We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Ranked #93 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is in an okay location...and the pool/beach area is very nice as well as the lobby.
The rooms however need an overhaul, outdated furniture, old carpet...also very strong mildew/mouldy smell.
They were completely overhauling some rooms already ..down to the bare walls...so construction noise. The front desk and concierge were helpful. There are bus stops very close by so easy access to south beach and the bus (airport bus).
We did not eat there...there is a subway and a few little cafes about 2 blocks south.
Until they get the room renovations completed I wouldn't stay here unless the price is right.

Room Tip: request quiet seaview room,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamaical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

As far as location I like that it was right on the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool area was beautiful. Check in went smoothly. When we got to our floor we noticed the base board of the walls were torn off and the hallway just looked raggedy but on the 3rd day of our stay the walls were fixed. Our room was nicely decorated but it was dusty and had a pee/mildew smell. Also during our stay the elevators went out of order and we had to take the stairs to and from the 6th floor that whole day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceprincess_327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

aesthetically outdated but great value for the location, being a beachfront property and directly in collins ave... parking is $22 per day but there's a public parking lot nearby, did not eat at the restaurant, pool is great, staff is genuinely friendly but my sense is that their customer service policies are not as strict, thin walls, outdated patio furniture, terraces are accessible from neighbors rooms so security is a concern... but a great value if traveling as a group with no many valuables... there's some construction on the properties nearby but not a lot of noise... would def come back, hope they choose to renovate but keep their prices...

Room Tip: book at least 4-5 months ahead of time....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hereherehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place close to south
beach, nice pool and beachfront property. We had a free balcony upgrade with great ocean view. Staff was friendly but, extremely busy. Parking fee and resturant food was just average and bit pricey. Great Cuban resturant down th street and subway.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chatyo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I would venture to say out of a total of 195 hotels... There probably is 95 worse than this place. Our experience here was not so great. This hotel has absolutely beautiful grounds...top notch & well manicured. The location is right on the ocean & about a 6 min drive north of South Beach. Very peaceful area of Miami Beach. The ocean / beach / pool...grounds view from balcony is grand. The lobby area is very nice in appearance. These things ARE what's nice about this hotel. The valet was very disorganized & seemed to only have One attendant. Wait was lengthy just to check in my car...one person ahead of me. Check in took close to 45 min (with several clerks present) to ask how may I help you? & along with myself at the counter, were 2 other people either checking in or out..not sure. This area seemed to be very disorganized also. We had a double queen room. The great thing here was the view. Balcony is nice size, however, you are supplied w/ 2 $8.00 plastic chairs like you buy at Walmart & a matching table for furniture. And, literally the balconies are divided by a 4 ft wall between them. Every balcony had the $8.00 furniture. The furniture in the room...at least our room...was very very outdated. Including the old style hotel phones. The only up to date piece was the flat screen tv. Beds were ok..we slept. They were not plush by any means, nor was bedding. It included a frig however, it barely cooled drink containers ( food would spoil). Flooring old. The absolute worst thing was this room was crawling with tiny ants... Everywhere! We had the impression this room hadn't been used recently and / or was not cleaned thoroughly. Did not try food here. Went across street to Barok at Red South Beach to eat. Again, great location...beautiful grounds...are the plus!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Have just been reading latest reviews and very surprised. We have just arrived back after 14 days and were treated superbly. Few problems with rooms but reception sorted out the issues straight away. Lots of renovations going on so a few hick ups we had to change rooms 3 times but all done smoothly. All staff very helpful especially breakfast staff (breakfast plenty for all and loads of choice) and evening bar staff very friendly.......we found that if you treated the staff with respect then they gave 150% back. I have actually witnessed guests speaking to staff with little respect and being very rude there is no need for it you are on holiday so chill its not a 5 star hotel if you want more then go and pay more. Location very good, local bus picks up at front of hotel, get the 120 service to the Mall, booked Sawgrass through the little shop again, you can walk to Lincoln road but if not then a taxi is only $7. Boardwalk right outside the back gate so loads of options.
Thanks to all the staff at Riu yet again this year, already looking at next years booking. We were a party of 4 and all enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If your staying more than 3 days nice to have a balcony. We liked level 9 and 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank didcotoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Location is not the best in South Beach, but the few blocks walk or a cab ride is worth the experience at this hotel. Feels like traveling outside the country, maybe somewhere in South America. it's a great ambiance, good service, friendly stuff. The pool and back yard is to dream for!!! i will go back with no question asked!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,733 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#64 of 212 in Miami Beach
5,535 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Address: 3101 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $202 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing