We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont expect it to be like the Caribbean Rius”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Ranked #92 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Dont expect it to be like the Caribbean Rius”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in July 2013. We have stayed at many other Rius in the past. What you need to realize is that due to US laws that prohibit all inclusive resorts, this hotel is not the same as the others you may have experienced.
Pros: As with all Rius, the lobby is quite lavish. It is beachfront with a private access from the boardwalk. It has a separate kids pool with a gate to keep the little ones from wandering. If you wish to eat there, breakfast and dinner are available buffet style. The concierge is very helpful and there is wifi available in the lobby. There is a charge for wifi in the rooms. The elevators are new. All rooms have mini fridges...
Cons: As the hotel is old, the rooms are quite small and not many have balconies which seems to be a common problem in this area. They are being renovated.The stairwells stink if you like to walk the stairs. There is major construction directly to the north. Our view was terrible but the noise wasn't that bad. If you have a car, prepare to pay $22 a night for valet parking. There is no other option for parking. The valets also expect a tip each time you need your car. Although the buffet was handy, it can get expensive as breakfast is around $18 per person and dinner is $27 per person and that does not include drinks or gratuities.
Overall it is not a bad hotel and if you don't spend much time in your room there is not much to complain about. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. There is a little Cuban style café within a couple of blocks for breakfast and buses run frequently within a minute from the hotel to the South beach areas where there is a huge variety of restaurants. The fact that it is so close to the beach would make us consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the north side of the property due to construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martininblack63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    786
    453
    182
    154
See reviews for
651
726
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Having read the previous posts on this hotel my husband and I were quiet anxious about staying here for our four night stay prior to our holiday in the Turks and Caicos to the extent that I sent an email advising of my worries. Upon arrival we were great by extremely friendly staff who tried to upgrade us to an ocean view room as we my email request but this would have been awkward for our little boy as a toddler bed would not have fitted in the room on offer. We went along with the room they had already planned for us and wow! First impressions yes the corridor did have a slight smell of damp however over our four night stay this has evaporated. The room did have a dirty cloth in the bathroom however the rest of the room was spotless, cleaned every day by extremely friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent although I do suggest you beat the 9 o'clock rush as getting there for 8 seemed a lot easier and not as busy. Again friendly staff. We did not eat in the hotel for dinner although we did drink in the hotel bar again met by friendly staff. Location is perfect for us a taxi rank just around the corner and not very expensive to take us to the various points of interest we wanted to see. All in all we found the hotel a great deal better than our expectations and as an ex-travel agent based in the UK I have stayed in numerous hotels. Please don't be put off by the reviews I'm so glad we weren't as this has definitely been worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MummyBage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good breakfast buffet. A lot of choice and quite tasty.

It has a nice pool. It closes fairly early to be cleaned, but that is necessary because it gets dirty quickly. You get a card with your room key that you can use to get pool towels.

It is located very close to the boardwalk, the beach and the ocean. There is also a back exit you can use to get there quickly.

When I was there, construction was going on at the hotel next door. It was very noisy then. This hotel can't help that, but it was unfortunate.

The valet was not very patient when we arrived. We were not used to valet services so we felt rushed and uncomfortable. All the other members of staff were nice, professional and helpful. Spanish seems to be the predominant language among the staff members.

The beds were a bit small. There is no free internet in the room. There is free internet in the lobby but it is very slow and not easy to get access.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raptyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good standard 3 star hotel. Great place for a short stay. Rooms need updating but are large and clean. Pool area really nice with lots of shade. Beach is lovely with clear warm water. Loved the walk along the Broadwalk. (about 25 minutes to Ocean Drive). Not a fault of the hotel but all around the area is one big building site at the moment.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better (quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The wife and I stayed here for a week before taking a cruise. It's the second time we've stayed at the hotel.

There has been a bit of decorating since we were last here giving a much needed fresher, more modern look in the rooms.

The rooms are large and clean - the maids (very friendly) come in daily. Decently appointed with TV, Ice bucket, easily enough furniture for a weeks worth of clothes. There was also a safe deposit box in the room, hired for a few dollars per day. One could argue that the rooms aren't quite as modern as in some hotels. However, i'm not sure that a more modern room would have made the holiday any more or less enjoyable.

Breakfast, as always, was great. There's a big selection of items laid out buffet style plus an omelette station too. The breakfast here really sets you up for the day. We tended to go for a walk on the beach after breakfast to try and burn a few of the calories off!
This is one of the main selling points of this hotel. It's right on the beach front. If you don't want to walk on the beach itsself then there is a boardwalk along the back of the beach. I believe it goes all the way to south beach but i'm not entirely certain on that point.

We had a few bar snacks but didn't really eat at night in the hotel so I don't have much to say about evening meals.

The indoor and outdoor bars were decent enough. We had a few drinks at both and the staff were always pleasant.

The outdoor pool area was also pleasant. We didn't use this much as we were either on the beach or out and about. Towels were available here which could be exchanged for clean ones at any time. A nice point is that you could also take your hotel towel out onto the beach to use if you wished.

There was also a gym in the hotel which I didn't bother to use. I'm on holiday, afterall!

We used the concierge a couple of times - he was very helpful and informative.

As mentioned in the review title, this hotel is a decent base. It's far enough away from the hustle and bustle of South Beach that one can have a quiet holiday if one chooses. It's also near enough that one can get to the busy part if one wants to. We often walked to places such as Lincoln Road Mall and used the public bus to get a bit further afield (ie, Bayside, South Pointe).

I'd stay here again. It's no 5 star hotel but it doesn't profess to be.

Room Tip: Get a floor near an ice machine. Then you can take your beers to the beach! :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gruff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

ok rooms. make sure to get ocean view with balcony. they dont tell you at the bar but the service charge of 18% is already included in the bill yet there is still a line for the tip. we found this all over miami beach even at fridays!! look at your bills. chairs and umbrellas on the beach can be 30$ day. if you are staying a week buy your own chair at walgreens down the street and just rent the umbrella $10. jet skiing on the beach was 100 for 30 mins. miami beach is beautiful. we were in orlando for a week and spur of the moment we decided to go to south beach. about 3 hr drive awesome !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've been at this hotel in 2008 and 2010, we've always have a pleasant stay. Staff was very polite, helpfull and always smiling. Rooms were just good, not exellent. Breakfast was very good, good timing and a very large variety of diferent types of food. This time our third stay we've booked for just two nights. We arrive at the hotel about 4pm on July 12 staff was rude ask for copies of id's off us all (my wife, daughter and me) in some unplesant way. Not smiling at all, not greeting at all. They asigned us a room in 9 floor. There is a construction going on near the building, the hotel has 10 stories from the 9th floor you can hear the hammer in your head. Despite that we went to the beach, at this hotel you have to pick the towels by the pool, we picked 3 towels, the towels smelled like used ones. By 10pm we went to bed. At 4.15 pm we hear screams and laughs coming from next room. We call the front desk no one answer. We wait for about 10 minutes then call again and we have to let the front desk that we are going to call 911 if the don't stop the noise, they stop about 3 minutes later. At 8am we have a great drill wake up. We decided to go shopping, but before that we would like to take a bath. The bathroom smells tobaco, someone was smoking on another bathroom
So we do us a favor and decided to check out early. We went to the front desk asked for check out, for our surprise nobody asked us about why we were leaving early.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#102 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Miami Beach
AC Hotel Miami Beach
#81 of 208 in Miami Beach
459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Address: 3101 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing