We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Beach Location Can't Be Beat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #19 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This property is unlike any other Hilton Grand Vacation Club property I have visited. Different in this instance certainly does not mean bad. My wife and I stayed three nights over the Labor Day weekend. We absolutely loved it. We had a one bedroom on the third floor of the McAlpin property. Sure the elevator is slow, the windows faced the next property, and the amenities were limited. But you will not find a better location on Ocean Drive. Our room was clean and quiet. To enjoy the beach you just have to cross the street and you are there. The front desk provided beach towels so don't bother bringing any. There is a Deco Bike stand in the park to the right. These bike rentals are a wonderful way to explore the entire area. I had concerns prior to going, but in the end our three nights in South Beach were great. We will return and plan on staying at the property again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 997 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

I visited this location for a week family vacation. I hope this review helps you to determine if this is the place for you.

Location
Pros :Good. The beach is across the street. You can see the beach and the water from the rooftop deck (more about that later). Great restaurant within walking distance. Collins avenue and Washington street and espanola way have nice restaurant with better pricing and better quality food.

Cons: Parking is $35 a night which is outrageous. You can do municipal parking for $20 which is less than a 5 minute walk. The patio at the hotel has seating but unfortunately the did not have the foresight to have high chairs so you can sit and watch the water. So unless you feel like standing up for a while the view is lost. Fyi the Marriott on Ocean has the best unobstructed view from the beach at Deco blue. Buy a drink and enjoy the view like we did. The food is average but the view is great.

Service: The front desk staff and Alex (my favorite) were wonderful. Any requests were handled promptly. They provide laundry detergent, lotion, etc.. and do it with a smile. They answer any questions you have and get 5 stars for that.

Rooms: I was in a one bedroom which is more like a studio with sliding doors. However, the rooms were decent and the kitchen is nice with a full size refrigerator, pots, pans, etc... since this is a timeshare this is was expected. One bedrooms have no view whatsoever so the two bedroom is the way to go. There are no balconies on the rooftop for a view.

Fyi, the walls are thin so you will hear some hallway noise.

Miscellaneous: If you are in the main building (there are two buildings right next to each other) you will have to go to the other building to do your laundry.

All in all it's a decent place. I would stay again potentially.

Room Tip: Choose a two bedroom otherwise you will be looking at a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is in a beautiful location right across from the beach (which is very clean and nice for families). We had a one-room suite which was lovely in its art deco design. Bathroom had a great shower and was fully stocked with plenty of towels and amenities. The kitchen had plenty of dishes, a microwave/convection oven, stove, and large fridge. TVs in the bedroom and living room, with a fold-out couch and bedding to match. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Check-in time is 4pm ordinarily and check-out time was 10 am, which seemed a bit unreasonable, as there is a 6-hour gap. Our flight home wasn't until 6:30 pm, so we had to stash our luggage there at 10am and wander until we left for the airport. Housekeeping is only done if your stay is a minimum of 7 days, and then it is done on the 3rd day. The bed is a double bed, so be prepared if you normally sleep on a queen-size or larger! Location is perfect -- it is easy to walk to all the shopping areas, and the nightlife is on this street! Plenty of restaurants, and if you come with children, there are local attractions. I would consider this more of an adult location, though. We enjoyed sometimes just sitting out on the porch and watching all the people walk by.

Room Tip: Our room faced the building next door, which was very close. Keep your curtains closed! We could se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

At this property, it's all about location, which is pretty hard to beat. With the exception of the handful of end unit rooms, none have a view...of anything. The rooms are going through a complete makeover which is quite nice. The lobby is spartan, and the printer doesn't print in color correctly, but Alex the bellman smooths it all over and ensures a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Richard Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

First off, we arrived to a beautiful area-even breath taking. The concierge, Alex, is quite possibly the best in the world. We have stayed many places but were never treated like such royalty. The hotel is labeled ocean plaza in the art deco area, right across the street from the beach and an old coconut farm that is now part of the beauty of ocean drive. Since the hotel building is old, it shows in some aspects but modernized and nice. However, our room was very nice including a full kitchen which we used several times. The hotel is two buildings both with rooftop hot tubes to enjoy the sights and sounds of the unique place. Parking sucks no matter which route u take. We chose the hotel valet for 35 a day. Seems hefty until you go there and learn the ways. Convenience was more important. Did I say it's right across the street from the beach, MIAMI beach is rad to say the least.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank therunt2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It is wonderfully located on Ocean drive a few blocks from the heart of vibrant South beach. There is no pool and the resort is a tad hotel but the rooms are nice with a wonderful kitchen and the staff is extremely helpful. Check-in is never early so be prepared to wait until 3 to 4PM. The fitness center could be larger.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Gregory George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I rented three one bedroom units in August. We enjoyed having coffee on the front porch after our morning run along the beach. I loved the location and Alex made the stay so enjoyable. My family enjoyed his pleasant personality every time we entered the property. The other staff was not quite as friendly but I would definitely stay here again in the future. The beds were smaller than I expected as was the rooftop facility but I did enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandtgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,568 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#18 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,998 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,764 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 214 in Miami Beach
377 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#32 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $453 - $796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing