We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Savoy Hotel & Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
$328
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $319/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$299
$239
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$209
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $355/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$238
$217
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$272
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,960)
Filter reviews
1,960 results
Traveler rating
1,052
612
177
80
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,052
612
177
80
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean drivepool areasouth beachprivate beach accessliving roomresort feean umbrellaperfect locationchairs and umbrellasbars and restaurantssmall kitchennight lifeart decoper daybeach servicepool staffbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
1,211 - 1,216 of 1,960 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went here for the day after our Disney cruise. We stay in luxury and boutique hotels often, and thought this would be a quaint and historic hotel to visit while in Miami. There is a DISTINCT difference between historic and OLD AND RUN DOWN! We arrived in time for an early lunch, and as soon as we got out of the cab my husband was ready to leave. There were black moldy streaks down the sides of the building and the paint was peeling off. This is an old and dreary hotel and the photos online are very misleading. We went to eat lunch by the "beautiful" pool and were surprised at how dingy everything was when walking through the restaurant. They tried to use a few high end looking pieces here and there to make it look upscale, but in essence it was in dire need of maintenance, paint, and a good cleaning. The doors to the bathrooms are thin pieces of wood like you would find in a trailer park. The service was VERY slow, and there was only one other family there. The white uniforms the sad employees were wearing were dirty and about 2 sizes too small. They didn't seem very concerned with service, despite the AUTOMATIC 18% gratuity that was added to our bill on our already overpriced food. (Chips and salsa was $8.00, and the salsa tasted like ketchup-literally). My husband had a sandwich that had "artificial cheese food" slices on it that made it inedible. Our kids quesadilla was OK, but for $14, it should be. They shared a berry smoothie, and that was $8.00 also, but had hardly any flavor except for being sour and watery. We paid about $65 for a light lunch, which was 1 meal, 2 appetizers, a coke and a smoothie. VERY disappointing. We then decided to check out the beach and walked around the pool area and through a rusty old gate to get to it. You can not see it from the pool at all. It is a more quiet part of the beach, so that was nice. The lobby is full of Fendi furniture, but it is old and filthy with stains. The white sofas had giant brown stains on the cushions and I couldn't wait to get my kids out of there. The bellman, Tony, was a very nice gentleman, and the girls at the front desk seemed sweet, but I wouldn't pay $75 a night to stay in this place, much less $400-$800!! We stayed at a Best Western Bayside before our cruise, and I would far recommend it over this place and it was less than 1/2 the price! I DO NOT recommend....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arwen944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Warm Greetings from The Savoy Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience here at the property. We sincerely apologize for the many items you did not care for and negative thoughts you have.

As you are aware, we are an historic Art Deco building, over 80 years old and we do our very best to keep up the building and still retain the uniqueness and charm. We have recently upgraded our guestroom product and will continue to do so throughout the year.

Regarding the restaurant, we have made some upgrades there and have some more plans in the summer. We have a new Chef and use only the finest ingredients in our food.

We do pride ourselves on our service and typically receive excellent comments about our staff, so we are dismayed your found the staff not to be of the utmost professionalism.

Again, thank you for your feedback - we will take it into consideration as we continue to move forward.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I have just returned on February 15, 2013, from a marvelous two weeks’ – yes two weeks! – stay at the Savoy Hotel. We’ve been to South Beach many times before and have stayed at the Marriot and at the Doubletree, but for us, finding the Savoy was like discovering a precious little jewel and we’ll probably be back there again next year. I’m a little bit reluctant to write about it because I’m afraid it might become an “in” kind of place and become very popular, making it difficult to get a reservation, but I feel after these few years, I should let people know what it’s like. It’s a small, older, boutique hotel, only three floors high with about eighty rooms, a departure from the monumental mass-tourism kinds of place one sees all over Miami these days. Even when it is at maximum capacity – which according to the staff happened a few times during our stay – it didn’t seem at all busy and was fairly quiet. Invariably, we’ve found the staff – from those on the front desk to those cleaning the rooms – to be very helpful and friendly and very responsive to us whenever we asked for anything, such as extra shampoo or toilet paper. I especially liked the room they assigned us this year – an ocean view with a balcony overlooking the pool. With large opening windows, in the early part of the day it was bright, airy and cheerful and with the sun streaming in there was an outdoor feeling to the place. All the rooms have refrigerators and microwaves, which we found very useful. The hotel has a fitness center which always seemed to be under-used whenever we looked in, but if you like swimming – which we do -- it’s ideal for that. There are two swimming pools – a smaller one and by far the most popular, heated, that seemed to be frequented mainly by families with children – and a larger one which we used about twice a day -- unheated but comfortable, about twenty-five yards long that we enjoyed very much after our walk every morning. It’s a great place to hang out and have a drink, ordered from Rocky the indefatigable and always charming pool attendant.

We’ll be back there again next year, if they have the space.

Jess

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. We like the second or third floor, ocean view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

About the same cost as the Surfcomber, but worlds apart in amenities, service and overall quality. This hotel is nicely situated to the heart of the nightlife of Miami Beach without all of the traffic noise you would expect, but that is as far as I will go with being complimentary. The hotel is old appearing and feeling. The room was dirty. I don't think the bathroom floor had been mopped in over a week. The airconditioner was leaking water into the closet and the floor was wet when we got there and was still wet when we checked out. The front desk staff was also rude. The 4PM check-in is also a joke. Spend the same amount at the Surfcomber or a little more to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler55117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Hello from the Savoy Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to describe your comments on Trip Advisor. We find all types of feedback as opportunities and will certainly address your maintenance concerns.

We are glad you liked our location, and most importantly we would like to ask you to give us another chance to exceed your expectations. You can contact me directly and I will personally handle your reservations.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is the one that most of us dare to dream of when we fantasize about a tropical paradise. And yet the location couldn't be better for easy access to all the fun that South Beach has to offer.
To put it simply, the Savoy offers serene elegance amid an otherwise bustling ocean front resort. Their large rooms are fully equipped, several with kitchenettes and balconies, and for someone who has trouble sleeping in general, this gem is the perfect cocoon.
The pool area is renowned for its temple-like ambiance with both a heated and non-heated pool, enticing cabanas, and cheerful restaurant service. A well equipped fitness center is also conveniently located poolside next to the beach entrance . . and need I mention how gorgeous the beach is?
This delightful oasis was definitely "Paradise Found"!

Room Tip: Though the hotel is surprisingly quiet for it's proximity to Ocean Drive, it's still worth asking for a room on the top floor (3rd. floor). if you need it extra quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieGee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Warm Greetings from South Beach!

We are ecstatic that we were able to fulfill your fantasy of a tropical paradise! We truly are a hotel that you can enjoy calm, serenity & relaxation, yet still be in the middle of everything South Beach has to offer.

Now that you've found us, we look very forward to welcoming you back time and time again!

Take care,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at The Savoy Hotel January 24th for two nights and really liked it. It's right on South Beach which is beautiful and has two pools- one that is heated. The employees were very friendly and we ate lunch at the restaurant located on the property and it was excellent. There are tons of restaurants and bars all within walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dairycorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews