We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #16 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Loved the location of this property, in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive, a 5/10min walk gets you to pretty much everywhere you need to be in the area. The property was clean and well maintained, the facilities were good (albeit no pool) and the staff were friendly.

If I had one slight issue it would be the view from the window which basically looked out onto a wall about 3 metres away (didn’t really bother me as we spent most of our time out and about or on the beach opposite). Other than that I really couldn’t fault the place, again the location is excellent. Great café next door too ‘The Front Porch’.

I would recommend this place and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristolstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 957 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2008

Stayed at the HGVC for one week in September (holiday). The location is superb, the best part of Ocean Drive. Quiet and peaceful, yet very close to all the clubs, pubs and restaurants.

The beach and (warm) ocean is just a few steps away from the hotel.

Service was amazing, very friendly staff. Because of my job, I travel a lot around the world, and stayed in many hotels. The customer service and politeness in this hotel is the best, so far.

The hotel does not have a swimming pool, but the ocean is close by.

The rooms are big and clean. Every day new towels and clean sheets etc.

The HGVC is really great stay. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nelisamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We stayed here the first weekend in October. The staff at check in was super friendly. Our Suite was very clean (just renovated) with lots of space, living room with kitchen area. The area is at the relaxed northern end of Loomis Park. Great access to the beach, and just up the street from the action. SOBE restaurants were over priced and overrated, but the HGVC has a perfect location to explore the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AmherstNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

While technically not a "beachfront" property the location is still great! It's across the street from Lumus Park and the beach so getting to the waters edge takes a couple of minutes. It's on the quieter north end of Ocean Dr. which keeps you away from the craziness of the south end. The resort actually consists of two small art deco hotels connected in the middle by a breezeway. The rooms are small suites recently remodeled with a flat screens in the living and bedroom. The kitchens are done very well with granite countertops. The internet while free is sketchy. The spa and terrace on the 4th floor of the McAlpin building is a killer spot to hang out and has a great view of the park and the ocean.

As much as we loved this property it doesn't have a pool. Weirdly......no......very weirdly neither Hilton or the property management firm have made arrangements for guests to use another Hilton pool even for a fee. I huge oversight in our opinion. If you're a pool person this isn't the hotel for you.

The staff was top notch and are very accommodating. Jackie at the front desk was great!

A few blocks away is Lincoln Road Mall full of shops, cafes and clubs. VanDyke Cafe the only jazz club around is also there. Just walk south on Ocean Drive or go a couple of blocks west to Washington. You'll find anything and everything you want. Nikki Beach on 2nd and Ocean Dr. is a very cool place to hang out especially on Sunday afternoons.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank callmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We spent four nights at this hotel , September 2008. The suite we had was excellent , every convenience and immaculate.The staff were very helpful. The location was perfect , very near the action , but in a quiet spot. We used the valet parking , which was expensive and maybe we would park the car ourselves the next time as there appeared to be pleanty of long stay carparks for $15 / day . Well worth the money , would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

This is a nice Art Deco style double fronted property on Ocean Drive within seconds of the beach and in a very nice part of Miami Beach. Our suite was smallish by today's standards but typical of this period hotel. Some rooms are in the process of renovation but this did not inconvenience us in any way and the staff were always pleasant and more than helpful with any request.
If you're arriving by car the hotel valet service is not exactly cheap at $25 a day but in this area it is essential and well worth the cost.
If you can get a room with an ocean view as all other rooms face concrete but don't be put off by this as again this is typical of the time and the area that this hotel was built.
We visit Miami two or three times a year and we can't wait to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Stayed there in May 2008 for a couple of nights. Right on Ocean Drive at the top end of the strip. Quiter location as it's at the end of the restaurant and bars - this is actually a plus as your 5 - 10 mins walk from the noise that comes with the busy parts, but also so close to it as well.
Rooms are great - spacious and very clean - they seem want to provide loads of fresh towles as well - almost an obsession!
Overall, think it's a great loacation and nice place to stay although you do pay for it! I'm sure you could find cheaper places a few blocks away from the beach - there seemed to be plenty of places around. But if you're like me, only there as a one off and you want to be a prime location, then it's worth every penny!
One tip - One block away on Collins is Jerrys Diner - go there for breakfast - it has a massive menu and is absolutely excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank aMid-aSmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,918 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,590 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#53 of 210 in Miami Beach
6,803 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $356 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing