We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Ranked #91 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed May 12, 2011

+ good location, excellent complimentary breakfast

- Valet didn't offer any help. Desk staff was too free and easy. Rooms were not up to standard. Lousy view.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah196812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 2,037 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

We visited from England for a week in April 2011, (Bed & Breakfast only) for a belated honeymoon.

We had a fantastic time and the hotel exceeded our expectations, the good outweighed the bad!

This hotel was one of the cheaper ones in our brochure so we didn't quite expect standards to be so high.

Good Points: Beautiful Pool, location for beach - A*, Food at breakfast brilliant lots of choice and hot, very clean, friendly staff. We drank every evening in the bar, the cocktails were delicious, but not much atmosphere.

Bad Points
- Valet Parking $18 per24hrs but pricey everywhere in Miami then of course plus tips each time you take the car out and return it!! Also we felt the valet parkers were using the car at night when we had finished with it for the day, as the petrol was going down, mileage clock going up, passenger seat adjusted considerably, radio station changed, we even found a random CD in the CD player!!!! However we did not work this out until last couple of days and it was a hire OK so we found it funny, had it been my own car I would have gone mad!!
-Location to bars and restaurants and shops was a good 30 minute walk, and it hot weather not fun! Would have loved the hotelmoved a few blocks!!!
-View from room was scaffolding right accross the window and could not open window at all. Found it difficult to dry swimwear.

WIFI was meant to be free for 1 hr and chargeable after that, but we somehow got it free all week!?

In general we found Miami lots of fun, trendy and exciting but food and drink was very expensive and poor quality.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stayinsync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

It started with the parking boys. Not friendly and rude! Inside they couldn't find out reservation. And told us we had the wrong date? W're from Europe! The day and month is turned around! Duh...
The room.... Damn - old and crappy! Like Miami vice Style (80's)
i 've been to cheaper places. And had better service!
Slow internet - 12,80 à day.
In the hall - 1 hour free. But That was so slooooow.
Advise: get à hotel thats à bit more expensive but with free parking - free internet - and little kids eat for Free. And most of all, service with à smile.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sap-rdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Don´t go there! Waste of money!!!!Stinks,bad food,went to have an evening meal(buffet),the meat was hard,veggies were overcooked,it´s 2,5-3 stars hotel,a hell place.Nobody speaks English,the rooma were sting(chea,very cheap perfume,probably to kill insects),i did not want to touch anything,was afraid to get some disease,breakfast was like a bee house,overcrouded,the same choice every morning! Don´t go there!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shakirarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The service is great! I have been to posh hotels where they treat you well because they know how much you spent to be there, but they were lacking in hospitality.
The Rui was quite a bargain and the staff was mannerly and courteous!
I would go a ton of times again!!!
The only thing I would make better is the scent. It wasnt stinky, but that ocean smell is not my fave. Some plug-ins couldn't hurt.
If nothing else, go for the amazing breakfast spread. You name it, they have it: every day!!
I love :-)

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dara_shani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Not a bad place, just a let down. Shower pressure was barely there. Clean, friendly staff, much cheaper than staying at the Palm hotel which was next door and the reason we stayed there (spa at the Palm is very nice).

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustSam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The Riu Miami has a fantastic location, beautiful pool facility, and beach access, but the highlights end there. Our room was worse than a trucker motel, but we did book through Hotwire, which made us think the hotel puts their discount guests in a certain area. Our toilet seat would not stay up, the bathroom door blocked entrance to the sink, red stains all over the carpet, burn holes and ashtrays in a non-smoking room, and it looked like it had not been renovated since the late 1960's. Bartenders were super busy, but also super snotty. I used to be bartender in my early 20's and when you are busy, yes it can be challenging, but ALL of the patrons were irritated with our bartenders (some even got into verbal arguments). They were very unfriendly, and did not tell us they already put a tip on our bill, so for bad service we ended up tipping over 35%. The reception desk employees on the other hand were very nice, even though they put us in a dirty, old room, but did give us a courtesy room to shower before we had to catch our plane. If you are looking for a great beachfront location and don't mind old, dirty rooms, this is the hotel for you. To give the hotel the benefit of the doubt, I bet if you book through them and pay premium prices you will get a beautiful beachfront room, but we did not take that route.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linleyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#103 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Miami Beach
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Miami Beach
AC Hotel Miami Beach
#74 of 212 in Miami Beach
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#34 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Address: 3101 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $188 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing