We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #14 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location close to everything”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you like Art Deco then this is a good place to stay ---right In the midst of Miami Beach's Art Deco District.
The place is clean and the staff's very friendly and quite helpful to every query we had. It's also on the quiet-er north end of the nonstop South Beach party that is Ocean Drive, 2 blocks from Versache's former mansion. So you are close enough to the 24hr. boisterous beach crowds and the clubs yet can still get undisturbed sleep anytime you want.
The rooms are true to Art Deco style, not huge, but very comfy. Big beds Very clean.
If you are looking for fancier stuff, and wants pampering, go somewhere else but be ready to pay more $$$. Don't look for a pool either, there's none but the beach is just yards away from across the main lobby
Other than that, this is a great place to stay where you get a great view of Ocean Drive, the beach and sunrise at the rooftop where the jacuzzi and gym are located as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top floor for easier access to the jacuzzi and gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilloHylliB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    263
    65
    24
    9
See reviews for
311
412
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great art deco buildings right across from the beach. It is surrounded by clubs and restaurants. Nicely updated but could use more sound proofing. The two bedroom unit is nice for two couples, but too small for more. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artdiva1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I enjoy the view of the Atlantic ocean, the beach and the park from this location. See attached photos. This is my second visit and I plan to return. There are only four floors in this hotel. If you want the option of sleeping at night and being in the middle of all the Ocean Drive action this is the location. Some nearby hotels are too crowded and noisy. This one is made for sleeping. When I want to be part of the crowd I only need to walk out the from door. I will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This property is unlike any other Hilton Grand Vacation Club property I have visited. Different in this instance certainly does not mean bad. My wife and I stayed three nights over the Labor Day weekend. We absolutely loved it. We had a one bedroom on the third floor of the McAlpin property. Sure the elevator is slow, the windows faced the next property, and the amenities were limited. But you will not find a better location on Ocean Drive. Our room was clean and quiet. To enjoy the beach you just have to cross the street and you are there. The front desk provided beach towels so don't bother bringing any. There is a Deco Bike stand in the park to the right. These bike rentals are a wonderful way to explore the entire area. I had concerns prior to going, but in the end our three nights in South Beach were great. We will return and plan on staying at the property again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I visited this location for a week family vacation. I hope this review helps you to determine if this is the place for you.

Location
Pros :Good. The beach is across the street. You can see the beach and the water from the rooftop deck (more about that later). Great restaurant within walking distance. Collins avenue and Washington street and espanola way have nice restaurant with better pricing and better quality food.

Cons: Parking is $35 a night which is outrageous. You can do municipal parking for $20 which is less than a 5 minute walk. The patio at the hotel has seating but unfortunately the did not have the foresight to have high chairs so you can sit and watch the water. So unless you feel like standing up for a while the view is lost. Fyi the Marriott on Ocean has the best unobstructed view from the beach at Deco blue. Buy a drink and enjoy the view like we did. The food is average but the view is great.

Service: The front desk staff and Alex (my favorite) were wonderful. Any requests were handled promptly. They provide laundry detergent, lotion, etc.. and do it with a smile. They answer any questions you have and get 5 stars for that.

Rooms: I was in a one bedroom which is more like a studio with sliding doors. However, the rooms were decent and the kitchen is nice with a full size refrigerator, pots, pans, etc... since this is a timeshare this is was expected. One bedrooms have no view whatsoever so the two bedroom is the way to go. There are no balconies on the rooftop for a view.

Fyi, the walls are thin so you will hear some hallway noise.

Miscellaneous: If you are in the main building (there are two buildings right next to each other) you will have to go to the other building to do your laundry.

All in all it's a decent place. I would stay again potentially.

Room Tip: Choose a two bedroom otherwise you will be looking at a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is in a beautiful location right across from the beach (which is very clean and nice for families). We had a one-room suite which was lovely in its art deco design. Bathroom had a great shower and was fully stocked with plenty of towels and amenities. The kitchen had plenty of dishes, a microwave/convection oven, stove, and large fridge. TVs in the bedroom and living room, with a fold-out couch and bedding to match. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Check-in time is 4pm ordinarily and check-out time was 10 am, which seemed a bit unreasonable, as there is a 6-hour gap. Our flight home wasn't until 6:30 pm, so we had to stash our luggage there at 10am and wander until we left for the airport. Housekeeping is only done if your stay is a minimum of 7 days, and then it is done on the 3rd day. The bed is a double bed, so be prepared if you normally sleep on a queen-size or larger! Location is perfect -- it is easy to walk to all the shopping areas, and the nightlife is on this street! Plenty of restaurants, and if you come with children, there are local attractions. I would consider this more of an adult location, though. We enjoyed sometimes just sitting out on the porch and watching all the people walk by.

Room Tip: Our room faced the building next door, which was very close. Keep your curtains closed! We could se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

At this property, it's all about location, which is pretty hard to beat. With the exception of the handful of end unit rooms, none have a view...of anything. The rooms are going through a complete makeover which is quite nice. The lobby is spartan, and the printer doesn't print in color correctly, but Alex the bellman smooths it all over and ensures a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Richard Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,896 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,523 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,054 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
The Confidante
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing