We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, staff is friendly and helpfu. rooms are awesome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #14 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clifton Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, staff is friendly and helpfu. rooms are awesome.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We love this location, right across from the park and beach. The staff is wonderful. The rooms are perfect. It's great to be on the brach and come back over for lunch, it;s so close. My only complaint is that the hotle does not contract with the chair venors on the beach so if you want to rent a chair and umbrella, it's 51.00 a day...cash only. It would be cheaper to buy chairs at the store and just leave them at the end of the week. It would be nice if the hotel had some chars to let the owners use. They do this in San diego. Otherwise, it's a great place. The atrt Deco weekend was going on when we were there in January and it was great fun.

Room Tip: the only rooms that face the ocean are two bedroom units, all others face the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfun628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    263
    65
    24
    9
See reviews for
311
412
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I took a girls trip to South Beach for the first time and stayed at this HGV. First off the location is incredible and so was the staff. You can walk out the door and choose any type of cuisine and be within a short walk. You can also take a jog along the beach or go lay out across the street. We are HGV owners and are now spoiled staying in 1 or 2 br places. I agree with other post that the 1 br was smaller than others but the location more than makes up for that fact. If I was with my husband and 2 kids I would have needed a 2 br. In Miami you don't need to sit inside... Enjoy the beautiful weather!!! I hope to visit again. The staff was wonderful and at all times helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our room was more like an apartment, with all kitchen facilities, living area and bedroom. We loved the location on South Beach, lots of restaurants close by and places to get breakfast. I would recommend it to anyone. A quick tip for anyone going there, it actually says 'Plaza' on the front of the hotel (instead of Hilton), so can be difficult to find in the dark!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazzar1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The location is right across from the beach and the street is alive. A wonderful place to stay and catch the sun and enjoy the ocean any time of the year. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. We love having a living area and bedroom separate so we can sit and relax from our day just like home before going out or making a meal in the room. We also enjoy being able to go to the local store to make simple meals in the well equipped kitchen to enjoy dining while on a budget or keeping close so we can go right back to the beach. Coffee on the sun deck is a relaxing way to start any day. There is also a walk way to walk, run, ride bikes or simply sit and people watch. You are on 14 and can travel down to 4 or go north and it turns into a board walk (no bikes) around 23 and goes until 45. After your ocean visit you can visit all the wonderful shops and restaurants of South Beach. From the local sandwich to upscale dining all within walking distance. Or rent a bike from Deco Bike by the hour, take a cab or us the local bus to get you where you want. After hours sit out on the front porch and watch all the people coming and going to the night life that lives in South Beach. You can always follow them to join in. Don’t worry when people stop and take a picture you can pretend it’s you however they are taking in the sites of the Art Deco which is something to see day and night. The staff at the Hilton are exceptional and will do their very best to make your stay enjoyable. While you visit South Beach take time to listen to all the various languages you hear as you enjoy your visit. It is like leaving the country without needing a passport. If you must have a dig it would be parking is a pain and it would be nice to have a pool. They do have a hot tub so given all the special extras you get from being in South Beach that not bad and I will take it over others.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in he rear of the Mc Alpin. 4 floor is possible so you can walk down the hall to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Room and kitchen is too small. Many rooms have views only of adjoining building or garbage area. No pool. TV/DVD system doesn't work. Staff is very nice but they cannot make up for physical shortcomings of hotel which is not up to HGVC standards.

Room Tip: Location is very good but physical structure of hotel leaves a lot to be desired. Room and kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandyblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay in South Beach. We regret that the accommodations were not what you have expected. Our South Beach property is a very unique historic property, that is mostly visited by our owners and guest for its characteristics and location. We understand that our amenities are very limited, however is conveniently located near world famous beaches, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. We hope to see you again in the future.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

After an exhaustive search for a hotel in South Beach for a hotel that didn't have a minimum four night stay, We came across this hotel. They accepted us for one night and put us in a lovely room. Not glamourous but extremely comfortable. A separate bedroom, living room with Kitchenette and a nice large bathroom. A great location within walking distance of everything, and the beach across the street. No views, but the rooftop deck was nice to sit on when exhausted from walking all day. The porter Alex was amazing and provided first class service for a small hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lartom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I and my wife stayed in this resort at beginning of 2013. It is a little less luxurious than other HGVC resorts (like Orlando, Las Vegas or Hawaii) but the position in the south beach is amazing, and the overall experience was really excellent. There are a small gym room, and a small jacuzzi which we used during our stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippo0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,896 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,527 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,056 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
The Confidante
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing