We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Every year it gets better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #10 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Every year it gets better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been staying here for more than 13 years, twice a year. I love the location, the hotel is maintained very well, and the staff are very helpful. I would highly recommend this to anyone.
Known issues:
1) the key cards easily become demagnetized so don't let them get wet or near your phone or credit cards.
2) the internet system requires you to enter your access code every time so try to store the password in your device the first time.
3) The rooms in the back are too noisy in the mornings.

Room Tip: Don't get a room along the back wall. The garbage trucks are unbearable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayF10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    236
    58
    20
    9
See reviews for
275
363
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Don't bother to stay here. The small room is one ting, but the chipped and banged up decor and tiny elevator and rooms that look out to a wall really are lacking. The "lounge" on the fourth floor is a joke with it's big vinyl furniture that is hot and so low it's like sitting on the floor. The hot tub is broken and you feel as if there is no one there running the place. The outside lounge area walls are covered in tacky plastic plants. The view from the fourth floor "lounge" area is nice if you stand and look past the drunks sleeping in the park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and we apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. Our small historic property is a unique destination for many of our owners and guests. We regret that one of our Jacuzzi was under repair during your stay, and hope you were able to utilize the second one at the adjacent building. The minor wear and tear of the property is temporary, as we are getting ready for a full renovation starting this September. Thank you again for your comments.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I am an owner at HGVC Miami so I stay here every year. I came for the Food and Wine Fest in February. The location is great, right on Ocean Drive and across from South Beach. You're in walking distance from all of the hot spots. The property is very well kept and the staff is great - Orlando, Vanessa, Alex & Eva. If you're not staying for a full week, your room is not going to be cleaned so if there are a lot of people, it could get messy pretty quickly. You can cook on the premises, the appliances are top of the line. Otherwise, it's the best place to stay on South Beach, in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great spot if you want to be able to walk to most everything you could want: wide variety of ethnic restaurants; beach; beach front walking/biking; the Culinary Tour with Mirka is fantastic; Mangos for drinks and music even in the afternoon if not a night owl; Bolivar for Columbian; Larios at the Beach for Cuban; coffee and hot croissant at La Folie Cafe on Esplanola Way in the morning; Art Deco tour would be good. HGVC is a wonderful 'home base' for people and car watching!

Room Tip: Rooms closest to lobby can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brayton207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you are looking for a great location in South Beach this is it.If you are looking for a friendly and efficient staff it is here.I've been coming here for years and have never been dissappointed.Rooms are comfortable but no pool.When we come to Miami this will be our first choice.Alex the bellman is a great representative for Hilton and the best in Miami.Go to him with any questions or help for your vacation stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Beach nearby,expensive to rent chairs and umbrellas on Beach-$51.00/Day and eating Establishments were nearby, but expensive, take the Miami Culinary Tour of South Beach, no swimming pool access---Food and Wine Expo was nearby on the Beach....Like Gulf coast Beaches better--can have Beer and Drinks on the Gulfcoast Beaches (Pensacola, Destin, Fort Walton, Panama City), but not Miami Beach---do not know why Miami is so backwards in this regard..Staff was great

Room Tip: I bedrooms, and studios do not have views, and four 2 bedroom units have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location, a staff that is caring, warm and works hard to make sure you have a "Hilton Quality" experience. If anyone writes a bad review about this resort i'll bet they could't be made happy anywhere. GO, GO, GO !!! FRANK & ANGELA DAVIS, 2/25/2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Address: 1430 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Vacations Club Miami
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing