We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #23 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
“Excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I went with some friends and I have to say it "service is wonderful!"
Gisella in reservations was really nice and helpful, she helped us organizing everything and told me about the Concierge, what a guy! He really knows the place and make everything possible.

Richard was there when we arrived and assisted us from the beginning to the end. There was another guy (sorry I don't remember his name) he also was ready to assist anytime.

The hotel is just beautiful! Rooms are a little small but nice and comfortable. The beach is no more than 5 minutes away and offer chairs, umbrellas and big towels... I just loooooooveeee this place!

They also have complementary breakfast, croissants, bagels and fruits; just what you need to start the day.

I absolutely recommend this place!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maritvrela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Maritvrela:
Thank you for your review acknowledging several staff members. You can find many similar hotels in Miami Beach but our staff is second to none, we go the extra mile to make every guest feel welcome and looked after. We appreciate your kind comments.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    363
    87
    17
    11
See reviews for
178
612
61
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed at the hotel Feb 20-24 this year. It's a really tiny hotel but besides that I was shocked to see $80 charged after checkout. After multiple messages I talked with billing and they claimed I cleaned out the minibar knowing full well I didn't. The lady wanted to argue. After double checking she claims that she will credit me . This after making me look like and idiot texting my friends which she insisted maybe they took it. This is a very deceptive practice. If a customer wiped out the minibar red flags should be raised and should be contacted. The location is perfect but the size of the room would make a toddler have difficulty walking in. We stayed in a 2 queen? Bed room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear "bilah1"
I am sorry for the incorrect minibar charge and for the inquiries during your call, since your stay was back in February and we did not hear from you until this week we though that the charges were legitimate and there was no problem. Immediately after your phone call and dispute we have reversed the charges. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and I thank you for staying with us.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

First, the staff, including the very considerate Richard, the front desk staff member, are very considerate and genuinely interested in making your stay a pleasant one. I loved being able to pick up and drop off courtesty beach towels at the front desk.
The hotel is in a great location, between 3rd and 4th street on Ocean Drive, I believe. That puts you on Ocean Drive but a few blocks away from what could be a lot of noise from the bars and clubs. Also, 3rdstreetyoga takes place almost directly in front of the hotel on the beach, if you want yoga right on the beach (I highly recommend it).
The courtesty breakfast and bar in the lobby are another plus.

I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Jorge A;
Thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour amongst so many great options in South Beach. I am glad that our staff made a positive impact on your stay. I will pass your comments to them.
Please think of us on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Location is perfect, a block from beach access, and a block from SoBe fun. The property is in great shape, and very well decorated. Many pleasant details made our stay awesome. The staff was absolutely amazing and made us feel like VIP the entire time. We will most definitely return and recommend to friends/family. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear "dengel":
One of the advantages of a Boutique Hotel is that we get to know our guests and make them feel special. Your comment about feeling like a VIP illustrates that and was very rewarding to us.
Thank you.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is one of those reviews you kind of hate to write because a person gets greedy with a 'perfect find' and wants it always to be available to them!! We stayed at the Lord Balfour for only one night, April 10 and it was without a doubt a gem! Located on the quiet end of Ocean Drive, it is so conveniently located to the beach and just a short walk down Ocean to any dining you might require. The room was tastefully decorated and outfitted with top of the line everything. While not huge, they made efficient use of every space and it was adequate. Our room overlooked the lovely courtyard with mural on the opposite wall.
We arrived early and were easily accommodated, not something we were expecting but thought we would at least park and hit the beach before check in. The front desk staff is genuinely happy to welcome you and inform you of all the amenities available to you during your stay. We took advantage of the beach area with umbrella, chairs and towels for the afternoon. This is a great inclusion and there were a lot of guests using it so obviously something that should be kept!
Concierge directed us to "Smith and Wollensky' for a wonderful dining experience. Overlooking the water it was the perfect end to a beautiful day on Miami Beach. Had we not consulted him, we would not even have realized this restaurant existed at the end of the street right beside a park and a beautiful walking area.
The other inclusion that is great at the Lord Balfour is the morning breakfast. Just what we needed to start our day. This is a real bonus when there isn't a restaurant on site and the LB has recognized the need and convenience it offers their guests.
We loved Happy Hour at the bar as well. Bartender was very friendly and we witnessed him mixing up some interesting tea infused drinks. We enjoyed our drinks outside on the front deck on a beautiful evening.
I don't recall the young man's name who greeted us when we pulled up to the Lord Balfour but he was very kind and friendly and is definitely an asset to the hotel - a first impression is so important and he certainly went above and beyond to put forth a gracious welcome.
Look no further in Miami Beach for a perfect spot to stay, our only regret is that we only had one night there, we now look forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear "tanfan"
We were honored to receive a positive and detailed review from such a savvy traveler and TripAdvisor's Top Contributor. I am happy that our hotel and staff were able to provide a memorable stay and we sincerely hope to be of service again on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Kind Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

LB is perfectly located, one block back from the stunning beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas are included in the rate. It's away from the hustle and bustle of Ocean Drive but not too far to walk if you fancy a night out on the town. There are heaps of restaurants as well.

The hotel itself and its decor is very funky. Staff are hugely helpful and the rooms are a decent size. Breakfast is simple but delicious; fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, juices and coffee. Wifi is free.

A great hotel. Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Sarah M:
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcome you back.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

What an enjoyable experience. The location is just perfect and everyone in the Hotel such amazing and kind. Don't forget you have the beach just across the street with towels, umbrella and beach chairs waiting for you! I just loved the hotel design and outstanding experience. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Mr. JoeOConnor:
Thank you so much for the nice review and for the 100% endorsement! We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#20 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Property: Room Mate Lord Balfour
Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing