We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprisingly wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #20 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We booked a 5 day stay at the McAlpin in march 2014. The McAlpin is a small hotel from the Art Deco era, but has been totally updated. We were joined by our 20-something daughters in a spacious 2 bedroom suite, which has everything you need plus a full kitchen. We didn't cook, but it is possible to do so. However it was great to have the ability to stock breakfast and lunch in a full kitchen. There is a rooftop patio and a small but very serviceable exercise room, Miami beach is terrific -lots of restaurants, miles of beach to walk on, and unusual things like parasailing which we all loved. And the weather was perfect in March 2014, after a LONG winter in the northeast USA. Only slight down side was it was college spring break week so the nights were noisy.

Room Tip: Only one of the rooms or each floor has an ocean view. The description on the hilton site doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pottios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 968 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I come to this hotel/timeshare almost every year. It's a wonderful location in the Art Deco section of South Beach acorss the street from the beach and very close to the Miami Beach boardwalk. This is a nice condo type unit with comfortable bed(s), kitchen facilities,and large bathroom(s). Helpful staff. New this year-bike rentals available in the next block at a reasonable price. Close to Starbucks. High speed internet access included.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
2  Thank Patricia A. I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed at this resort for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment. We did not rent a car and did not need one. Beach is a short walk across the street. Lots and lots of restaurants, shopping, and nightlife all within walking distance. Highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank deborahea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wonderful place to rest and spend some time together with lots of things to do. Plenty of shopping within walking distance, many restaurants to choose from also that can be walked to, many with entertainment. We took the Duck Tour - Great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a great time...staff was very helpful and friendly. would definitely come back if we are in the Miami area. Hotel was close to everything. No need for car, actually we didn't really use ours so better off without one because you have to pay for parking. All in all, we had a wonderful time. HGVC is a great ownership!! All the resorts are 5 star with all the amenities!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Dominick E. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel is located in Ocean Drive's and Art Deco District's heart. Employees are friendly and rooms are in a very well condition. Beach is just across the Street and is surrounded by many restaurants and finest boutiques within walking distance

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank Jose Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

After reading other reviews on TripAdvisor, I was a bit cautious. We had a blast! The staff was helpful and friendly. The room size was just right. Noise was not an issue the week we traveled. Other guests helped us with tips such as where to get groceries. Our family of 4 walked to many sites and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Jeannette who checked us in was particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank letsvacation889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#25 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,455 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,655 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,376 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,947 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $408 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TravelUp and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing