We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Lord Balfour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #23 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I felt like I was at a 5 star hotel. The personalized service was awesome. Dilip, Cree, and Isa made our stay extra special. We had never been to Miami beach before and all three were helpful in giving us useful advice to make the most of our trip. Cree gave us great advice for the Bahamas, as we were continuing onto a cruise after our stay there. When we arrived prior to checking in, I couldn't find my sun block in my luggage, and the concierge gave me a small complimentary tube till we could unpack and check in. It was a small gesture, but it went a long way. Without it I would have started my trip burnt. It was really nice they held our luggage, we arrive early in the morning and were welcomed to the continental breakfast. The location is great, within walking distance to all the adventures of South Beach. I have highly recommended this place to my travel agent and to my friends. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly_Traveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much "Holly_Traveler_9" for your kind comments about our staff. I often say that there are many fine hotels in Miami Beach but few with such an outstanding talented staff like the Lord Balfour. I will pass your comments to all.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    324
    82
    16
    12
See reviews for
168
567
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Modern bright rooms which were compact but perfectly clean and ideal for our stay.
Location is very good right next to art deco area of South Beach, a short walk to the beach, restaurants and bars. The complimentary beds are on a quieter section of the beach and were a little dated, although this would be our only slight negative comment.
Complimentary continental buffet breakfast was a welcome bonus.
Service from the front desk and concierge was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FairCall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear "FairCall7", thank you for your review and you input on the Beach Facilities. Our contractor on the beach has furniture improvements scheduled for this year, hopefully you will see it on your next stay at the Lord Balfour.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lovely small hotel with a nice stylish lobby and excellent staff. However, the walls of the rooms are much too thin, so you can hear every single squeak from the ceiling and adjoining rooms. My room was at the end of the hallway next to the service exit so it was always noisy as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trebs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear "Trebs1",
I am sorry for the noisy experience you had during your stay, we understand that some guests are more sensitive to noise than others and we try to accommodate each one in the best way possible. We have several rooms that are not adjoining and are quieter than others. Please reach out to me directly prior to your next visit and I will make sure that I will reserve a room that will fulfill your needs.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just got back from a 3 night stay here. Great location-2 minute walk to the beach, 5 minute walk to restaurants and bars. Hotel was clean and inviting and looks just like the online pictures. Room was clean and bed was comfortable, though the bathroom is small but its still very functional. We didnt hear much noise but our room was at the very end of the hall so maybe it was a quiet area. The service of the staff is what was truly outstanding. Very friendly and helpful. Richard at the front was great. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mink8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear "Mink8080"
Thank you for your review and for recognizing one of our staff members. We work hard to provide excellent service and it is very rewarding when a guest acknowledges our efforts.
I will share with Richard your comments. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Lord Balfour.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I love the design of the hotel and the service. It was very clean, quiet and friendly.. Employee was very friendly and helpful. I will come back to this hotel again and again. It's four stars to me even thou it small in scale.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jones1985philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear jones1985philly;
Thank you for your review and for staying with us, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The property is very clean and on a quiet part of SOBE. There's a small, not crowded bar downstairs and a quiet courtyard to sit and eat the continental breakfast. Breakfast wasn't much but was fresh - some bread/pastries, yogurt, fruit, coffee, juice. The room was a good size overall - plenty of room for 2 plus luggage in a king room. The bathroom was very tiny - cramped toilet/sink area - though the rain shower was pleasant. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel doesn't have a pool but is across the street from the beach and offers chairs/umbrella/towels at no charge. The only thing I don't recommend about this hotel is the parking. For $35/day they only offer valet. They claimed they needed 15-20 minutes to get the car, but took 45 minutes the first night and over an hour when we needed to leave for the airport. There was some traffic the first time but absolutely none to explain the hour+ delay. For $10 less per day we could have parked in the garage 2 blocks away. Will absolutely stay again if the rates are as reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Emma R:
We appreciate you taking your time to review your stay with us. Thank you for you positive comments about our hotel and staff. I apologize for the issue with Valet, we are taking immediate action to solve this problem and retrieve the cars at a reasonable time frame, I am sure that on your next visit you will see the improvement.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Very cute boutique hotel. The bartender was very nice as well as the bell men. There's no ice machine so just call when you need some! The decor us AMAZING! Very beautiful property. Simple comp pastry breakfast. Walking distance from South Beach where all the action is! Would definitely return

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Lenny G;
Thank you for recognizing the good service provided by our Bartender and Bellman, I will pass along your comments. I am glad that you appreciated our Award Winning Interior Design, Malcolm Berg from EoA Group has been recognized several times for his design of our hotel, which makes us very proud.
Hope to see you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
La Flora
#17 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blanc Kara
#30 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#29 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Property: Room Mate Lord Balfour
Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing