We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #21 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Lord Balfour is a SMALL boutique hotel; which means there are not a lot of rooms, not a ton of employees, and the hotel is stylish, and the rooms are smaller than at the mega hotels. So, to compare it to a resort with full services and a pool is unfair. Okay, now that we have that sorted out....

I loved The Lord Balfour. I was there earlier this week for 2 nights. The staff is very helpful and professional. I believe some employees perform multiple roles, and they all go the extra mile to make sure everyone is happy. The property is very quirky and stylish. I found the place to be upscale, but fun at the same time. The bartender crafts delicious, inventive drinks.

The room was immaculate, quirky, and stylish. I appreciated the SUPER comfy bed, the super shower, and the cold, efficient air conditioning.

The morning continental breakfast was just perfect. The hotel is a (very) short walk to a great beach.

The property is on the more QUIET end of Ocean Drive; far enough away from the madness to allow for an evenings rest....but close enough to get to the fun in a five minute stroll.

When staying there, be sure to stroll down to South Pointe Park---great place to watch a sunset or sunrise. This is the point of Miami where cruiseships make their final "goodbye" to the mainland. Check the cruise departure calendars and wave "bonvoyage".

I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atlfuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear "atlfuzzy"
It was a great pleasure to read your extensive review of your recent stay with us, tank you for taking the time and for choosing the Lord Balfour.
I will share your comments with our staff that work so hard and wear multiple hats to provide the service our guests expect and deserve.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 days/2 nights at Lord Balfour. As soon as we pulled up, we were immediately greeted by Richard. He helped us get our things situated and was so kind to be honest with parking advice. The hotel was so beautiful, which fit well with the smell that lured the people on the streets. Nice and peaceful, even during the late evening of partying. Very artsy and modern. The decor in the room was nice to look at. Comfortable, big bed but, the bathroom was smaller than preferred. What made up for it was the whole staff; Richard, the ladies at the front desk, bar tender, the lady who took care of the complimentary breakfast, were all so wonderful, helpful and just friendly which made our stay all worth it.

Room Tip: If you are going for the weekend, make sure to take the Valet parking that's offered. It will sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Tiffany F:
It was such a pleasure to read your review, we are blessed to have a great staff taking care of our guests and it is rewarding to see that we made your stay a memorable one.
Please think of us the next time you are planning your trip to Miami.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Spent a long weekend here during a trip to Florida in June. Booked through Hotel directly after comparing all deals whilst in U.S. Front desk staff very friendly and room/bed very comfortable. Noted previous reviews re the small bathroom which staff seemed at pains to point out too, but it's fine and fit for purpose! Breakfast was nice. Cereals, toast, bagels etc. The location of the hotel is excellent, situated a short walk from the main bars & restaurants on Ocean Drive but really quiet at night. The walk to the beach is even shorter and the hotel supplies the facility to have sunbed and umbrella every day should you visit. This brings me onto the only one thing that has to be added but not really a negative, just a need to know. There is an $18 a day resort fee pp that covers this beach hire & breakfast. I didn't see that anywhere when booking. Secondly there is no hotel car park and they use a Valet service at $35 per day. Again not a major inconvenience but would have been nice to know in advance. Overall a beautiful place and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Basing36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear "Basing36"
Thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in South Beach, we are happy that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We made sure that all our sales channels were informing about the resort fee but I will revise it again, thank you for letting us know.
We look forward to be of service again on your next visit.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I just spent 4 nights + 2 additional nights returning from the Keys. Staff were always very nice, helpful and caring, rooms are accurate and stylish, exceptional cleaning service. Breakfast was lovely! It is located in a very quite area but just a walk away from the main funny (and noisy) area of the Art Deco District and close to the way heading to downtown.
I also enjoyed of the beautiful huge and clean beach very close to the hotel and managed by the very very kind, nice, patient and friendly Francisco. Coming back for the additional 2 nights I really felt like going back home. Wonderful staying from any point of view. I hope to go back one day and I highly recommand this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagdaT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you MagdaT14 for choosing the Lord Balfour for both stays in Miami Beach and for taking the time to review your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a great experience. Richard, at the front desk, was especially helpful. He, along with rest of the staff, were very polite and accommodating. Highly recommended. We would certainly stay again and would recommend Lord Balfour to anyone who asks.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chrisallenod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you Chrisallenod for taking the time to express your satisfaction with your stay. We are glad that Richard made a positive impact on your stay along with our great staff.
Pease think of us the next time you visit our beautiful Miami Beach.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Many of the hotels in South Beach share Lord Balfour's external architectural good looks. However, Lord Balfour carries the sense of style and quality into the bedrooms, which seems rare in South Beach. We had a great night's sleep in our comfortable, corner room and enjoyed the proximity to both the beach and restaurants and bars of the strip.

Breakfast was tasty, with plenty of variety (although not many warm options). The peaceful courtyard is a great place to eat and start a busy day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear "Mutandis"
It is always a pleasure to read a positive review from our guests, particularly from a savvy traveler with so many reviews posted. Thank you so much and we hope to see you again.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel is wonderful many ways. The service is amazing, the hotel is beautiful and the concierge service and recommendations were always spot on. If you want a really nice place to stay that is a couple blocks from the really noisy area. The only downside is that the bathroom was more than small. It's very well done but really, really small. Overall I would recommend this to anyone as long as they are aware of the size of the bathrooms if they are a larger person.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twe578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you so much "twe578" for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in Miami Beach and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope that you come back and stay with us in the near future.
Best Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
520 reviews
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,093 reviews
La Flora
#20 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blanc Kara
#26 of 212 in Miami Beach
419 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Circa 39 Hotel
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $137 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing