We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a "First Class" experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #51 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“a "First Class" experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just completed a 4 day sty, and we couldn't be happier with this place. First of all the location in relation to the art deco strip on ocean blvd could not have been better. Located between 4th and 5th right on ocean you are within easy walking distance to all the activities, restuarants, bars, etc. Yet the hotel itself is located in a much quieter reserved area. The hotel itself has an old world european vibe with 2 three story buildings creating a beautifully landscaped pool/courtyard area. there is direct access to the beach where the hotel provides chairs and umbrellas for the guests (i can't say at no charge, as the hotel does charge a $15.00 daily activities fee). we had a 0ne bedromm suite which was furnished very well. The room was in good condition with no maintenence issues. Our biggest dissappointment was when we found there was no balcony. it turns out that most rooms do not have these, and the ones that do (facing the pool and ocean) go for a higher rate. We were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff whether it be the front desk, restuarant/bar,or outdoor servers. In particular, Ray one of the front desk agents, and Cian at the restaurant/bar were very helpful--and just nice people in general. i should also mention the young lady who works as an outdoor server for the pool and the beach. Unfortunately I did not get her name, but what a nice person. No comment regarding the food/dining as we never ate there--just too many options in the area available for such a short stay.
If you happen to be there on any weekend, I would suggest walking down to South point park (4 blks south) to catch the cruise ship departures the start at 4;00 pm. the are really close as the navigate the channel out to sea. The park itself is beautiful and a great place to see the sun go down.
As I said a great experience. We have definitly added the savoy to our "must return" list

Room Tip: third floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stock1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    585
    171
    75
    34
See reviews for
601
623
43
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in The Savoy for a week middle of November. Suite 324 with oceanview! Perfect! I think this suite is the crownjuwel from the hotel! A nice suite with 3 balconies, poolview , oceanview! Top notch! Housekeeping great! Lovely personnel! Helpfull and kind! All staff, @ frontdesk, @lobby @valetparking, @pool and beach just perfect! We stayed with a 1,5 year old kiddo! This hotel deserves an extra star! Brilliant! Thank you Savoy for making our stay a dream! The Dutch will return forsure!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Right by the beach and a bit outside of the buzz of South Beach. Pool is great, you can walk to the beach, restaurants, bars, etc.
Staff is very nice!
We could see the pool and the beach from our room. Shame the windows were all dirty, probably because it was raining a lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool/beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Biker_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is located in the centre of all activity in South Beach. It is right on the beach with dedicated beach chairs and a pool. Although it is an old hotel it provides all that is required to make a short or long stay enjoyable.

It is also great value for money. I used Deal Angel, a wonderful app to track prices in Miami Beach before booking and found The Savoy always among the best deals.

Highly Recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

In the madness of south beach this hotel is perfectly situated for the beach, bars and restaurants and shops. The staff are attentive and very friendly. We will definitely stay here again, despite our room overlooking the parking garage! We should have opted for a balcony!

Room Tip: Splash out on a balcony. It was our only regret! Room 209 has two balconies!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissP143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Savoy was a great place to stay in South Beach. We were only there for 1 night and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My Mom and Dad were given a beautiful upgrade when we told the front desk that it had been a rough morning for them. The beach was beautiful and we enjoyed the food and beverage service. The beach access included 2 chairs and an umbrella with each room. Thanks so much for making our stay a great one. We hope to be back.

Room Tip: The rooms are very spacious. Ocean view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieH555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We chose The Savoy due to the location and pictures looked great, we were not disappointed on arrival. Nestled right at the start of Ocean Drive this is in a great position for walking the lively strip any time of day. The decor and style of the property is lovely and our room, 316, was absolutely stunning with a huge bright position and a lovely large bath. The jacuzzi function didn't work but we didn't report it as we were so pleased with the room it didn't matter. The staff are some of the best we have ever had the pleasure of meeting, Ray on reception was fantastic and gave us some great tips and recommendations - one of which was to visit The Big Pink for breakfast which I am going to write a separate review for as it was the best place we went to and I actually mourn the fact I had to say goodbye to it. All staff were fantastic, Jean and Rocko by the pool were very attentive and genuine.

We truly enjoyed our stay here and found that we had managed to pick a hidden treasure on South Beach. We will definitely come back when returning to Miami. Thank you everyone at The Savoy, you are a cut above the rest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing