highly offensive music in the lobby and also in the (wonderful) open front patio. It is super loud rap all day and night so it is impossible really relax and enjoy yourself. They played some really hard core and offensive rap which we found inappropriate for a nice boutque hotel - playing music which mentions raping girls with guns to their heads and four letter words is not respectful of all guests.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a third floor room (it's quieter up there) and don't plan on st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AUNTNEEFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Good Afternoon Auntneefla,

Thank you so much for providing your honest feedback. We are very glad to read that you liked the hotel and our front desk ladies! I apologize greatly that we were playing loud and offensive music while you were with us. All of our music is set to explicit therefore we shouldn't have those issues. I will make sure that the setting is correct. We would hope that you would give us another chance!

We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#66 of 203 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#97 of 203 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#69 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#82 of 203 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#89 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Property: Hotel Chelsea
Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea in Miami Beach is a 1936 luxury Art Deco gem that sits in the center of it all on Washington Avenue. Enjoy the South Beach Miami scenery from our patio while you have drinks from the bar, or a bite to eat from our restaurant. If you want to bathe in the Miami sun, we are just 2 blocks from Ocean Drive and the sands of the beach. For all your nightlife needs, the Chelsea is a short walk up or down the street from most South Beach nightclubs. This South Beach boutique hotel has been updated with Feng Shui accents for your comfort and pleasure. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $18.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami
Chelsea Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing