We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rui Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Ranked #122 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Rui Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family and I stayed here after our cruise. We wanted a day to just relax and found it here. They helped us with an early check in and also with an early check out (around 5am). They arranged a cab for us to the airport which was great. The staff was very friendly. The buffet breakfast was very good. My kids ordered pizza from the snack bar at lunch. I have to say it was good. The pool area was nice and the beach was great. My kids loved it! There is a sand bar at the beach which allows the little ones to get pretty far out. Also great for footballs or Frisbees. Older gentleman selling coconuts on the boardwalk was cool. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to stay at a hotel on the beach and not pay a ridiculous price. Great job Riu!

Room Tip: I asked for a oceanfront on the renovated side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DraginWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    666
    387
    166
    139
See reviews for
524
594
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We visited the Riu for the 3rd time with the family. As announced, restructuring work was done, and we managed to get 2 rooms not too close to the work. New rooms are fine, although one directly enters into the 'bathroom'. Service of the staff is great, friendly and our kids love the breakfast buffet and pool. It's nicely situated next to the beach: just cross the boardwalk and you enjoy the sand and sea. Also for going to South Beach, an ideal location. We will return for sure, while going to Miami.

Room Tip: Keep checking the room reservations: Riu has tendency of being overbooked and especially with late a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after returning from our cruise. We picked this location because the price, location and ratings had a good balance. The hotel was very accommodating with our early arrival. When we booked we requested an early check in but were told that they could not guarantee it, however when we arrived they offered to hold our bags in a secure area while we wait but then 5 minutes later advised us they had a room ready.

The lobby was nice and comfortable and had 30 consecutive minutes of free Internet per day otherwise you could purchase Internet time in your room. Getting off the elevator to go to the room I tripped because the floor is not level with the elevator since they had laid thick tiles on the floor. The halls also had a smell that resembled baby powder.

We were happy with the room, it was nice and clean and had a renovated bathroom. The bed looked nice but I found it too soft and it caused me to wake up with back aches, however my wife found it to be ok. We had a beautiful view of the pool and beach from our balcony but found out the hard way that they had done some painting of the white balcony waĺls and didn't have any warning, so when I leaned against the wall I got white paint residue on the back of my black shirt. I was not able to get it all out in the bathroom sink but when I complained to the manager he had it sent out for cleaning.

The pool was nice and we were able to get deck chairs by the pool easily. They had poolside towel service which was nice. I was surprised to find out that the beach chairs and umbrellas in front of the hotel were not from the hotel and had a pricy rental charge if you wanted to use them. We chose to lay a towel on the sand instead. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful and enjoyed our stay. They have a shuttle to the airport but you have to pay. We found the restaurant to be priced high but found a Subway restaurant just down the street.

I think I would stay here again as long as the prices stayed competitive.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdoug72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for five days in the beginning of may with a girlfriend. Reception was warm and welcoming and check in took about two minutes. Our room was on the tenth floor and renovated. It was lovely, clean, and modern. There was no balcony in our room which was a bummer and the view was mostly of the construction next door, but we didnt come to miami for the room so we didnt care. The noise of the construction did not bother us at all during our stay.
The pool area is very nice and never felt over crowded. The pool bar was nice and had good service. Prices were reasonable for Miami standards. We also are lunch there as well. The food is good but nothing to knock your socks off.
The beach off of the property is amazing! Clear water and once again didnt seem overly crowded. Since we are both in our twenties a slightly more party atmosphere would have been nice, however the action in south beach is only a 15 minute cab ride away. The rui made a nice compromise of being quiet and relaxing but close to the party spots. We figured out cabs hang out in the alley next to the hotel so we never had trouble getting one.
The only minor complaint is the size of the elevators, they are tiny and there are only two so sometimes we had to wait awhile. But that's a minor issue.
Overall I would stay again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roozer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Bch, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here Easter weekend and found that the price was really good for the location and the amenities provided. This is a good hotel for families. The pool was really nice and relaxing and the beach was easy to access. I decided to write this review so I could let the management know how much we liked pool attendants. They were very nice and gave my nephew extra attention which made us all happy. Also on the day we left, my nephew left a bag with his souvenir stuffed animals on the front steps of the hotel. We didn’t realize this till we got the airport. We left on a Sunday and the stuffed animals made it home Friday. We were impressed with their speed and care shipping them home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolina27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

When we arrived the rooms were not ready and had to wait a few hours.

Had to get Valet parking which was very good. The parking attendants were friendly and had our car ready usually within 5-10 minutes.

The rooms themselves were very clean and updated (renovated ones). We didnt spend much time in the rooms but came with cable and all the necessities.

Food was a bit too much for the buffet. We went out to eat most of the time and enjoyed doing that as opposed to staying at the resort. In the back there was a lounging area with a pool but it was fairly small and closed off before you get to the beach.

The beach itself was a bit dirty, it was covered in sea weed and you had to pay an extra fee, not sure how much for the chairs or umbrella but it was a separate company that deals with the guests.

There was construction going on outside which you could hear as early as 7 in the morning since they are jam packing more resorts in there. We faced the street and were on the 7th floor but it was still audible in the morning.

Overall it was an alright stay but nothing special or anything that stands out.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room. The other rooms that have not been updated are apparently a real let down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have just returned home from an amazing holiday to Clearwater and Miami. We drove down to the Riu on Miami beach after a 4 night stay in Clearwater, it was a great experience and great fun in the Mustang convertible. This is our second stay at the Riu and it was just as great as the last time. The staff are very helpful and the room was really lovely as they have been renovated. It is a brilliant location with a beautiful beach, we were very lucky to have had very hot sunny days. Loved the rental bikes on south beach, very convenient and good fun. Hoping to return in September for another magical holiday. Thank you to all the staff at the Riu for a wonderful stay. You must try the breakfast buffet!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison_martin303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#116 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Miami Beach
#97 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
The Confidante
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Address: 3101 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing