We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great escape in South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #13 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morristown, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great escape in South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This small hotel offered the quiet and comfort I was hoping for... It was close to action on Ocean Drive but on the quieter northern section. Having close proximity to the ocean was ideal. I felt I didn't have to spend the whole day on the ocean but could use it to pop by for shorter visits throughout the day.There was plenty to do--Art Deco tour, Everglades excursion, Little Havana, Lincoln Rd. shopping, galleries, restaurants on Ocean Dr. & Espanola. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Olga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    255
    63
    21
    9
See reviews for
300
391
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temple Hills, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel location was perfect, but compared to other Hilton resorts we have stayed in, my family and I were not impressed. We missed not being able to get in a pool. The hot tub was small. The beds were very comfortable. I was glad there was a DVD player. We were able to relax and watch movies at night

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the feedback about your vacation. Being a historic building, does not give us the opportunity to have a pool. Our unique location across the street from the ocean and rooftop hot tub, satisfies most of our guests who were expecting a pool. There are a couple of alternatives for our guests who really would like to go to a pool instead. Some nearby hotels have daily passes to their pool and facility ranging between $20 - $350. There is also a city sponsored swimming pool (certain limitations apply) $10.00 for adults and $6.00 children ages 4-17. Hope to see you again in the future.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a great time on South Beach, staying at the Hilton just made it even better! The staff, especially Alexander at the front desk always made us feel welcome. The suite was a perfect size, it felt like a home away from home. WHen we return, i know we will be staying at the Hilton, again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

No pool. Poor internet service. Area has become very Ghetto/trashy. I used to live in South Beach, and was astounded by how classless it has become. Still some very good restaurants in the area. blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank GreatTravel151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at our beautiful property. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the South Beach area and lack of pool. Unfortunately, our property is historically protected, and since there was no pool when it was originally built, we had no opportunity to add one. Our internet service was recently updated, and we've had no major concerns from our guests. The speed does depend on how many users are utilizing it at a given time. We hope our property and service lived up to your expectations, and looking forward seeing you on your next visit.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Aleksander is the best....greets people every day with"hello my friends" while you stay...give the man a raise, he deserves it!

Very convenient and enjoyable, only issue is that all the rooms face sideways and none look at the beach across the street. You can go to the rooftop hot tub and see the beach from there at least but clean rooms, great staff and very comfy sofa bed too!

Room Tip: Laundry is on top floor next to rooftop deck, the higher the room, the closer to the laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKI J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent choice to location for use of beach, shopping, visiting cultural things, relaxing for several age groups in family-- beach for kids, nightlife for 20+ and fine food for all ages . Public transportation available for trips and excursions available for non driving guests. Do warn people cars don't park free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank George R. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nothing fancy but definitely a nice, centralized, Ocean Drive, South Beach, Miami location that would satisfy any visitor to that area. This is part of the Hilton Grand Vacations Club timeshare program that sets itself nicely in the local decor of that area with kitchen facilities. Staff friendly & accessible. Valet parking. Right on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank th0masew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Vacations Club Miami
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing