We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place - don't hesitate to book!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #53 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome place - don't hesitate to book!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed the week and found The Savoy to be a very nice place to stay.
Walking distance from the beach, restaurants, boutiques etc. The other hotels down the road were noisy at night with the restaurants in front and found that we lucked out with The Savoy. It was situated in a quieter area.
The only downfall we had would be the room, we booked with Travelocity and got a standard room. I did try to upgrade via email and upon arrival to a pool or ocean view room but they were all booked up. It would be worth the extra dollars to get a balcony with a nice view.
However, I must say our room was nice and clean with great maid service and room service!
A big shout out to JD who suggested the Miami city & boat tour. It was exactly what we needed on our last day there. I fell in love with Miami and do plan to come back and stay
at The Savoy again. Congrats on the great work guys, you are definitely doing something right being ranked #2!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    575
    170
    74
    31
See reviews for
592
618
43
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hungary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

If you want to be in heart of Miami Beach (but not noisy) and next to the best beach. This is the perfect choice. This is an old hotel with the problems of an older building, but the rooms are good and the stuff is fantastic. It's a bit expensive, but you have to pay for the "Miami Beach feeling"!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with stay and as you mentioned, we have an amazing location!
We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sandra Casareale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and daughters enjoyed our long weekend at the Savoy. We have visited South Beach several times over the past few years and the Savoy was a pleasant surprise. One bedroom suite was clean and roomy. Pools area is great. Staff is frlendly and always available. Gary the General Manager is hands on and makes sure guests are happpy.

We are definately looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Savoy in early Feb, 2012. We had a standard suite without a balcony in the main building. We had a very nice, comfortable and quiet stay without any major issues. We would stay there again.

The location is great! Right on the beach and a block from the heart of South Beach. The hotel is appropriate for all travelers but I feel like this hotel is good for people who want to enjoy South Beach but who also want to return to a quiet hotel that does not have a bunch of drunk party seekng roaming the halls all night i.e. mature adults, couples, etc.

It's a old boutique hotel that recently completed a major renovation in late 2011. The rooms are nice but you still can see minor signs of the hotel's age e,g, rust on door hinges, older appliances, etc. There is a YouTube video of room 309 that another traveler posted if you want to check out what a room looks like. Make sure any videos you watch are of the rooms after the renovation.

Our room was clean and comfortable. The decor was basic. The kitchenette is a nice amenity but it is not stocked with cookware. You must request it and they will bring it to your room. The staff was friendly and very helpful. There is a outdoor heated pool. You can order food poolside or on the beach and the staff will bring it out to you.

If you like to work-out, the fitness room is horrible. Drab, out-dated equipment and it's not accessible 24hrs. You are better off taking a run along the beach or paying a small fee to use the Crunch or one of the other fitness centers that are within walking distance to the hotel.

We had very good experience at the Savoy. I recommend it.

FYI: The hotel and most of the other hotels include a mandatory daily resort fee. This is not included in the published room rate. It's sort of worth it because it allows you to get towel service, a beach chair and an umbrella when you are on the beach.

Also most restaurants on South Beach add a 18% gratiuty to your bill regardless of the size of the party. This is ok if the service is good (I usually tip 20%) but don't feel forced to pay it if the service is poor. Cross it out and tip accordingly but do tip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbc110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Beautiful hotel and location, but what really sets this place apart is the people who run it. Richard at the front desk welcomed us warmly and was patient with us in choosing the room that we wanted. He even went so far as to ask Tony the bellman to show us a couple of the rooms and then allowed us to choose the one we liked best. Both Tony and Richard were extremely helpful and accomodating.

The room was spacious and recently renovated. It was on the second floor, pool view, but you could also see the beach and the ocean through the trees.

Tony at the beach could not have been more helpful. He greeted us, set our chairs up for us and is just a delightful person to chat with. Rocky brought us sandwiches from the restaurant and kept our margaritas coming all afternoon. One comment, they do add a 20% tip automatically to the bill. I didn't see that the first day and tipped another 20% on top of that. But honestly for the level of service we received I didn't feel too bad about a 40% tip. Even the next day after realizing that the tip is included in the total, I still left a few extra dollars for Rocky and for Tony. They both worked very hard to make the afternoon as relaxing as possible for us.

This was our first visit to this hotel, but we are already planning our next and are looking forward to returning. It is such a delight to find a hotel that is still run like a family business and not like an impersonable corporate conglomerate. Looking forward to many future vacations here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinallyFlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I spent six days at the savoy mid Feb. It's the best place to rest, have fun and enjoy Miami. Just a few steps from the beach, no need to cross the street or leave the hotel. Tony makes your stay as easy as it can be. Same for the rest fo the staff of this lovely hotel. Rooms are clean and confortable. Immer helped me renting a car for the day I needed and it worked out very well. I'd recommend this hotel for people who want to be at the beach and spend some time at clubs-nights.

Room Tip: I was on room 123, first floor convenient to get out of hotel without waiting for elevator. Any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sabrottina72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great staff very accommodating.
Awesome pool area with 1 heated pool and 1 non heated.
We came with a 4 year old and a 5 month old.
2 buildings. Apparently room in the north building are bigger. We stayed in south building, rooms have been renovated and we had a small kitchen area, which is nice when you have babies eating solid food.
Direct access to the beach is awesome.
Just a few blocks south of the entertainment. Quiet, yet close to all the fun.
We are considering returning. Definitely recommend.
We paid 330 usd/ night including all taxes

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srg202224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#71 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing