We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent holiday, total relaxation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #14 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An excellent holiday, total relaxation.”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The position is excellent a few yards from the beach. It is an art deco property which rather limits what can be done with it. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are not as large as other Hilton GVC properties we have stayed in and the cooking facilities although adequate are not really up to producing a full meal. There are only 2 cooking rings. We were in a one bedroom unit which was fine for 2 of us but 4 people would have been very crowded. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms were looking a little tired but I understand they are all being gradually refurbished which would answer that comment. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulF503756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    263
    65
    24
    9
See reviews for
312
412
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel right across the street from the beach. The staff was very friendly and the suites were a nice size and very clean.i would definitely stay there again. Located on ocean drive near the action but far enough away to not hear all the noise.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This resort is fantastically located. My wife and I came into town to compete in the Miami 70.3 triathlon on October 28th. We stayed here four nights. There is no swimming pool BUT you are on Ocean Drive in South Beach across the street from the beach. There are two buildings, each with a roof top jacuzzi. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance and Starbucks across the street. So you can grab your latte on your way to the beach. The Betsy hotel is next door and has a very tasty menu for breakfast and dinner. We were in a 1B/1BA suite and had a couple of guests stay with us the night before the race. The suite was large enough and accommodated four adults. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel. Since you are on Ocean Dr it can get loud for rooms facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stan279
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Grand Vacation Club at South Beach with my wife and 2 year old son who is already fast growing into a beach bum like his dad.

Like most reviews say the hotel rooms are a bit smaller than other HGVC locations but that's pretty standard for Miami Beach hotels. Our one bedroom plus suite was much bigger than other rooms I've seen in the area. We were a bit concerned that there was no pool but with the beach being so close we never got a chance to miss not having one at the hotel. The location is amazing right across from the beach and within walking distance to all kinds of stores and restaurants. It's only a 5-10 min walk (about 4-5 blocks) from the well known Lincoln Road Mall where all the restaurants and stores you could possibly want to go to are. It's definitely not loud and crazy but if that's what you're looking for it's a short walk away too.

As with all the HGVC hotels the staff was amazing and the rooms were beautiful. Can't say enough about our stay will def be coming back here again for a quick get away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stan279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night. We arrived early, around noon on Friday. The staff was extremely accommodating and got us a two room suite right away. We were checked in and walking around South Beach by 1230. If you enjoy good food, you won't be disappointed. And there is a bunch more dining available a short five minute walk away on Espanola Way. The beach is a short two minute walk directly across the street. For great views, go to the 4th floor open air/roof access. If you are looking for an ocean view room, you won't find one on ocean drive unless you pay a lot more at a hotel having more than for or five floors. Do yourself a favor and get out of the room and walk to the beach which is a much more beautiful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location on ocean drive.
Apartments good - kitchen excellent - beds a tad small for America - air con brilliant - bathrooms good - free washing facilities - quiet at night you wouldn't know you were. In the middle of the entertainment part.
Free wifi but you have to keep logging in.
Beach straight across the road .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We used our grand vacation club points for 7 nights at the mc alpine on ocean drive because we couldn't get in our home resort if Portugal as usual.
This is a great small apartment block, we had a one bedroom it would only suit 2 adults & 2 children,as they are small.
However the apartment was fantastic it was clean & quiet.
The kitchen was great as eating out is expensive, but not as much as NYC.
The air con is really good.
The bed was smaller than expected for America.
The service was good for what we had, there were plenty of lush towels, & the laundry service is free on the 4th floor.
Great location for south beach entertainment .
Beach straight opposite

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,896 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,529 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,057 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing