We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #18 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
washington dc
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at the HGVCLUB July 11th - 14th, 2014 and had a great experience. They did have a room ready for us at check in, which was at the Ocean Plaza. The room was located on the first floor in the rear of the building, the room was nice but overlooked the alley and other buildings. We requested another room and we were transferred to the McAlpin, 4th floor. We were with our room, it had no real view but then we again we had no real noise. The hot tub was being repaired so we could use or have access to area, that was ok. The staff was more than accommodating, very helpful and nice. I will stay here again and recommend the hotel/s. All of our needs were meet and is close to any and everything that you want on South Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    218
    52
    20
    9
See reviews for
252
327
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

While we love visiting Miami and South Beach, this Hilton HGVC is not a favorite of ours. It's location is superb!! Ocean Drive is a must visit location in a Miami vacation. The HGVC leaves us a little wanting in a couple of areas...the rooms/suites are clean and great--no complaints or issues there. Key access required, etc--all great. This Vacation Club is more of a Hotel with kitchenettes, than a full fledged HGVC. But....

Our room was located in the McAlpin building on the 3rd floor....the side closest to the alley for the recycle/trash truck pickup and the linen service trucks....yes, exactly what you are thinking. REALLY noisy, really early, every morning. Not my favorite way to wake up on vacation.

$35 per day parking with a valet service (M & G PARKING Management) who you may never see and are never there for dropping off your keys....sketchy. They readjust the vehicle seats and don't bother to return it to how they found it (even on the passenger side--which makes me wonder who else has been in my vehicle and why!?!) We had to circle around and around and around...and around the block waiting to drop off and never saw an attendant servicing guest vehicles. The front desk was ambivalent about the situation. That didn't help things at all.

Would I recommend this place? Yes. Just be advised of these two issues.... :o)

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms in the McAlpin Building, on every floor will yield you a NOISY wakeup every morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notsothrilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at our property. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at our property and apologize for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay. We understand that the noise from the alley is not very pleasant when you are on vacation, and I can assure you that we have been working diligently with the city to monitor trash pick-up and delivery hours, but little success has been achieved. In addition, parking in Miami Beach can be challenging, and since we do not have our own parking, it continues to be a struggle to bring the best service and value to our guests, without increasing the already high price for valet service. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you on your next vacation.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel and we really enjoyed our stay there. It is located in a privileged place in Ocean Drive you are only few meters away from restaurants, bars, nightlife but you don't have the crowd or the noise that many other hotels in this area have. It is in front of the beach, so you can go there every time or you can also walk to Lincoln Road. The hotel is not a big one but it is very nice, with free internet. It is clean with well furnished big rooms. The staff is very friendly and they are always trying to help you. The hotel has an outside sitting area perfect for reading a book or drinking a coffee. We would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocco2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshima, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

HGVClub at South Beach Miami have very clean and high-quality 2 bed, 2 bath rooms. And , high-quality staff has good courtesy and very good response. HGVClub at South Beach Miami is to visit it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Masahide K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

There are only 6 rooms per floor and very few amenities here. Its a good location as long as you actually like South Beach (we didn't). Not much in the way of amenities, but great if you want to walk to the beach every day. Rooms could be bigger.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Frank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have been coming here as owners for years. Great location. Doesn't have a lot of amenities but the beach is across the street. Cooking is allowed here so you do smell cooking. You. An walk everywhere. I would avoid the restaurants on Ocean Drive ad walk on Washington to Vittocci's pizza...really good and so reasonable. They deliver they have pastas as well. Grill Fish is good...pricey though. There is a bus South Beach Local SBL you catch on Washington Street(one over) circles the entire area for .25 and a free trolley.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathywildwest11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Hilton Grand Vacation Club South Beach is our favorite place to stay almost anywhere. It is right on the Ocean Drive strip but nice that it is between 14th and 15th streets so It is a lot more quite than being closed to all the activity while still being there. We always get a two bedroom because the cost is almost the same and it makes us feel like we are staying in a palace. Alex at the front desk always gives 110% to make our stay the best possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Vince W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,918 reviews
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Address: 1430 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing