We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Ranked #91 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff ”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed At this hotel for 6 days and we had a really good time, the hotel is clean and the staff are always willing to help you with information booking trips etc.. Our room was so nice we booked a sea view and it was definitely worth it waking up to the crystal clear blue sea every morning. The hotel is right on the beach which was good as you could just walk through a gate and you were there. This hotel isn't right in the centre of south beach but we preferred it as it was more quiet. There are a few shops up the road from the hotel like a grocery store but it was expensive. The pool in the hotel was nice there was lots of umbrellas for shade which was good the pool was also warm and not freezing cold which was good. The only bad thing about this hotel would be the lifts , they take forever in the morning as people are going to breakfast.  Overall we would come back to this hotel again as everyone was so friendly and it was clean .  

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    777
    447
    180
    153
See reviews for
636
719
41
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

first of all this is quit a nice hotel wich offes a big breakfast buffet and a dinner one,the room are clean with big with confy beds.
The pool is quit small for such a big hotel but it is right at the beach so its not that bad.
the only downside is that the hotel is quit far of everything.The hotel around it are all closed downe and u can see that the area had its haydays.
You can walk at the beachfront all the way to miami center where all the bars and shops are but it will take u good 20 min, and at night i would recomend to take a taxi as the area is not the best one.
if all you looking for on you holiday is to releax at the pool or beach this is a great hotel but if you do want the night life and shops have a look around and book a differnt hotel this one will NOT be the one for you

Room Tip: if you do want a night out take a taxe for about 10$ to the center and go to Wet Willys its a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank puss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

You only get one beach towel which I thought was stupid. You have to give yourself at least 10minutes to use te elevator because it gets very packed. Know u will be using stairs. One Half of the staff was friendly the other was very nasty and did not have manners. The bathroom and tub was tiny along with the room-double occupancy. No room service. I would for sure pay an extra $100 to stay on the strip. Buffet ws over priced and crowded.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BXKilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

First off, From the second walking into the hotel, we had no help bringing our luggage in. The hotel elevators are unbearably slow, and not to mention they haven't been inspected since 2008, according to the inspection stickers. They also made very weird noises. The hotel staff was extremely rude, and didn't help answer any of our questions. My family and I paid $90 (4 of us) for the breakfast buffet, which ends at 10AM. The staff removed the food before we even finished eating. We pleaded that they leave the food, but they refused. We asked for a refund, since we had barely began to eat, and the Hotel Manager, word for word said, "You should have eaten faster." That wasn't the worst of the problems. Every day we received pizza flyers under our hotel room door, for companies that did not even exist. They stole our credit card information, and said that it happens all the time and there was nothing they could do to stop the people from putting them under our door. They also did not warn us about these flyers, which would have been nice. The beach chairs are not included with the hotel, and cost $11 a chair per day. We were extremely disappointed with the lack of respect from the hotel management, as they gave us no consideration at all. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. Pay the extra $100 a night and stay at the Eden Roc, located down the street. Extremely disappointed.


P.S. There is no room service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights, from 6 to 16 May 2012 to celebrate my partners birthday. The hotel is very impressive especially the lobby, rooms very spacious and clean. The staff are friendly especially Alex the bar man who made the most delicious cocktails and kept me and my partner entertained.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the buffett breakfast was very good with plenty of choice from cereal to eggs, sausages and bacon, the bacon was always very well done so beware those with weak teeth! The dinner was quite expensive but there are plenty of places to eat in Ocean Drive which is approx. 10 mins bus ride away, lovely seafood and cut price drinks.

We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo3890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is really a nice place to stay. It is north of south beach so it is quiet and at the same time accessible to tourist areas. It is right on the beach so that is convieniant and the pool area is nice with a highlight being the pool bar. Very good drinks and the food is good, although service is a bit slow. Staff is very helpful in setting up tours and know the area well. The hotel is very quiet and is a great place to relax. The rooms are very clean and I would suggest a room with a balcony as the views are wonderful facing the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ta060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#104 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,977 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Miami Beach
AC Hotel Miami Beach
#83 of 208 in Miami Beach
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Miami Beach EDITION
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Address: 3101 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing