We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool and Beach great - hotel and room need help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Ranked #93 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pool and Beach great - hotel and room need help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I recently stayed here for 3 nights...The pool and beach access are terrific. We had great weather so spent most of our time at the pool. But the hotel was less than stellar. Lobby smelled very musty, mildewy - didn't spend any time there. Check in was slow, room on 5 th floor - paid extra for balcony-ocean view - had bugs. When I called the front desk they sent up a woman who didn't speak english with a can of raid for me to spray around the room! Not! The walls are thin - I could hear voices, baby crying on both sides of my room. Room was not clean - parts of the carpet did not look as if it had been vacuumed recently. Hallways smelled like a gallon of febreeze had been sprayed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaknhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    764
    438
    176
    152
See reviews for
631
683
41
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We went to spent our annyversary weekend and the hotel turn out to be very good with the budget..you can't find a wonderful ocean view and near to south beach with this range..make sure you get the ocean view with king bed..the extra money from normal rooms worth for the view..

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arindam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanaimo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

we arrived to the Rio after being on a cruise the grounds are beautiful the staff was helpful but the rooms are not up to the caliber that you would find the other Riu hotels. The rooms are very defeated and you would find use in a one star hotel.but the staff were nice the pool area is excellent and the location is great. There is a good little breakfast place just down the road and the subway sandwiches. There is a bus that goes direct to the airport from there. And Lincoln Street is only a6 dollar cab ride with you can find every restaurant you can think of. I would stay here again but I would pay the upgrade fee to go to view room. I travel a lot on vacations so my review I think is right on.I paid $159.00 per night on bookit.com I wouldn't pay more.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fessiambre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stay for a few night before a cruise. Nice clean hotel with a great pool and beach. Was close to some restaurants and local grocery store where we were able to pick up the pre-cruise items (bottled water, soda and small cooler). Cost for a cab to the port was only $20 bucks. Close to all the "South Beach" fun, 20 block walk or a $10 cab ride, we did it both ways. Went to the breakfast buffet was not bad, typical breakfast buffet. They were going to allows us to come back and use the facilities after the cruise since we had a late flight but choose to do a different activity, but was nice to know we would have nice place to spend the afternoon before the flight home.

The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. We will stay at this location again when we return to Miami

Room Tip: Go with an ocean view worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Disclaimer: I have had stayed here before and I got decent price from Hotwire.

Location: Great, close to action on south beach, on beach front, direct beach access and towels

Room: OK- they were having construction going on so we had to change our room twice due to noise, but the staff was accommodating

Hotel service: Breakfast spread is huge, but paid for and expensive for the money. When we were their there one of the elevators were under repair and had to wait long to be squeezed in one elevator only

Pool: Decent size, by the bar

Special shout to the person taking care of towels on the pool area- good humorous guy.

Room Tip: Their ocean front rooms with balcony have good views, or the corner rooms on backside come with good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Recently spent a night here prior to boarding our cruise ship. Wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. Had one of the newly-renovated rooms which was really nice. No old carpeting to worry about, just ceramic tile and lots of white in the color scheme. Beautiful frosted door on the bathroom and a huge glass shower. The staff were wonderful to deal with. Yes, there was construction going on at the time, but we didn't spend enough time in the room to worry about it. If you venture through the lobby and out the back entrance, you go by the pool and you come to the boardwalk. It runs both ways and is right on the beach. Lovely and shaded in spots with somewhere to sit out of the sun with lots of plants around.
We tried the buffet at the hotel, not cheap, but the food was excellent and the selection was great. Good place to stay if you want to be on the beach and close enough to walk to liquor stores and small shops. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were not notified beforehand of the construction right by the room. It goes on from 10 a.m. to 7 pm. They refuse to refund or switch our room. They charge you for WiFi. The rooms smell like mold. The elevators smell like weed! Need I say more? Stay away!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bnt4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Croydon
#46 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
AC Hotel Miami Beach
#89 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#15 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Address: 3101 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing