We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure it lives up to being in top 10 reviewed hotels in Miami”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #44 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not sure it lives up to being in top 10 reviewed hotels in Miami”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

On arrival our room wasn't ready even at a 4pm arrival! I wasn't offered any sort of apology and pointed to hotel bar but no free drink offered. Couple sat next to me at bar had been given free drink for lack of room- so I complained about being treated differently. Eventually got some sort of apology - but it took two lots of complaining. Wasn't happy about quality of fixtures and fittings in our room when we did arrive and no balcony either- despite booking pool view room on strength of getting balcony. Furniture was tired looking ikea furniture. Rooms large but walls paper thin and one would think there were elephants trampling upstairs. It was so loud when people walked around in the room above us. Location at south end of Miami beach was good. Fitness room v sparse and pool ok. Although annoying to pay extra for a resort fee. Not cool

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuney1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Let me begin by apologizing for the long wait while trying to check in. As you noted, our check in time is 4pm and you should not have had to wait. I have sent you a message requesting to have a little more information so that we can address this and make sure it doesn't happen again. Also, with your information, we will be able to find out what room number you had so that we make the necessary updates.
We thank you for taking the time to post your review and hope you give us another chance in the near future. You can contact me directly at scasareale@savoymiami.com

Best Regards,

Sandra Casareale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    595
    173
    76
    36
See reviews for
617
637
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Great South Beach hotel located near the end of Ocean Drive. Direct access to the beach includes an umbrella and lounge chairs. The two pools are beautiful and there is beverage and food service at the beach as well as at the pool. The room was kept in immaculate condition and the staff is very attentive. We had a couple of issues with the room which were corrected immediately; we requested a new shower head and the door to the safe box needed an adjustment, both immediately corrected. The hotel is located just south of 5th Street and is therefore in a quiet location unlike the hotels located between 5th Street and 15th Street. This was our second stay at the Savoy and we intend to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie10410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond hill
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

right on ocean so easy beach access. nice warmed pool. rooms clean...not fantastic but ok..a bit dated.service good.right next to all action but quiet.

Room Tip: i dont think ocean view matters so much. not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gattisdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We have been going to south beach during mid january for past 10 yrs adn the last 2 yrs we stayed at the Savoy. The first time we were surprised at the convenience to ocean drive w/o the noise plus the hotel has so much europena charm and is right on the beach...we really enjoyed our first experience. that brought us back the 2nd year...that's when we were blown away...the employees are all amazing and 1st class friendly and genuinely concerned with their guests..our rooms are updated this time and modernized...but still with the charm and the bar/restaurant service for breakfast and lunch is unparallelled and along the lines of being in a ritz carleton w.o all the fuss...our chef eddie made sure we had fresh fruit with our oatmeal, our waitress connie made sure our oatmeal came out with shaved cinnamon..carlos made wonderful recommendations for dinner and carleton was a super bartender with upmost politeness and class...manager Gary and his wife have really made a difference in the way the staff treats the guests and we will be sure to return every year and look forward to seeing the staff again! we recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scm62929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSavoyHotelCares, Director of Sales at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so glad you came back to The Savoy for the second time and that you have been able to see all the upgrades due to our renovation.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Sandra Casareale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

It has been WONDERFUL. Big beautiful one bedroom suite is what we had. Today is the day we leave... :( Stars to Richard at the front desk . As well as Rocky at the pool. Who serves up "awesome drinks" and directions to where the nearest camera shop is. This has been a wonderful stay.

One suggestion.. Get flags for the beach chairs for guest to raise when they are ready for another drink. Otherwise; the beach is top. Just show up and they take care of you from there.

I will be back.

Room Tip: stay in touch with them even after the reservation is made. Let them know your desires. Pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

From the 7 times I stayed in Miami, this hotel is definitely my favorite. A gorgeous garden with palm treas and two kidney formed pools. One heated like a hot tub. And through the gate, you got to the beach. Very clean hotel. And lovely service. Great breakfasts and lunches avalaible, not included. I payed extra to have a suite with pool view. Even saw the beach. And it was worth it. Very big lounge with kitchenette, tv, couch and chair. Beautiful bedroom, big bed with clean sheets and very big bathroom with seperate bath and shower. Storage cupboards everywhere. Compared to other hotels as the Cardozo and South Seas, the space was great for not more money. So a great deal. Loved the place. It is a bit further out from Lincoln Road. But the busses stop at Washington and 5th, a few minutes walk. And they take you to Lincoln Road, the malls and even the 150 Airport Flyer stops there.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a suite with view over the pool. Otherwise in South Beach you often get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elleke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I don't feel so enthusiastic about this hotel. Yes, the rooms are big but not special or something else. The carpet was old ( I hate carpets) and the staff was average. I don't think that $300 a night is that...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Borja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,328 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,228 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,502 reviews
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing