We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #40 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Savoy Hotel was fantastic. The room was amazing, the pool was spectacular and the staff was friendly and helpful.
The front desk concierges were friendly and had a smile on their face. Rocky and Jisella at the pool did a great job. They had excellent recommendations for drinks and food.
Thank you to the Savoy for making our bachelorette weekend a trip to remember.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    598
    173
    78
    36
See reviews for
624
640
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is very nice. We stayed here in April for 5 nights. The hotel is quiet and very low key. Just a few minor complaints...It is overall clean and neat but the landscaping around the pool could use some sprucing up. We never felt like the place was overly crowded. We loved it. The beach is a short walk from the hotel. There are beach chairs and umbrellas that the hotel provides for free. The beach closes at 5:00 pm and the staff promptly asks you to pack it up so that they can put away the chairs and umbrellas. Would have been nice to stay open till 6:00pm. There are two pools, one is heated. The pool staff is attentive. The hotel does have a good restaurant. Prices should be more competetive because you can easily walk to restaurants that are less expensive. The room was large, clean, and modestly decorated... with kitchen, living room, 2 tvs, no view. The gym is well equiped. It rained very hard one day and we deciced to hit the gym. The bathroom and locker area was flooded with 2 inches of water. The staff was just ok for us. We really did not feel like they were as friendly and as helpful as some of the other reviews here. I really think it is nice when a guest arrives in the lobby to be greeted with a smile and a "hello". This was not always the case. One day my wife slipped and fell right in front of the bell man. He did not even ask if she was ok. Other than these few minor problems, our overall experience was good and we would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: pay extra for the rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

One of the main reasons we had such a fantastic bachelorette weekend was because of The Savoy. I was really impressed by this hotel! We stayed in one of the ocean view rooms, which was clean and recently updated. The price is pretty good when compared to other beach front hotels that offer the same amenities. The staff were very friendly (for the most part) and helpful; providing recommendations on places to eat each night. A shout out is well deserved to our ESPECIALLY fantastic pool attendant: Rocky. He made sure our drinks were full, we had the right amount of shade or sun, made us head and foot "pillows" out of towels, and even brought us fresh coconut water one day because we had mentioned we liked it.

Some plusses about the location... you are within walking distance to all the restaurants and clubs on south beach. For being so close to all the action the hotel was very serene and peaceful during the day by the pool, and at night/morning when we were trying to sleep. It was the best of both worlds. The property has direct private beach access from the pool, with lounge chairs and an umbrella for 2 included in the room rate. Rocky and his partner in crime, Jisella, would also bring drinks and food out to you on the beach.

Were there times when there were things about our stay that were not perfect, for example, like when we asked the concierge for something that didn't show up? Of course. But, overall, the positives for me greatly outweighed any negatives. I can promise you that if I return to SoBe I will be booking a room here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Laura,

We are so happy that you enjoyed attending the "bachelorette weekend" here at The Savoy Hotel! We hope we helped create long-lasting memories.

Thanks also for the "shout-outs" to Rocky & Jisella - those two are really something arent they?

We hope you will return soon and enjoy once again the hotel's amenities, service and location!

See you soon....
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The owners of the hotel were so accommodating. The room was gorgeous and so much nicer than we expected, especially for the price. The pool was very nice, and not at all crowded. The location was also excellent, right on the beach and also within walking distance of plenty of restaurants and attractions. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: The beach views are gorgeous, so try and get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Savoy is a fantastic hotel. The location is wonderful because it is right on South Beach and just a walk away from the Strip. The service is amazing, the rooms are great and comfortable. The food is delicious. I have no complaints. Being able to relax by the pool and go to the beach and go down to the strip where there are several great restaurants was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having never been to South Beach, my husband and I relied on advice from other reviewers to choose our hotel – and were thrilled with the decision to spend our first anniversary at the Savoy.

It truly is what other reviewers said: clean, a great value compared to other SoBe hotels, historic, and newly renovated/beautifully maintained. We chose a standard pool view and I requested a balcony and king bed when making the reservation. They were able to honor the request. Our room was in the north building on the third floor, had a very spacious bedroom (GREAT bed), a fully renovated and large bathroom with lots of shelving and good water pressure, and a living area with a second flat-screen TV, pull-out sofa, refrigerator, microwave, and a second closet. We had two balconies overlooking the pool and a partial view of the ocean. Gorgeous.

Location: We could not have picked a better location for our South Beach stay. The strip of restaurants and bars begins at 5th street, and we were able to walk everywhere. We were able to see all of Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road Mall, Collins Ave, South Pointe Park, and more just on foot. Surprisingly (and fortunately), the Savoy’s location between 4th and 5th streets really is far enough away to avoid the late-night noise. Once inside our room, we didn’t hear a peep from outside. Then again, we stayed Monday-Friday. I imagine it can get a lot louder on the weekends. Even the Savoy’s beach felt like a retreat from the loud public beaches just slightly further north. It was quieter and less crowded, but plenty close enough to experience the culture.

A few random observations… The Savoy’s workout room has 4 or 5 machines and some free weights. Though we never found it crowded, I recommend taking advantage of the path behind the hotel. If you follow it south it will lead you directly to South Pointe Park, which has a large marina, some great restaurants and a scenic view of Miami. The hotel restaurant was convenient and delicious but expensive. The service was outstanding.

Overall, the Savoy and its ideal location exceeded our expectations. We will absolutely return.

Tip: after a conversation with the hotel manager, we learned that spring and Thanksgiving are great times to visit if you're looking for a good value, and booking rooms directly through the hotel will get you the best rate!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear BM,

Congratulations on your 1st year wedding anniversary! We are delighted that you chose to spend it here at The Savoy Hotel.

We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your accommodation, our location and amenities and most of all, that we exceeded your expectations!

Sounds like you did a lot of walking around South Beach, and your tip to other travelers regarding the path behind the hotel is spot on.

We hope very much to see you on your 2nd year wedding anniversary, or sooner!

Take care,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were skepitcal that the pictures of this place were too good to be true. The Savoy looks exactly like what you see on their website. The service was professional, congenial, and timely. We were minutes to their private beach with lounge chairs/ umbrellas/ and towels provided. They have restaurant/bar service on the beach. Can it get any better than that? The room was very spacious with an extra large bathroom with a tub and separate shower. Microwave oven, coffee maker, multiple closets, robes, slippers, and nightly turn down service. I'll be back for my next Miami stay!

Room Tip: Pool view is great with a view of South Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Robin,

Thanks for the 5-Star review and lovely comments - it makes us feel great!

We are so glad you enjoyed our location, services and amenities - we are very proud of our property.

Can't wait to have you as our guest again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,352 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,530 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,411 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,992 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing