We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true oasis”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #47 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true oasis”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was my first visit to the Savoy and I was a little anxious whether it would meet my very high hopes/expectations. I tend to be a bit high maintenance but once I arrived it didn't take long before the place had completely charmed me. My reservation was honored to a tee and check in was fast and convienent. The location is second to none--the beach access and views could not be more perfect. Ocean drive has excellent restaurants, nightlife just steps away but somehow the hotel property maintains an amazingly relaxing secluded (and quiet!) setting. The rooms are clean and spacious and the in-room refrigerator and microwave (and nearby drugstore) were really convenient. This is a room you will be able to 'live' in not just sleep. The pools are lovely, very well maintained (the heated pool was like a warm bath) and the staff there keep things running like clockwork. It is clear they take pride in the place and in caring for the guests. If you are looking for a wild or swanky South Beach experience this may not be your spot but for a beautiful and relaxing beach vacation it simply doesn't get better than this!! The balcony, pool & beach were seriously therapeutic and I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    590
    173
    76
    35
See reviews for
612
631
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Whenever you book a hotel based on the good reviews it received there is that nervous feeling of whether or not it will live up to the expectations and I am glad to say that in Savoy's case, my expectations were met (and even exceeded sometimes). So here's the recap of my stay. Have fun, fellow travelers :)

Booking: I booked through Hotels.com as they had a nice promotion going on in January but at the time of check in I did not have any issues just because the reservation was through a third party. Check in was quick and smooth. I had done my research and booked the pool view room. It can make a lot of difference. More on that in the next section :)

Room: This is the biggest wild card in this hotel (and part of the reason, I think, why the Hotel gets mixed or bad reviews from some travelers). The ones facing the pool have real nice views and good balconies. The ones that don't, well..don't :) As an added bonus, many of the pool view rooms have a partial view of the beach and ocean beyond. Ours did :)
One more tip: the higher the floor the better. Now, the part of the hotel we stayed in had only 3 floors so if you are in that one, you want to be on the third floor.

The hotel itself and the rooms, of course do show a few signs of it's age (especially the bathrooms in the room) but not to an extent that it becomes a show stopper. It's something that at least I could live with given the other good trade offs like nice pool, direct beach access, location etc. So, unless you are someone who prefers a brand new swanky hotel built recently with ultra modern amenities, you will be fine.

Beach access: LOVED it!! You have to visit Miami beach (South beach) a few times to realize how important this direct beach access can be. There are other Hotels between 6 th and 17th street (most of the art deco hotels in fact) where it's a reasonably long walk from the beach AND you have to cross a busy street (Ocean drive). Nothing like that for the Savoy.

Pool: Definitely a strong point for this hotel. Two pools-one heated, other one not. Both well maintained and clean and big. In fact, this was one of the pool areas that did turn out to be "as advertized" (sometimes Hotels use really nice photography techniques to make pool areas appear nicer than they actually are- that wasn't the case here)

Vibe: This one is a toss up. As many fellow travelers have noted, this is NOT your "party 24X7" South beach hotel. If you want that, you have options like SLS, Cleavelander etc. Savoy tends to have more "well behaved", family with kids type of crowd and can be quiet. Sometimes too quiet :)

Parking: Suck up and pay the $30 a day parking fee folks. This is South beach and that's the norm. You aren't going to get any Hotel that doesn't charge parking fees. And most hotels hover around that $30/night rate so I won't say it's the Hotel's fault. The only interesting (and frankly a bit disappointing) thing though is that the state of Florida collects a 7% sales tax on the parking rate!!!! So your $30 parking becomes $32.10. Add in the tips for valet and it's more like $35-40 a night but as I said that's not just this Hotel it is any hotel in South Beach.

Valet: No complains, valet guys were very quick to bring our car every time we used it. Special Kudos to Michael- real nice guy.
Front desk- Courteous and efficient. Didn't have any issues with front desk staff at all.

Resort fee: I read a lot of comments about this ($18/night) but again, not uncommon for the area and they do provider wi fi and towel service at the pool and chairs and umbrella at the beach so that covers it. If you checked in really late the first night (which, in winter time is 4-30 PM or later) you can request politely at the time of check out to see if they will waive the fee for that night and if you ask nicely, chances are that they will. At least that was my experience to I felt good :) By the way did I tell you that there is a sales tax, and a county tax and a city tax on top of that resort fee too? It's not exorbitant but with all taxes added the fees do go from $18 to about $20- just so you know.


Location: I am not going to write too much about it. South beach- On ocean drive. Do I need to say more? Lots of great places to eat/drink/shop within a 15 minute walking distance.

On site restaurant: Very decent. Good menu and quick service. I ordered fish tacos and Mohito and both were pretty good. Nice option if you don't feel like venturing out.

My tips: In Savoy's case, the hotel itself is an attraction (i.e. this is not one of those hotels which you will use just as a place to crash at night) so plan your trip keeping that in mind. Check in early on your first day if at all possible. Their check in time is 4 but I think they accommodate one or two hours early. Also check out late if possible. The time is Noon but again they may accommodate an extra hour or two.

Get that pool view room on higher floor and just relax :)

Verdict: I may choose this hotel again if I am visiting Miami beach again. My sweet spot for the pool view room will be $250 a night for a pool view room (including taxes but not including other fees like parking and resort fees) which based on my research is rare but doable.

Room Tip: Tips are in the review. Please read :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG1979077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We love staying in this hotel, it's one of the few with beach and close to all the action on Ocean Drive.
Room size is great and you can get wonderful views.
There is only one thing that needs to be improved, the shower goes from hot to cold in a second, so when you are showering you may freeze while the water warms up again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deniseworlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Savoy Hotel. It is in a perfect location that is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk anywhere. The pool area was so beautiful we wanted to just stay there all day to enjoy the sun and the heated pool. The staff at the Savoy are professional, courteous and always so helpful. They attend to your every need. The food at the restaurant was excellent. I will definitely go back and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our only regret was that we didn't have a balcony. Try to get one when you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getzville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is my third stay and the property keeps getting better! The location is great because you have the best of both worlds - close to everything but without all the noise. And it's one of the few hotels that has direct access to the beach (I love not having to walk across the street every time). The staff is awesome and the rooms are very comfortable, nice size with a living room area. Obviously we like it because we keep going back, (and I've gone with a group of friends too) but it's especially nice to see that they are continually looking for ways to make the property even better. Never disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the Savoy for 3 night prior to our cruise and really enjoyed it. The location is hard to beat with great access to Ocean drive and all the action as well as awesome beach access as well. The horseshoe design of the resort, with very nice pool and common area, was also very private. There was lots of deck and pool area so everyone could spread out or if you preferred walk a 100 feet out to the beach. As advertised guests have access to chairs and umbrellas out on the beach as well as servers offering bar service. We ate at the restaurant multiple times and enjoyed our breakfast as well as some excellent fish tacos and crab cakes at lunch. Our only complaint would be our room, ocean view #106, was a little tired looking and could use a refurbishment.

Room Tip: As many people have commented on you really do want an inside room with pool or ocean view as the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This property is absolutely amazing. Love the hotel. The secluded and tightly managed property makes you feel like you are on an island far away. But the reality is the you are in the middle of all that South Beach has to offer. The rooms are clean and big with spectacular views. The service is responsive and very friendly. The property offers a restaurant for breakfast and drinks, with great pool and beach service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#73 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing