We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Savoy”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #32 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recently stayed at the Savoy and had a wonderful experience. The service was upbeat and pleasant and the facilites were very clean. The two pools were well maintained, one nicely heated and the other a little cooler and more refreshing. The view of the ocean and the location right on the beach was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,926)
There are newer reviews for The Savoy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

The location is perfect - so close to the clubs, restaurants and the beach, yet not in the middle of all the noise. Can't say enough about the staff - from check-in to room service - everyone does their best to make you feel special. We got great service on the beach too (they have food & drink service from the hotel to the beach).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recently stayed here for a week in October. Loved the location and the staff. Caine that worked at the bar were lovely always made you feel welcome. Rooms at very Art Deco which keeps in feel with Miami. A short walk to the beach which is beautiful.
The only draw back was there were roads works outside the hotel, it was dark and a tad creepy. We were charged $13 a day for pool loungers, beach loungers, towels and newspapers. Even if you didn't use these you still had to pay. Doesn't sound a lot but when you add it all together and include tax it does add up.
Overall this is a lovely hotel with wonderful staff and great location for the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our stay last weekend was a phenomenal getaway. From the custom service to elegant atmosphere, we were thrilled with the experience. The room was clean and spacious, views were spectacular and the beach front service is high caliber. The food and bar ambiance was lowkey and chic. We look forward to our next visit!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Joelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I just happened upon the Savoy Hotel as part of a get-away weekend from the Northeast weather.
Having stayed in great hotels all over the world the Savoy had the charactar of a fine European Hotel with the modern day ammenaties that we all look for in free wifi and outstanding service.
The opening of their new streetside lounge was a nice experience on friday.
The beach is right out your backdoor and the food and service around the clock was great.

I would recommend the savoy for couples and families. We rented a two room suite at a reasonable price and may bring a children back on the next visit due to the extra room we had in our suite.

For character and service the Savoy gets high marks.

Room Tip: Do some research on this place and you'll enjoy it even more. Ronny Wood of the rolling stones...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jere M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I'd like to congratulate the staff of The Savoy for their exceptional customer service and for epitomizing the word "hospitality". This includes Mary and Immer at the front desk, the bellman, and the boys at the beach. The check-in process was efficient and friendly thanks to Immer. Mary kindly arranged to get me on the bus to Sawgrass Mills in the morning with about an hour of notice. Brilliant. And the hotel location on the quiet end of Ocean Dr with direct beach access is spectacular.

However, i'm afraid the rooms don't do justice to the wonderful staff and location. My room (329) was spacious, quiet, and clean enough. However, the carpet in the room was soiled and worn, and the hallway carpet on the third floor is a total disgrace. As many have noted, the room furniture is sparse, dated, and somewhat worn. I suspect the drapes are supposed to be some sort of art deco throw-back but look more like an art deco throw-up. The room is lit with the worst florescent lighting. There are much warmer compact flourescent light bulbs available - why purchase the coldest and most depressing? The room is painted a beachy sea breeze color, which is fine. But under these lights, the room takes on a ghastly 1950's insane asylum ambiance.

Unless I were to get a very good price, I would have to think twice about returning to The Savoy, There are some very easy fixes which could make this hotel infinitely better. I encourage the management not just to reply to these reviews by using the excuse that it's all part of the historic art deco character of the property. Historic is fine, rundown and tasteless is not. Many of the past reviews contain the same criticisms as mine. If you take the reviews as seriously as you say you do, then why did my room contain the same flaws as reviews from months ago?

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cantravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Greetings from South Beach!

Thank you for your detailed and candid review of your stay here at The Savoy Hotel. First, thank you for mentioning our delightful employees who really take "hospitality" seriously. We are so proud of our team and the excellent guest service they provide.

In regards to the suites, we are constantly maintaining the normal upkeep and making improvements to meet and exceed our guests' expectations. Your comments are being reviewed by our General Manager and Chief Engineer at this time.

Again, thank you for your feedback and it would be my pleasure to personally handle your reservations if you would like to visit us once again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The staff is trying to do the best for feeling like in the luxury hotel, but the other experience with the property is not so good.
The room was big, but the equipment and furniture is quite poor. The bed was almost damaged and also too soft. The room was after some repairs and you can see that everywhere because of bad cleaning after workers - expecially in bathroom. Also in pool area you can see many details which are not good repaired - in such hotel it should be done much carefully.
It was not worth for the money we paid and next time we choose for sure another hotel
in Souh Beach.

Room Tip: for sure pay extra for ocean view room or at least in higher floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakub24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,419 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,604 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,461 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#36 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $168 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing