We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, Nice Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #51 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Nice Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Savoy on a last minute trip for the weekend (Thursday-Sunday). Because it was last minute I had to book 2 different room types- a Standard Suite and the Traditional Room. The description of the room types on the hotel website are a bit misleading as they would lead someone to believe that the only differences between the Standard Suites are the bed types and the balcony, however some of the Standard Suites have a kitchenette, while others like the one we stayed in has only a microwave. If you plan on preparing some meals during your stay you may want to phone in and make sure you state your preference.Otherwise, the rooms are clean, and while the traditional room was small it was nice and was fine since we didn't stay in much.

The location was great. The hotel is situated closed to the end of the strip of hotels on Ocean Drive. After reading reviews of other hotels, people complained about the noise level. But outside noise was not an issue during our stay, and the hotel was still close enough to be within walking distance of restaurants, bars, and shops along Ocean and Collins. Also, the hotel was at full capacity while we were there, but it never seemed crowded, even in the pool and beach areas.

The Staff was very friendly and attentive at the front desk, valet, bell service, the bar, and the service from ordering food and drink from the beach and poolside. My only critique would be that during our stay, there was only one person working at the front desk. On one occasion I placed a call down to the desk and no one picked up, so after a few minutes I hung up. On separate occasions it took a while for my calls to be answered, but the staff was very accommodating.

There is a $15 charge per day which i didn't mind. It includes a fee for Wifi and use of beach chairs and beach towels. The hotel has a nice little section on the beach for guests where you can lounge on chairs under umbrellas. There is also a $30 per day fee if you choose to use the hotel valet. You can the front desk ahead of time so that your car is ready by the time you're outside.

Overall, I I would recommend staying at this hotel. The location is great, the hotel is well kept, and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wesley_G14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Wesley,

Thanks for sharing your comments - we really appreciate it!

Regarding your comment on the room types, we do have some suites with kitchenettes. They can be booked directly through the hotel for an extra charge.

We are glad you liked the accommodations overall and also enjoyed our fantastic location and friendly staff.

We hope to see you back again very soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    585
    171
    75
    34
See reviews for
601
623
43
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy for our first trip to Miami, We got there on a sunday, our check-in was supposed to be at 3pm, and our room was not ready until 5, they did not have any other rooms to offer in it's place, and the ones they did (after much complaining) were not up to standards, Other than this, Hotel was nice and small, Rooms were clean and the pool was beautiful, the hotel was right on the beach therefore it was not a far walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianak26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was a great choice for us. Just at the end of Ocean Drive meaning far enough away to get some quiet time but close enough for a safe walk to OD. Beach is fantastic. All of the staff we encountered were great and so helpful. Only booked for 3 nights and wished we had stayed for longer. If you're thinking of driving best to get a taxi from the airport and pick up the car on your last day, otherwise you're paying excessive parking fees and the traffic is just crazy!

Room Tip: Beach view room worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woffmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

we chose the savoy hotel, we were there one week and was paradise we loveit. we can not wait to go back a soon we have vacations we booked a suite. highly recommend this wonderfull hotel art deco. you are not far from oceandrive fun and craisy at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Greetings from South Beach!

Thanks for your comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your one week in paradise.

It's great to hear you will be planning a return - of course, we look forward to having you!

Take care and we will see you soon....

Francine- Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

To start the front desk clerk on Friday night help up the bride getting into her room, second I was expecting a two double bed room and was given one bed and one VERY uncomfortable pull our soft. I'll be staying at the Ritz nex time.

Room Tip: Don't trust reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. With all due respect, your feedback is somewhat vague. Regretfully, we do not have any suites in the property with 2 queen beds and I am sorry you felt the sofa bed to be uncomfortable.

I would like to find out more about your stay and can be reached via e-mail at sales@savoymiami.com. I look very forward to hearing from you to learn more details.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Based on reviews here, we booked the Savoy for four days and three nights a few weeks ago.
Glad we did.
Room wasn't ready on arrival, and we did not get the pool view suite we requested, but the room we did end up with was quite nice, a large room. It was called a 'suite,' it wasn't, but was certainly comfortable.
We were able to change into our bathing suits and enjoy the pool while we waited for the room, so no problem there. All staff were very friendly and helpful, and they all made our stay that much more pleasant.
We had breakfast and lunch at the hotel each day, food was very good.
The location is perfect, on the beach, and a block from the frenzy of South Beach, so convenient to it, but much quieter.
The place is nicely done, not extravagant by any means, but a well done and comfortable hotel.
Next time I will book earlier and push for an ocean view or pool view suite with a balcony, we'd have enjoyed being up a little higher, with the palms right outside our windows.
Hate to do it (as it will only make it harder to get a reservation), but we highly recommend the Savoy as a retreat near, but just off South Beach, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try for ocean or pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmrshll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here during WMC/Ultra/Spring Break week and you know its guarantee to be sold out and crowded, which was harder for us to switch rooms. We had 1 bedroom suite with sofa bed. It was clean, comfortable and great service, but since I had paid over $350 per night I had expected a little more like a full kitchen stove top (we did expected to cook), utensils, bigger fridge, MORE CHAIRS/Sofa in the room to sit, since there was only one love seat sofa in the living room, so if you have more than 3 person sitting together its elbow to elbow or sit on the floor, the lay out of the room was awkward the bathroom separated the bedroom and living room... so if someone was using the bathroom, I had to wait till they come out in order to go into the bedroom (vice versa), the hotel includes a resort fee of $15 per dollar which i knew ahead of time and it comes with towels beach chairs etc on the beach, which comes in handy but unfortunately i didn't get to use it due time constrain of partying on south beach! overall its a decent hotel, great location, very walk able to all the fun places on ocean drive. I would definitely stay here but only if i get a different room! heres a video of the room we stayed
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUWRWJPlSIw&list=UUonafhABh064sqPcQq34kyQ&index=16

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank An0nym0us88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Greetings from Miami Beach!

Thank you sincerely for sharing your feedback regarding your stay last month. We do take guest comments seriously and use them to improve ourselves.

We regret you didn't care for the layout of the room. Each of our suites are unique in layout, so perhaps should you return, you will receive a different suite type. Additionally, we are in the process of purchasing new items to stock our kitchenette rooms, which we are very excited about!

We hope to have you as our guest once again in the near future.

Take care,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing