We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #14 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

It has the best location in South Beach. Ocean Drive is the epicenter of South Beach. It is on Ocean Drive, however, it is on the quieter part. Everything one might want to do is a short walk away, even Lincoln Road, which is a must visit if you are in South Beach. Very clean, nicely furnished, comfortable, and an incredible staff the is very nice and helpful. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    224
    54
    20
    9
See reviews for
259
336
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
América, Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

What more could you want than this amazing location as well as a superb staff always going the extra mile to make guests happy and make their vacations more memorable! The gym is small but nice as well as are the rooftop Jacuzzis. Must visit Charlotte Bakery around the corner on Washington for the best empanadas as well as the Cuban café 50 meters further down the same side of the street for rabo special on Thursday. Taco Tuesdays at TMex Buy one get one til 4pm are great too!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank drinkshiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent a week here in January and it was absolutely delightful. The security of the hotel was comforting, the location is outstanding, the Art Deco ambiance is delightful. We had a one-bedroom suite and it was perfect. We enjoyed the porch almost every evening, sitting and watching people pass by and enjoying a glass of wine. While this location on South Beach can be noisy, the hotel was very quiet. We did have a car to valet and the charge was $35 per day. That seemed high to us, but maybe not for the location. This hotel is located very close to the beach, a Starbucks, and many fabulous restaurants. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was located away from the front of the building. I think that is one reason it was such a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 730Colleen149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Il, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Meet all needs and very quiet in evening despite what was going on outside. No car need, can walk to many different spots. Tons of restaurants. Beach area nice. Work out room adequate and clean. Security cards - new technology. Valet service swift.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Glen S. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Township, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Hilton Grand Vacation Club South Beach is very well located. The security in the place is excellent because you need to swipe your key to gain entrance to the building. The hotel does not have any restaurant but because of its location, this is a non-issue. We had a 2 bedroom suite with kitchen, living room and 2 baths. The furnishings are excellent. I would definitely return to this hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Irene Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our stay at South Beach was great. The location of the hotel was within walking distance to all we wanted to do. Was expensive to eat though. Luckily we had refrigerator, stove and microwave so we went to the grocery store and bought some food to fix for breakfast to help with the cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Valthegal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We have been members for 14 years & visited many properties. The location is the best thing about this property. The beach & walkway is right across the street. It is also a 5-10 min walk from Lincoln Road, Collins Ave & Espanola Way where all the great shops & restaurants are located. Beach chairs & umbrellas can be rented at a reasonable rate. The Art Deco Market is a great place to get groceries so you don't have to go out for every meal.

There is a rooftop hot tub but is very small & a view of a cement wall. The chairs on the rooftop are very comfortable but again, no view. There are no balconies off the suites & very few rooms have ocean view (it is a narrow building). The walls & ceiling are thin. We heard the garbage trucks early every morning. Overall, we plan on staying here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jcaeiouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We appreciate your comment about your stay and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that our rooms have no view, please keep in mind that this is a historic building and we were unable to add balconies or replace the concrete walls to glass to provide view on our rooftop terrace ,while in the Jacuzzi or lounge chairs. We have already addressed some of the concerns for sound installation, unfortunately because of the age of the building and being in an urban area, it is almost impossible to completely eliminate noise. We hope to see you on your next trip, and thank you again for your feedback.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,729 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,983 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, HRS, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing