We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in south beach”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #32 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel in a good location. The gentleman working at reception (Ricardo?) was helpful and great pools. Our air conditioning went out on our second day of staying at the hotel, and right away we were upgraded to a beautiful suite with georgeous views of the beach. Good location for kids as it is at the quieter end of ocean drive and right by the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoopidscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 1,943 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

The location of the Savoy is great. It is far enough away from most of the din of Ocean Drive but close enough to walk to the key spots such as Lincoln Rd, etc. Being right on the beach was awesome and we enjoyed the beach chairs and umbrella that came with the room. The hotel overall is comfortable but needs updating. We had a good size room with three balconies and a pull out couch which made it the perfect size for the four of us. We had a couple of door knobs/locks that didn't work right and had to fix the shower handle with my Swiss Army Knife. While there is a kitchen area, there are not cooking utensils or kitchen equipment. We called to ask for some and all they had was silverware. That was fine as we ate most of our dinners out but it would have been nice to be able to have things for cereal and lunches. We bought some paper bowls for Walgreens a block away so it worked. The pool area was fun with two pools, the kids liked playing there. Pools could use a deep cleaning along the tile along the waterline.

The staff was very helpful and accommodating throughout the visit. Our rate came with breakfast which was slow and unremarkable. It came with a croissant, a couple of pieces of white bread, a bit of fruit and orange juice. We only went there one of the days we were there.

We had a nice time and the location was great.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank RNP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Well, we just arrived and we are already in our cabana, poolside.  We couldn't wait!  Lol!  But to circle back, we were immediately greeted and helped by a very friendly bellman and front desk mgr, who managed to find us a room despite our early (9am) check in. The lobby was well appointed.  This is an historic hotel that still looks great!  They've added some modern renovations, but still kept the charm of the original structure.  I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was, with a separate sitting area, pull-out sofa, full kitchen, less the stove, and a cute little 4 person dining room table.  The separate bedroom was comfortable and airy, with the adjacent full bath, also nicely appointed with cute little amenities.  The hotel restaurant is open from 7am-8pm, and is reasonably priced for a prime south beach location.  The hotel had two beautiful pools with surrounding cabanas and a full time pool attendant named Rocky who is super attentive and makes a mean strawberry mojito.  Thank you Rocky!  You are awesome!   I have an 8 yr old with me, and although there aren't many kids here, they still make us feel welcome.  It's perfect for families or not. The hotel has a private portion of the beach, that's just a few steps away.  I'm a Hotwire fan, and was very fortunate this hotel came up after I pressed the purchase button.  I'm so pleased with this choice.  It's s fantastic hotel!  If I can afford it the next time I'm in town, I'll be sure to make this my first choice for South Beach.  I know what the other reviews say, but in my opinion, this place is perfectt!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachill22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I just spent three wonderful days in South Beach, and one of the nicest aspects of the trip was our room at the Savoy Hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautiful with two great swimming pools, and our room was off the scale. We had a third floor suite with three terraces, and views of the pool and the ocean. It was decorated beautifully and couldn't have been nicer. The beach was only a few steps from the hotel where umbrella's and lounge chairs were provided. We made and agreement on the way to the airport that we would always stay at the Savoy when we came to Miami.

Room Tip: The hotel was very quiet which made for a good nights sleep. We can only speak for the upper level c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Such nice reviews. I feel like "that person" for writing a negative review. You know the person, nothing pleases her, she's snobby, and just wayyyyy to picky. I promise, I am not that person. I just thought the Savoy was...lacking. Maybe they put me in the "off" rooms. Let us begin:
The way my lips puckered up in a moue of distaste after my first look at the shabby-so not worth 3 stars- hotel pretty much sums up my Savoy experience.
Onwards...
We check in. Lobby was nice. Front desk person could not be nicer (hence the extra star). We checked in early and thought we would have to beg the staff to hold our luggage until check-in, which was hours away. Nope. The woman who checked us in (I forget her name but we checked in around 12p on 8/2) was great! One of two rooms was ready and she allowed us to check in. There was also ice cold water in the lobby, nice touch on a hot summer day in Miami.
We enter room 1 after a seamless check-in. First impression: Blah. Looked nothing like the picture. This was a "suite" but resembled a regular hotel room that was turned into a suite. Very small and just run the hell down. When we entered, there was a door that led to a short hallway that led to another door that led to another room. Said doors did not look secure. The door knob was hanging off and had no visible look. Apparently, it was safe. I could turn the knob from my room but not if I was in the quasi-hallway. Slightly mollified, but not by much. It's Miami Beach, live a little. I guess.
Living room was fine. It overlooked the pool (which I did enjoy). The TV was very retro. You know, one those bulky, circa 1990-something, pre-flat screen type of tv. Maybe I am snobby.....Bedroom was fine and had a flat screen tv.
To el bano. Neat and noticeably clean but upon closer inspection, I thought to myself, wtf????? Our toilet paper holder was kinda hanging there since 3 of the 4 screws needed to hold it in place was missing. Odd. Toilet bowl seat was also broken. While using it, I felt the seat and my butt slowly sliding off. Thought it was me but roomie felt the same. Almost felt like I was home. You know what I mean; when the screws come loose on the seat and you keep trying to remember to fix it but never do, until it eventually falls off. Come on Savoy...These are easy routine maintenance that cost the bare minimum to fix. Hell, I would have fixed the crap if I had a screw driver. Do you know how weird it feels to have your butt feel like its about to slide completely off of the toilet bowl seat? VERY WEIRD!!!
So that was room 1. Now to room 2. Bigger and actually looked like the website picture (somewhat). A LOT of closets. Most of which had boiler rooms and other weird maintenance crap in there. I'm on vacation, I don't want to see that crap. Lock the doors. Geesh!
That was the rooms. Now the hallway. Super gross! Smelled like mildew, wet cat, and your neighborhood shady motel rolled into one. It as by far the worst thing about the hotel.
The Savoy also had a pricey restaurant where the food tasted no better than dinner food. The drinks were worse.
Overall, I would never return to this hotel which was really no more than a motel.
First star because I know there is worse in Miami and the next star because of the front desk person.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the second floor. Smells like wet moldy carpet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is great. Rooms are big, nice, clean. We had a suite looking to ocean and even had 3 balconies!! Very good overall. Staff is very nice, always looking for your comfort. (specially at the pool, thanks Rocky !). Even being located at Ocean drive, this place is very quiet, relaxing. Has private exit to beach. Only be aware to leave important items like id,credit cards,electronics inside safe in room.I got my purse stolen with all documents, and electronics!!! from pool area. However traumatic this was, the General manager(Gary) and all staff were very helpful and supportive. We even got discount at the end. Definitely recommend this hotel and for sure be back!

Room Tip: Ask ocean view. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leizla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Leizla,

We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed a relaxing holiday here at The Savoy Hotel. Also, thanks for the great compliments of Gary's service to you after your items were lost. When travelling, it's always a good idea to leave valuables in the guestroom safe rather than leaving them unattended in a public area.

We certainly hope to welcome you back once again so you can have a fantastic stay here at The Savoy Hotel.

Yours in Hospitality,
Francine - Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our stay at the Savoy can only be described as perfect. Every employee was super friendly, over the top accommodating and happy to be there! The pool area was absolutely beautiful!!! We spent so much time lounging in the cabana and floating in the pool - true paradise! The rooms were super clean and so spacious - separate kitchen and living room areas & 2 balconies! :) The Savoy was everything they advertised to be. There was no problems at all with any of the things that can come along with staying at a hotel such as: charges on the bill, checking in early and checking out late. We couldn't have asked for a better location, right on the beach and walking distance to everything! I highly recommend staying at this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool or ocean view from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,455 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,508 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,525 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Confidante Miami Beach
The Confidante Miami Beach
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $233 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splitty, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing