We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has seen better days”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #46 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hotel has seen better days”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

They've tried hard to tart up this worn out old place and in some ways have succeeded and in others they haven't. The lobby is nicely decorated. But the bedding was full of feathers that pricked though into my skin all night - very bizarre! Shower didn't work very well. Food and service at breakfast and lunch wasn't great. Rooms are badly decorated. It all gives off a sad, tired air like an old person who was once fabulous and lively but just can't be bothered any more. Having said that, the pool and beach are lovely and it's probably one of the cheaper beach hotels in this area so is good value for money. Watch out for the super charged bidet in Room 108 that sprays up and hits you in the face when you turn it on. Not a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingleMindedExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    588
    173
    76
    34
See reviews for
612
630
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I heard about all of the wonderful renovations that have taken place at The Savoy Hotel and it was truly a treat to witness when we arrived. Unlike most hotels in South Beach, The Savoy allows you to escape and be in a tranquil space. The outdoor terrace and pool area is magical to say the least. To top it off the hotel is only steps away from the beach! You can't beat that! The Food and Beverage Director, Peter Wallace, was extremely hospitable as well as the staff. Definitely on the list to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicadaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in an Oceanfront listed as Ocean view suite. The room was extremely large and well appointed, decor was lovely, but most importantly the staff is fabulous!! Check in was warm and welcoming, the manager greeted us personally, and the bellman was a true gentleman. The hotel is art deco South Beach traditional. It should not be missed if you stay in SoBe! By far the best room we have ever had in South Beach. We have come every year for the last 12 years and stayed at a variety of hotels both famous and local!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RefundPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

One of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. Went on an "all girls" trip to Miami and we couldnt have picked a better hotel than Savoy! The location is one of the best, we were in the middle of it all and no need for a rental car.The pools were extremely nice and the complimentary umbrella and chairs on the beach was nice. The views are awesome especially at sunset. Last but not least I can not express how great the staff was which can make/break the whole vacation. They were courteous, helpful and gave us so many suggestions on things to do and places to go and we were greatful for that, want so send a big thanks to Immer, Alex and Carlos for being so attentive- no matter how much we bugged them, they were always there to help with a smile!!! thanks Savoy the "Austin" girls will be planning our next Miami vacation soon.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had an absolutely wonderful experience at The Savoy! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. And the ocean view suite was amazing. Perfect in every regard, and the delicious breakfast on the beach was the icing on the cake. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexusjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great service and very attentive staff by the pool and beach. The location was ideal for entertainment and walking for shopping and eating. The price was very good for the location as you have a great pool(two) and free chairs out by the beach with umbrella. The only drawback was the restaurant closed at 8 pm. Other than that, a perfect location for the price. I stayed at Fontainbleu last time which may have had a nicer pool but was much more pricey and not as good of location as Savoy. I will stay again over Fontainbleu

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room either ocean front or overlooking the pool. Great views. They upgraded us at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jryanm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Service was great anything we needed in the room came fast.I stood here with my family for a weekend for a wedding so the big room suits were great for us, a room as big as we had in any of the other hotels would have cost me $500 a night so the value was good and the location was great walking distance from all the restaurants on ocean dr. Walgreens and all the shops on washington ave. wasn't to happy about the pool lay out didn't really spend time by the pool for that reason overall good value would stay again only if I'm there with my family not just me and my wife

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryNyPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#73 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing